Finding Articles
There are various ways to search for articles from the library. Using the Primo Advanced Search link below is an excellent starting place and may be all that you need. View the two short videos at the top of the right column below for a demo by your librarian on using the Advanced Search in Primo for articles. Question? Don't hesitate to contact me, I'm very glad to help! rashford@georgefox.edu | Book a Research Appointment
Primo Advanced Search allows for more nuanced searching and limiting by material type, language, date range, and more. The two short videos in the right column below demonstrate running a search for articles, limiting to peer-reviewed journals, using boolean operators (library jargon for AND, OR, NOT) and other search tips as well as accessing and downloading articles from the search results.
Links to our EBSCO article databases for education, and video tutorials on using the EBSCO databases are also included below.
Video - Choosing EBSCO Databases 1min.17 sec.
Demo on choosing more than one EBSCO article database to search simultaneously. Note: the link is no longer on the library homepage but you can find it here: Search ALL EBSCO Databases
Video - EBSCOhost New UI - Advanced Search: 4: 37
Note: The Advanced Search begin 42 seconds into the video.
Video - Using the EBSCOhost Result List 3 min.39 sec.
Video - Create Free EBSCO Acct & Personal EBSCO Folder 3 min.42 sec.
View the video and visit the EBSCO Help page on How to Use the My EBSCOHost Folder.
Searching Advanced Primo for Articles - Part 1 (3 min.)
Primo Articles - Part 2 - Tips and Results List (4 min.)
Top EBSCO Education Databases
- Education Source This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
This is the broadest database we offer to search explicitly on education topics across grades and educator roles. Particularly useful for the additional indexing and description of its contents.What's Included?
Provides access to research journal articles, trade and professional publications, monographs, conference papers, and more. Includes most, but not all of the journals indexed in ERIC. - ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA guide to published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics, from 1966 to the present. Includes journal articles, conference papers, theses, curricula, etc. Now contains full-text ERIC documents.
Reminder: When searching EBSCO for scholarly peer-reviewed journal articles, click the Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals box before starting your search. Find the box in the EBSCO interface under Search Options > Limit your results.
Articles by Journal Title
You may search journal titles directly from the EBSCO articles databases (when available) to be taken to the journal title where you can browse content by year, volume, etc.
Click the "Search within this publication" link to search for articles on a topic within the journal title.
The links below are examples of peer-reviewed journal titles available in our EBSCO databases.