Getting Started
Information is everywhere.
Before beginning your research, it's important to get the lay of the land and know what kind of sources are out there. Information is everywhere, and not all sources are created equal. Review the Evaluating Sources page in this guide to look at the different sources out there.
As you begin, you will want to start exploring your topic broadly. Below, you will find several databases that provide great contextual information relevant to your topic (encyclopedias, etc.).
Biblical Studies Guide
- GFU Libraries Biblical Studies GuideDesigned for use by students at all levels, this is a high-level overview of biblical studies resources available through George Fox University Libraries.
Oxford Reference
- Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowSearch over 100 Oxford reference books from various topics and subjects simultaneously. Includes resources previously held in Oxford Biblical Studies Online.
Selected Oxford Biblical Reference Titles
Oxford Handbooks
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowIn-depth, high-level articles by top scholars in many subject areas.
Credo Reference
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowGood general reference database useful for gaining an overview of a topic.
Other Online Reference
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.
- Very Short Introductions"Oxford's Very Short Introductions series offers concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects -- from Islam to Sociology, Politics to Classics, and Literary Theory to History. . . . Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make often challenging topics highly readable." (publisher's description)
- Other Library Subject GuidesGFU library offers guides (just like this one) on a number of different subjects! Potentially relevant topics include psychology, business, and social work among many others.
Biblical Studies
- Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary This link opens in a new windowThe fully online version of the six-volume beloved dictionary of the Bible offering the most up-to-date and comprehensive treatment of biblical subjects and topics. The library also has print copies. A collection in Theology & Religion Online.
- Oxford Bibliographies - Biblical Studies Collection This link opens in a new windowWhy search here?
You need an up-to-date guide to scholarly coverage of a biblical topic. Useful when just starting out or when looking for further information.
What's included?
Hundreds of overview articles written by established scholars and accompanied by extensive bibliographies (recommended reading) on topics ranging from persons of the Bible to Biblical culture and archeology.