It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Cardiovascular Physiology, Ninth Edition by David E. Mohrman; Lois Jane HellerCardiovascular Physiology, Ninth Edition is a concise and enjoyable way for medical students to gain a fundamental knowledge of the basic operating principles of the intact cardiovascular system and how those principles apply to clinical medicine. Succinct but thorough, it focuses on the facts and concepts students must know to get a solid "big picture" overview of how the cardiovascular system operates in normal and abnormal situations. No other text will prove more valuable in enhancing medical students' ability to evaluate the myriad new information they will be exposed to throughout their career, than Cardiovascular Physiology. *Clarifies the details of physiologic mechanisms and their role in pathologic states *Links cardiovascular physiology to diagnosis and treatment *Summarizes key concepts at the end of each chapter *Highlights must-know information with chapter objectives *Reinforces learning with study questions at the end of each chapter
Publication Date: 2018-07-06
Pathophysiology of Heart Disease 7 by LILLYSelected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Enthusiastically acclaimed by medical students and faculty worldwide, this text is specifically designed to prepare students for their first encounters with patients with cardiovascular disease. Thoroughly revised by internationally recognized Harvard Medical School faculty and a team of select cardiology fellows and internal medicine residents, this seventh edition equips students with a clear, complete, and clinically relevant understanding of cardiovascular pathophysiology, setting a strong foundation for patient diagnosis and management. New seventh edition highlights: Review questions and answers in each chapter prepare students for course and board exams. New contributors include cardiology fellows and internal medicine residents, who worked closely with faculty to extend coverage of clinically pertinent issues for medical students. Updated content reflects the latest understanding of mechanisms of cardiac disease and technological advances. Classic student-friendly features: Full-color illustrations help readers visualize and quickly grasp key concepts. Medical imaging and color clinical photographs show real-world examples of many clinically relevant cardiovascular conditions. Introductory chapter outlines and end-of-chapter summaries provide organized, quick review of core information. Bonus online study tools: Animations help support understanding of complex, dynamic disease processes. Interactive question bank reinforces learning and improves retention.
Publication Date: 2020-08-05
Sex Differences in Cardiovascular Physiology and Pathophysiology by Babbette LaMarca (Editor); Barbara T. Alexander (Editor)Sex Differences in Cardiovascular Physiology and Pathophysiology is a comprehensive look into the often overlooked and underappreciated fundamental sex differences between men and women and how those differences affect the cardiovascular system. It covers cardiovascular function, anatomy, cell signaling and the development of pathology. With contributions from world-renowned research investigators, this up-to-date reference compiles critical knowledge on cardiovascular sex differences, providing researchers and clinicians with a better understanding of the diagnosis, prevention and treatment of cardiovascular diseases in both men and women.
Publication Date: 2019-04-11
Practical Cardiovascular Medicine by Elias B. HannaPrepare yourself for success with this unique cardiology primer which distils the core information you require and presents it in an easily digestible format. Provides cardiologists with a thorough and up-to-date review of cardiology, from pathophysiology to practical, evidence-based management Ably synthesizes pathophysiology fundamentals and evidence based approaches to prepare a physician for a subspecialty career in cardiology Clinical chapters cover coronary artery disease, heart failure, arrhythmias, valvular disorders, pericardial disorders, and peripheral arterial disease Practical chapters address ECG, coronary angiography, catheterization techniques, ecnocardiography, hemodynamics, and electrophysiological testing Includes over 650 figures, key notes boxes, references for further study, and coverage of clinical trials Review questions at the end of each chapter help clarify topics and can be used for Board preparation - over 375 questions in all!
Publication Date: 2017-04-17
Cardiology Consult Manual by Hanna Z. Mieszczanska (Editor); Adam S. Budzikowski (Editor)This book comprehensively covers the latest advances in cardiovascular medicine. Key diagnostic and treatment points are reviewed across a range of cardiovascular issues, including concurrent cardiac problems, patients with cancer, peri-operative surgical and post-trauma patients, patients in the emergency department, pregnancy in the obstetric units, and the care of critically ill patients in medical and surgical intensive care units. Cardiology Consult Manual provides a detailed and clinically relevant guide for the cardiology practitioner of the potential cardiac issues encountered within the cardiology consult service and also a range of professionals in related disciplines. It therefore provides an important resource for all cardiology trainees, fellows, practitioners and health care providers involved in the management of patients with cardiovascular disease.
