Welcome to the George Fox University Library, and to the course guide for MMSC Clinical Reasoning and Problem Based Learning. This guide serves as a quick reference, connecting you to relevant library resources specific to your course. It represents a small portion of the available resources and services available to you as a GFU student. Please contact me if you need additional information or guidance in your research.
Everything Search
Relevant Databases
- Access Medicine (McGraw Hill) This link opens in a new windowAccess Medicine provides medical textbooks, cases, and study resources for medical education. Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine and CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment are included.
- Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new windowVideo guide featuring head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques.
- DSM-5 Library This link opens in a new windowThe DSM Library provides access to the full text of the DSM-5, which is used by health professionals, social workers, and forensic and legal specialists to diagnose and classify mental disorders. Also included in the DSM Library is the Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, and DSM-5 Clinical Cases, and older ("legacy") versions of the DSM.
- LWW Health Library: PA Core Education This link opens in a new windowEbooks covering topics in pharmacy, medical education, and osteopathic medicine. Also offers videos about patient assessments, case documents relating to ebook content, and images.
- Micromedex This link opens in a new windowEvidence based clinical resources to support informed diagnosis and treatment decisions. Unbiased, referenced Clinical Decision Support (CDS) for medication, toxicology, disease, and alternative medicine. Safely and reliably manage drug therapy for pediatric and neonatal patients with NeoFax and Pediatrics evidence-based drug information. RED BOOK for drug pricing, drug data, and manufacturer information.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowFrom the National Library of Medicine, PubMed includes MEDLINE and related databases. Over 18 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. PubMed may link to content we don't have online access to; please contact a librarian if you need assistance.
Search Access Medicine
© McGraw-Hill Education
AccessMedicine is an online point-of-care medical resource, which includes leading medical texts to enhance decision-making. Books include Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine, 20e, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, The Color Atlas of Family Medicine, 2e, and many others
Top Medical Journals
- New England Journal of MedicineNEJM is a widely read and influential medical journal, whose mission is to connect readers to the best research at the interface of biomedical science and clinical practice, presented in an understandable and clinically useful format.
Searching with Strategy
Essential Ebooks
Guide to Diagnostic Tests, Seventh Edition by ISBN: 9781259640896Publication Date: 2017-03-14The essential guide to more than 450 of the most commonly performed diagnostic tests - updated with the latest molecular, genetic, and microbiological tests.
Laposata's Laboratory Medicine Diagnosis of Disease in Clinical Laboratory Third Edition by ISBN: 9781260116793Publication Date: 2018-12-25The acclaimed full-color guide to selecting the correct laboratory test and interpreting the results -- covering ALL of clinical pathology.
Clinical Laboratory Methods: Atlas of Commonly Performed Tests by ISBN: 9781260470284Publication Date: 2022-03-25Clinical Laboratory Methods covers the 100 tests most often done in clinical labs.
