Art & Design: Databases

Why Search Here?
You are looking for scholarly sources and want something a bit more specific to the humanities than our general databases. This database features 550 full text titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.

What's Included?
As well as over 460 full text scholarly journals from publishers such as Cambridge University Press, Johns Hopkins University Press, and Springer Nature, it also contains relevant magazines such as Vogue, the New York Times Book Review, and Sight & Sound and trade journals including Publisher’s Weekly and Canadian Architect. It is designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM.

Why Search Here?
This database is actually a combination of many ProQuest databases, meaning it searches across many disciplines at once. Use this for early research or for interdisciplinary topics. Also consider Academic Search Premier or Library Search/Primo.

What's Included?
Articles from thousands of journals, dissertations, working papers, reports, and more. Subjects include Arts & Humanities, Business, Health and Medical, Current Events/News, Science & Technology, Social Sciences, and Interdisciplinary. 

Why Search Here?
You want deep backfiles of journals across disciplines, especially humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Note: if you need the most current articles, look elsewhere. Most journals have five-year embargoes, but go back to the beginning of print runs.

What's Included?
In addition to the 2,800 top scholarly journals and 100,000+ ebooks, you'll find ArtStor's Public Collections, primary sources, and open access monographs, etc. 

Why Search Here?
You are looking for coverage of current and prominent topics. We recommend searching this database after CQ Researcher.

What's Included?
Full-text coverage of topics ranging from Terrorism to Endangered Species, Stem Cell Research to Gun Control. Features pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles that provide context, full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, including images and podcasts, links to hand-selected web sites, and more.

Why Search Here?
You are looking to find videos available for streaming.

What's Included?
Kanopy is a video streaming service that provides access to thousands of feature films, documentaries, and educational videos across a wide variety of subjects.

Why Search Here?
You need a quick and credible answer, are gathering information about a new topic, looking for a list of recommended reading in an area, or looking for a definition or overview.

What's Included?
Over 2 million full text articles from over 900 dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, popular and scholarly encyclopedias, quote books and atlases, plus a wide range or subject-specific titles covering everything from accounting to zoology.

Why Search Here?
You're getting started on a topic and want something more reliable than Wikipedia, or you're looking for a solid overview of a scholarly topic.

What's Included?
spans 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.

Why Search Here?
You're looking for authoritative surveys of current thinking and research, from leading international figures in a variety of disciplines.

What's Included?
Specially commissioned essays from leading international figures in arts and humanities, social sciences, and psychology.

Why Search Here?
You are getting started and want to find full-text access to background information on a wide range of subjects featuring a historical element.

What's Included?
A reference collection spanning 350 volumes in 10 subject areas. Individual books titled the “Cambridge History of...”