Get Help!
Coddiwompling
About Articles
A large portion of your DMin research is locating and evaluating scholarly, peer-reviewed articles. Scholarly, peer-reviewed articles have been reviewed by a group of scholarly reviewers in the subject area of the journal. The articles found in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals are vetted for quality of research and adherence to editorial standards of the journal prior to publication.
These topic-specific databases cover religious studies and biblical scholarship at different levels, from overviews to peer-reviewed articles. Many offer additional tools for searching, like ATLA's Scripture Citation Index and Thesaurus, both of which can help you perform targeting searches for very specific topics. Be sure to read through the descriptions to see which of these might be most useful in your research.
Peer Review
Interdisciplinary Resources
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowThis resource searches collections included in other EBSCO databases, meaning it searches across many disciplines at once. Use this for early research or for interdisciplinary topics. Also consider ProQuest Central or Library Search/Primo.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDeep backfiles of journals across disciplines, especially humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Note: if you need the most current articles, look elsewhere. Most journals have five-year embargoes, but go back to the beginning of print runs.
- Primo (Advanced Search)Search across the libraries' physical and electronic collections all in one place. Refine your search by location, resource type, date, and more to locate more specific materials.
- Google Scholar (Find it @ George Fox) This link opens in a new windowFreely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across a wide array of publishing formats and disciplines. This link includes the setting to connect search results to George Fox holdings (Find it @ George Fox links).
- WorldCat (Find it @ George Fox) This link opens in a new windowYou are looking for materials not indexed in Library Search/Primo to facilitate an ILL request. Also useful if you are looking for local libraries that may have a particular title.
Religious Studies Databases
- Atla Religion with AtlaSerials PLUS This link opens in a new windowOne of our two primary databases for religious studies, ministry, and theology, ATLA offers strong coverage on a variety of topics, and allows searching by subject or scripture citation (not just the Bible). Offers steadily increasing coverage of world religions and global Christianity.
- Religion Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowTitles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.
- Open Access Digital Theological LibraryThe Open Access Digital Theological Library (OADTL) curates high-quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, scholarly societies, archives, and stable public domain collections.
Leadership and Organizational Effectiveness
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowThis is one of two primary databases for research in business, and particularly recommended for students at the graduate level. Leadership studies and organizational effectiveness can often be found among these resources.
- Leadership Studies CommonsPart of the Digital Commons Network, this open access database provides access to a wide array of available research in leadership studies. This tool is particularly useful for dissertations, conference papers and presentations, and small university press journals.
Motivation, Learning, Trauma, etc (Social Sciences)
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowThis is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Users can limit a search by psychology-related categories, including age group, methodology, classification codes and population groups.
- SocINDEX This link opens in a new windowArticles from over 3000 journals, most of which are peer-reviewed. This is the authoritative platform for sociology and includes leading social work journals.
- Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowAbstracts, indexing, and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, and dissertations in the fields of anthropology, criminology, economics, international relations, political science, public policy, social work, or sociology. Especially useful if your topic falls under more than one of those topics.
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowThis is the broadest database we offer to search explicitly on education topics across grades and educator roles, including informal or non-traditional education.
