Start Here
Note: In addition to the newspaper holdings we have at GFU Libraries, it can be worthwhile to consider other nearby public and academic libraries. As a GFU student or employee, you have access to newspapers held at other Summit libraries. This includes newspaper collections available digitally or via microfilm. Especially helpful collections include those at Oregon State University and The University of Oregon.
Public libraries are also a great resource. For example, at Multnomah County Library branches (or if you qualify for a library card), you can access Oregon Journal (1902-1982), The Oregonian (1987-present), and The Historical Oregonian (1861-1987).
- Multnomah County Library – Research tools and resourcesLibrary Resources available online with MCL login info or in person at any MCL branch.
Pacific Northwest Newspapers
- Oregon Historic NewspapersOn this site you can search and access complete content for historic Oregon newspapers that have been digitized as part of the Oregon Digital Newspaper Program (ODNP). This full-text searchable database contains over 2,300,000 pages from Oregon newspapers dated 1846 - 2023, and we are continually adding new titles.
- Oregon Index Online This link opens in a new windowThe Oregon Index was compiled by State Library staff and volunteers starting in the early 20th century and continuing to the mid-1980s. It contains over 700,000 cards with citations to articles published in Oregon newspapers, magazines, book chapters, and more. Topics cover events and issues important to Oregon history and state government.
- Oregon Blue Book | Newspapers Published in OregonA list of newspapers currently published in Oregon, with website links and contact info.
- Washington Digital NewspapersWashington Digital Newspapers brings together over 600,000 pages from Washington’s earliest Territorial newspapers to the present day. Freely accessible to the public, this growing collection complements the Washington State Library’s physical collection of more than 6,500 newspaper titles.
- Links to Newspapers in WashingtonThe following is a select list of links to newspapers currently published in Washington, as compiled by the Washington Secretary of State Office. Washington State Library subscribes to most of these newspapers in hard copy.
Oregonian
- The Oregonian WebsiteOregonlive.com – Oregon's Leading News Source
- The Oregonian (1997-2017) – EBSCO Newspaper SourceHTML Full-text searching of articles from 1997-2017.
- The Oregonian (1985-1992) – Oregon IndexThe Oregon Index (created by the State Library of Oregon) is a selective index to Oregon newspapers, and to Oregon items in selected other publications. The database does not contain full-text information.
- Oregon Historic NewspapersDigitized issues of historic Oregonian issues up to 1922. Also, the East Oregonian until 2020.
Microfilm:
The Murdock Library has issues from 1850 - 1989 on microfilm. Boxes are housed in the basement with a reader/printer nearby.
Contact the front desk for assistance.