Higher Education News
The library provides full-text web access to the:
- Chronicle of Higher Education Online This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You want to keep up with what's happening in the field of higher education.What's Included?
Site license access to Chronicle.com including articles and essays dating back to 1989, opinion pieces from leaders in higher education, and some access to special issues reports. Create a free personal account for additional access and functionality.
Full Web and App Access
See specific tabs for New York Times and Wall Street Journal for more information.
- Wall Street Journal Online This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You want to learn more or stay current in national news. This is one of two campus-wide subscriptions to online respected national news sources.What's Included?
Full-text online access to all Wall Street Journal articles, including coverage of breaking news, business, economics, finance, politics, technology, education, arts and culture, sports, health, and more. Learn more about newspaper access (including historical articles) in our Newspapers Guide.
Welcome
Welcome to George Fox Libraries' guide to newspapers!
Searching for historic and current newspaper articles can be tricky. Please reach out to me any time with research questions. Some quick advice:
- Public Domain is your friend. Any newspaper published over 95 years ago is in the Public Domain and there are many organizations digitizing articles and making them freely available.
- Check national organizations like the Library of Congress and comparable international organizations for listings of specific resources.
- Sometimes an Interlibrary Loan request for a newspaper article goes through, but many newspaper database companies place hard restrictions on transference of digital files.
- Most current newspapers keep their articles behind paywalls. It's easiest to get full access to newspapers when researching in person at libraries.
- Some libraries and/or archives will make photocopies and mail them to you. Copying rates can often range from $0.25-$1.00 per page.
- If you need only one article, I've occasionally had success contacting a newspaper directly for a PDF.
Quick Links
- Newspaper Search (Primo) This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You want a snapshot search across our database holdings of newspaper articles.What's Included?
Search across 1 billion newspapers articles from hundreds of newspapers. - Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
Broad newspaper coverage within the EBSCOhost platform. Search key terms within individual newspapers or across all publications.What's Included?
Content includes over 500 full-text newspapers from the United States and all over the world. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks.
The Crescent
- GFU CrescentGeorge Fox University's student run newspaper
- The Crescent | GFU Digital CommonsPast issues of The Crescent fully digitized and OCR searchable via the GFU Digital Commons.
