Welcome
Hello! Welcome to the guide for Population Health Nursing! The resources on this page have been collected to support you as you complete your final presentation. Links are generally on the page in order of likely usefulness, with the most useful tools at the top of a given list, and tools that may help you fill in the gaps in your data further down.
Please remember that you are not alone in finding good data! You are welcome to use the button below to make an appointment with me or one of my colleagues at any point in the semester. Happy hunting!
Healthy People 2030
- Healthy People 2030Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans.
Powerpoint: Searching for Data
- Presentation: Searching for DataPresentation to help you get started, searching resources in the Demographic and Community Health Data columns in this guide. Also includes some refresher on searching the scholarly literature.
Librarian
Demographic Data
- US Census Quick FactsA sortable table of US Census data that covers all states and counties, as well as cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more. Includes basic demographic data as well as statistics on housing, education, computer access, registered disability, and more.
- My Tribal AreaThe Census Bureau collects data for the American Indian and Alaska Native (AIAN) population. My Tribal Area gives you quick and easy access to selected statistics from the American Community Survey (ACS). The ACS provides detailed demographic, social, economic, and housing statistics every year for the nation's communities.
- Explore US Census DataOfficial data about the people and economy of the United States. Not recommended as a starting place.
- Population Research CenterCollation and analysis of census data specific to Oregon. Includes county- and metro-area-level data.
The Population Research Center (PRC) is an interdisciplinary public service, research, and training unit for population-related data and research for the State of Oregon.
Community Health Data
- Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is the nation’s premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services.
- Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS)National, state, and school-district level data on behaviors that contribute to unintentional injuries and violence; sexual behaviors related to unintended pregnancy and sexually transmitted diseases, including HIV infection; alcohol and other drug use; tobacco use; unhealthy dietary behaviors; & inadequate physical activity. YRBSS also measures the prevalence of obesity and asthma and other health-related behaviors plus sexual identity and sex of sexual contacts.
- County Health Rankings & RoadmapsProvides data, evidence, guidance, and examples to build awareness of the multiple factors that influence health and support community leaders working to improve health and increase health equity. The Rankings are unique in their ability to measure the health of nearly every county in all 50 states, and are complemented by guidance, tools, and resources designed to accelerate community learning and action.
- Oregon Health PlanStatistics on population enrolled in a Medicaid Health Plan.
- National Center for Health StatisticsCDC Data with a focus on health. May not be available at the granular community level.
Additional Resources
- Oregon Community Health AssessmentsLargely state level information. Likely most useful for identifying initiatives that may be present in your chosen community.
- Oregon Health Authority: Data and StatisticsData on health behaviors, diseases and injuries of Oregonians. Mostly county-level data. Useful to add detail to other data.
- CDC WonderFind county-level data on population by age, race, gender, and ethnicity.
WONDER online databases utilize a rich ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data. Reports and other query systems are also available.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowResearch tool providing access to quantitative data, statistics and related information. Tons of great graphs, charts and infographics. Popular database.
- Data and Statistics about the U.S.Official portal to US statistics from the federal government. Not recommended as a starting place, but may help to fill gaps.
- DATAUSAEasy to use tool for finding data and data visualizations. May be worth checking for details on your community.
- WISQARS Injury DataCDC’s WISQARS™ is an interactive, online database that provides fatal and nonfatal injury, violent death, and cost of injury data. Researchers, the media, public health professionals, and the public can use WISQARS™ data to learn more about the public health and economic burden associated with unintentional and violence-related injury in the United States.