Everything Search
Databases: Nutrition
- Agricola This link opens in a new windowAGRICOLA, a database produced by the National Agricultural Library (NAL), indexes all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines. Coverage: 1970 to present.
- National Agriculture Library: Food and Nutrition Information CenterFNIC strives to serve the professional community (including educators, health professionals and researchers) by providing access to a wide range of trustworthy food and nutrition resources from both government and non-government sources.
Biochemistry & Nutrition: Key Texts
Marks' Basic Medical Biochemistry by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Connect biochemistry to clinical practice!" Marks' Basic Medical Biochemistry links biochemistry to physiology and pathophysiology, allowing students to apply fundamental concepts to the practice of medicine - from diagnosing patients to recommending effective treatments. Intuitively organized chapters center on hypothetical patient vignettes, highlighting the material's clinical applications; helpful icons allow for smooth navigation, making complex concepts easier to grasp. Full-color illustrations make chemical structures and biochemical pathways easy to visualize. Patient vignettes connect biochemistry to human health and disease. Clinical Notes explain patient signs or symptoms, and Method Notes relate biochemistry to the laboratory tests ordered during diagnosis.Clinical Comments link biochemical dynamics to treatment options and patient outcomes.Biochemical Comments explore directions for new research.Key Concepts and Summary Disease tables highlight the take-home messages in each chapter. Questions and answers at the end of each chapter - 470 total inside the book, with 560 more online - probe students' mastery of key concepts. Additional handy resources available online make it easy to review all diseases and all methods covered throughout the book and to find references for further information and study
ISBN: 9781496324818Publication Date: 2017-07-18
Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry Thirty-First Edition by
Gain a full understanding of the principles of biochemistry as it relates to clinical medicine A Doody's Core Title for 2021! The Thirty-First Edition of Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry continues to emphasize the link between biochemistry and the understanding of disease states, disease pathology, and the practice of medicine. Featuring a full-color presentation and numerous medically relevant examples, Harper's presents a clear, succinct review of the fundamentals of biochemistry that every student must understand in order to succeed in medical school. All 58 chapters help you understand the medical relevance of biochemistry: * Full-color presentation includes more than 600 illustrations * Case studies emphasize the clinical relevance of biochemistry * NEW CHAPTER on Biochemistry of Transition Metals addresses the importance and overall pervasiveness of transition metals * Review Questions follow each of the eleven sections * Boxed Objectives define the goals of each chapter * Tables encapsulate important information * Every chapter includes a section on the biomedical importance of a given topic NEW TO THIS EDITION: * Emphasis throughout on the integral relationship between biochemistry and disease, diagnostic pathology, and medical practice * Hundreds of references to disease states throughout * New chapter addressing the biochemical roles of transition metals * Many updated review questions * Frequent tables summarizing key links to disease states * New text on cryo-electron microscopy (cryo-EM) * Cover picture of the protein structure of the Zika virus, solved by cryo-EM Applauded by medical students and online reviewers for its currency and engaging style, Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry is essential for USMLE® review and the single-best reference for learning the clinical relevance of any biochemistry topic.
ISBN: 9781259837937Publication Date: 2018-05-28
Present Knowledge in Nutrition by
Present Knowledge in Nutrition, Eleventh Edition, provides an accessible, highly readable, referenced, source of the most current, reliable, and comprehensive information in the broad field of nutrition. Now broken into two, separate volumes, and updated to reflect scientific advancements since the publication of its tenth edition, Present Knowledge in Nutrition, Eleventh Edition includes expanded coverage on the topics of basic nutrition and metabolism and clinical and applied topics in nutrition. This volume, Present Knowledge in Nutrition: Clinical and Applied Topics in Nutrition, addresses life stage nutrition and maintaining health, nutrition monitoring, measurement, and regulation, and important topics in clinical nutrition. Authored by an international group of subject-matter experts, with the guidance of four editors with complementary areas of expertise, Present Knowledge in Nutrition, Eleventh Edition will continue to be a go-to resource for advanced undergraduate, graduate and postgraduate students in nutrition, public health, medicine, and related fields; professionals in academia and medicine, including clinicians, dietitians, physicians, and other health professionals; and academic, industrial and government researchers, including those in nutrition and public health. The book was produced in cooperation with the International Life Sciences Institute (https://ilsi.org/).
