Page Navigation
For your project portfolio, you will need to identify key fields, scholars, and academic and theological resources relevant to your NPO. Scholarly work is often published as journal articles, which you can find by searching in various databases. Each database allows you to search a particular set of scholarly journals. You will want to cast your net wide at first, trying various search words (keywords) and browsing through the results in each database. If you are unfamiliar with scholarly research articles, you might check out the video below.
Religious Studies Databases
- Atla Religion with AtlaSerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
One of our two primary databases for religious studies, ministry, and theology, ATLA offers strong coverage on a variety of topics, and allows searching by subject or scripture citation (not just the Bible).What's Included?
Journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Steadily increasing coverage of world religions and global Christianity. - Religion Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
One of our two primary databases for religious studies and theology, use ProQuest Religion to find articles and disseratations.What's Included?
Titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.
- Open Access Digital Theological LibraryThe Open Access Digital Theological Library (OADTL) curates high-quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, scholarly societies, archives, and stable public domain collections.
Other Guides
- Other Library Subject GuidesGFU library offers guides (just like this one) on a number of different subjects! Potentially relevant topics include psychology, business, and social work among many others.
Video - What is a Scholarly Journal Article? 3 min. 4 sec.
Other Recommended Databases and Tools
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
This is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Users can limit a search by psychology-related categories, including age group, methodology, classification codes and population groups.What's Included?
Indexes scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Journal coverage spans from the 1800s to the present. - Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You are looking for scholarly or trade literature in any business discipline. This is one of two primary databases for research in business, and particularly recommended for students at the graduate level.What's Included?
Thousands of journals in all business disciplines (including economics), plus industry reports, company profiles, country reports, case studies, market research reports, SWOT analyses, and more. Searchable by subject, industry, and company names. Includes Harvard Business Review. - SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You are looking for literature in sociology or social work. This is the authoritative platform for sociology and includes leading social work journals.What's Included?
Articles from over 3000 journals, most of which are peer-reviewed. - Google Scholar (Find it @ George Fox) This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You want to run an efficient, interdisciplinary search of academic literature across the web. Scholar integrates with other academic resources and citation tools.What's Included?
Freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across a wide array of publishing formats and disciplines. This link includes the setting to connect search results to George Fox holdings (Find it @ George Fox links).
Learn more in our Google Scholar guide. (https://libguides.georgefox.edu/GoogleScholar). - Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
This resource searches collections included in other EBSCO databases, meaning it searches across many disciplines at once. Use this for early research or for interdisciplinary topics. Also consider ProQuest Central or Library Search/Primo.What's Included?
Articles from over 13,000 journals and supplementary resources like monographs, reports, and conference proceedings across, science, social science, and the humanities. - ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
This database is actually a combination of many ProQuest databases, meaning it searches across many disciplines at once. Use this for early research or for interdisciplinary topics. Also consider Academic Search Premier or Library Search/Primo.What's Included?
Articles from thousands of journals, dissertations, working papers, reports, and more. Subjects include Arts & Humanities, Business, Health and Medical, Current Events/News, Science & Technology, Social Sciences, and Interdisciplinary.