Publication Date: 2018-09-24
Hurst's the Heart, 14th Edition: Two Volume Set by Valentin Fuster; Robert A. Harrington; Jagat Narula; Zubin J. EapenTHE BOOK THAT EVERY CARDIOLOGIST SHOULD OWN -- THE BEST EDITION YET! A Doody's Core Title for 2019! ALL CHAPTERS HAVE BEEN COMPLETELY REWRITTEN MANY NEW EXPERT AUTHORS MOST REFERENCES ARE LESS THAN FIVE YEARS OLD NEW REDRAWN FIGURES REFLECT THE LATEST INFORMATION COVERAGE OF THE MOST RECENT CLINICAL TRIALS, PRACTICE GUIDELINES, AND EVIDENCE-BASED MEDICINE 5 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW! "This is an outstanding choice for those who strive for a firm foundation in cardiovascular medicine, as well as an up-to-date and user-friendly source that addresses every discipline in the field. The updates and enhancements to this edition have made the book easier to use."--Doody's Review Service (reviewing previous edition) Cardiology's cornerstone text and your first place to turn for the latest developments that promise better patient care Hailed for its authority, currency, and ability to translate the latest research and advances into real-world clinical application, Hurst's The Heart is the field's landmark text and cardiology's longest continuously published reference book. Written to meet your ever-changing clinical information needs, this trusted classic offers a solid foundation in cardiovascular medicine and complete coverage of all major cardiovascular topics. Within its pages, you will find succinct, visually appealing summaries of all the major new trials and guidelines, along with tips for optimizing outcomes and health quality. The Fourteenth Edition has been completely updated to reflect the latest technical, therapeutic, and clinical advances, while still maintaining a strong focus on quality patient care. HERE'S WHY THIS IS THE BEST EDITION YET: * NEW CHAPTERS include Arrythmogenic Cardiomyopathy; Ischemic Mitral Regurgitation; Degenerative Mitral Valve Disease; Left Ventricular Noncompaction; Evaluation and Management of Acute Heart Failure; Carotid Artery Stenting; and Race, Ethnicity, and Cardiovascular Disease * NEW SECTIONS include Metabolic Disorders and Cardiovascular Disease and Cigarette Smoking and Cardiovascular Disease * More than 1,500 full-color illustrations and 500 tables (many new to this edition) * The wisdom, experience, and authority of approximately 300 expert contributors If you've been searching for a current, comprehensive, and authoritative overview of all major cardiology topic.
Publication Date: 2017-04-11
Pediatric Cardiovascular Medicine
Common Cardiac Issues in Pediatrics by Jonathan N. Johnson (Editor); Deepak M. Kamat (Editor)Learn from leading experts the latest information on cardiac issues seen most often in a pediatric office. The scope of focus includes signs and symptoms, management of patients with acquired or congenital heart disease, cardiac implications of common infectious diseases, preventive cardiology strategies, and other issues that are frequently managed or evaluated by the primary care clinician. Topics include: Evaluation of the Patient Common Signs and Symptoms Congenital Heart Disease Cardiomyopathies and Channelopathies Acquired Cardiac Diseases Infectious Diseases Preventive Cardiology Strategies General Issues in Primary Cardiac Care More than 130 full color photos and illustrations enhance disease recognition and clinical decision-making. In addition, the resource features information on preventive cardiology strategies, patient evaluation, and more issues in primary cardiac care.
Publication Date: 2018-06-01
Pediatric Cardiovascular Medicine by Julien I. E. Hoffman (Editor); James H. Moller (Editor)The first edition of this text, edited by two of the world's most respected pediatric cardiologists, set the standard for a single-volume, clinically focused textbook on this subject. This new edition, revised and updated by contributors representing today's global thought leaders, offers increased coverage of the most important current topics, such as pediatric electrophysiology, congenital heart disease, cardiovascular genetics/genomics, and the identification and management of risk factors in children, while maintaining the clinical focus. Published with a companion website that features additional images for download, self-assessment questions designed to aid readers who are preparing for examinations, and other features, Pediatric Cardiovascular Medicine, Second Edition, is the perfect reference for residents, fellows, pediatricians, as well as specialists in pediatric cardiology.
Publication Date: 2012-03-12
Pediatric Cardiology by Walter H. Johnson; James H. MollerCaring for children with heart disease is extremely complex, requiring a different and often tailor-made approach compared with adults with similar cardiac problems. Built on the success of previous editions and brought to you by a stellar author team, Pediatric Cardiology: The Essential Pocket Guide provides a unique, concise and extremely practical overview of heart disease in children. From history-taking, physical examination, ECG, and chest X-ray - the basics that enable clinicians to uncover possible problems and eliminate areas of false concern - it goes on to examine the range of more complex topics in the diagnosis and treatment/management of childhood cardiovascular disease. New to this edition you'll find: An enhanced section on imaging including recent advances in cardiac MRI and fetal echocardiography. New techniques in genetic testing for heart disease in special populations. Much more emphasis on the importance of echocardiography in understanding the pathophysiology of congenital cardiac malformations. Expanded section on cardiac conditions in the neonate, specifically on prenatal diagnosis and management, neonatal screening for congenital heart disease, and hypoplastic left heart syndrome. Expanded and updated congestive cardiac failure section, including the latest in genetic and metabolic causes of heart failure, and medical/surgical treatment options; discussion of bridging therapies; essentials of transplantation, including common drug treatment regimens, clinical recognition of treatment complications and rejection, outcomes, morbidity and survival. In addition, every chapter is fully updated with the very latest clinical guidelines and management options from the AHA, ACC and ESC. Pediatric Cardiology: The Essential Pocket Guide, 3rd edition, is quite simply a must-have guide for all members of the multidisciplinary team managing children suffering from heart disease.