ISBN: 9780128184608Publication Date: 2020-07-20
Diet and Disease by
Can food really take the place of medicine? While modern medicine certainly has its place and does more than its fair share of good, there is no denying that many of society's most perilous chronic diseases are exacerbated by poor diets. Whereas earlier infectious diseases used to cause the most death, the impact of chronic diseases now far overshadows that of infectious diseases. Diet plays a significant role in the development of a number of types of chronic disease, such as heart disease, diabetes, and certain types of cancer. This title explores the impact of dietary choices on the prevention, management, and treatment of a number of medical conditions and disease states including the gastrointestinal tract, musculoskeletal disorders, rheumatic disease, anemias, hepatobiliary, gallbladder, pancreatic, and kidney diseases. The topics of nutrition and cardiovascular disease, diabetes and metabolic stress, critical illness, cancer and HIV/AIDS are covered in the subsequent title Diet and Disease I.
ISBN: 9781606509210Publication Date: 2015-12-30
Medical Reference Texts
Physiology of the Gastrointestinal Tract by
Physiology of the Gastrointestinal Tract, Sixth Edition, a Two-Volume set, covers the study of the mechanical, physical and biochemical functions of the GI Tract by linking clinical disease and disorder.
ISBN: 9780128099544Publication Date: 2018-05-15
Encyclopedia of Gastroenterology by
Encyclopedia of Gastroenterology, Second Edition provides a comprehensive and concise reference on all aspects of gastroenterology and hepatology, including the organs in the gastrointestinal system, their functions in health and disease, and strategies or procedures to resolve or prevent problems and disease.
ISBN: 9780128187289Publication Date: 2019-11-06
Yamada′s Atlas of Gastroenterology by ISBN: 9781118512104Publication Date: 2016-02-16Access to accurate, high-quality images is vital for ensuring effective management of patients with GI complaints.
Gastrointestinal: Key Texts
Pathology of the Gastrointestinal Tract by
This book covers the complete field of the pathology of the Gastrointestinal tract - from Abetalipoproteinemia to Zollinger-Ellison Syndrome. The alphabetically arranged entries, each of which provides a detailed description of a specific pathological disease pattern, allow readers to quickly and easily find the information they need.
ISBN: 9783319405599Publication Date: 2017-06-28
Practical Gastrointestinal Pathology by
Practical Gastrointestinal Pathology provides easy and quick access to concise, evidence-based and up-to-date information to aid accurate diagnosis and serves as a useful resource for practicing pathologists, pathology trainees and GI clinicians as well as allied health professionals who frequently deal with GI pathology.
ISBN: 9783030512675Publication Date: 2020-12-06
CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Gastroenterology, Hepatology, & Endoscopy, Third Edition by
Covers the practical aspects of diagnosis of gastrointestinal and hepatic disorders, with each chapter outlining the essentials of diagnosis of various disorders. Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Gastroenterology, Hepatology, & Endoscopy provides concise, complete, and accessible clinical information that is up-to-date.
ISBN: 9780071837729Publication Date: 2015-10-19
Management of Hereditary Colorectal Cancer by
This book provides a comprehensive review of the clinical management of hereditary colorectal cancer.
ISBN: 9783030262334Publication Date: 2020-04-03
The Pancreas by
The Pancreas: An Integrated Textbook of Basic Science, Medicine and Surgery, 3rd Edition is an important book for gastroenterologists and gastrointestinal surgeons worldwide.
ISBN: 9781119188391Publication Date: 2018-04-23
MeSH Terminology: Digestion, Nutrition, & Diabetes
Here are some key Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) that will help you find current evidence to inform your learning and practice. Each term is linked to the National Library of Medicine's Medical Subject Heading Database.
Use terms to search databases such as: PubMed, Medline, CINAHL, Scopus, Primo, and Google Scholar.
Explore the Literature: Digestion, Nutrition, & Metabolism
- Gastroenterology OR GastrointestinalPRIMO search, limited to ebooks published in the last 5 years.