Biblical Reference
The resources listed below are available in the reference section at the Portland Center Library, are requestable from the Murdock Library in Newberg, or are browsable online (eBooks).
Dictionaries
The Anchor Bible Dictionary by
Six years in the making, this state-of-the-art dictionary offers the most up-to-date and comprehensive treatment of biblical subjects and scholarship. An essential reference for every serious reader of the Bible. B & W illustrations and line-art throughout.
Call Number: BS440 .A54 1992Publication Date: 1998
The Baker Illustrated Bible Dictionary by
In the pages of the Bible, we come to know God through Jesus Christ. Thus the importance of the Bible for our spiritual formation cannot be overstated. If we are honest, though, the Bible is not always easy to understand. For example, the places named in the Bible can seem strange, and the number of people mentioned is virtually countless. This comprehensive dictionary intends to help people read the Bible with increased understanding and confidence. It contains articles on major topics as well as places and people, even if they just appear in a single verse in the Bible. Its articles cover theological topics, biblical words, biblical imagery, and historical topics. This A to Z dictionary includes more than -1,700 full-color pages -400 color illustrations, maps, and photos -5,000 articles by leading evangelical scholars The Baker Illustrated Bible Dictionary is an informative, colorful, and easy-to-understand resource that will be an indispensable reference for your own personal study or in preparation for teaching.
Call Number: BS440 .L66 2013ISBN: 9780801012976Publication Date: 2013-08-01
The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology by
With over 550 entries ranging from Abba to Zwingli composed by leading contemporary theologians from around the world, The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology represents a fresh, ecumenical approach to theological reference. Written with an emphasis on clarity and concision, all entries are designed to help the reader understand and assess the specifically theological significance of the most important concepts. Clearly structured, the volume is organized around a small number of 'core entries' which focus on key topics to provide a general overview of major subject areas, while making use of related shorter entries to impart a more detailed knowledge of technical terms. The work as a whole provides an introduction to the defining topics in Christian thought and is an essential reference point for student and scholars.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780521880923Publication Date: 2011-02-24
Dictionary of Biblical Imagery by
The Dictionary of Biblical Imagery is dedicated to exploring the images, symbols, motifs, metaphors and literary patterns found in the Bible. It examines the Bible's universal archetypes or master images--including the plot motifs and character types that recur throughout life, literature and the Bible.
Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 1998
Dictionary of Biblical Interpretation by
The Dictionary of Biblical Interpretation is a comprehensive reference work that explores the history of human reflection and research on the meaning of the Old and New Testaments. This major new reference work on the theory and practice of biblical interpretation explores the history of reflection, research, and commentary on Scripture by: * reviewing the lives and ideas of men and women who have made significant contributions to biblical interpretation * exploring the history of interpretation of the various biblical writings, including apocryphal and deuterocanonical works * examining numerous methods and movements that have informed the reading of Scripture, from the first century to the present day. * Nearly 400 scholars from around the world have contributed over 1,000 signed articles, making this the most comprehensive resource of its kind* Ecumenical (Jewish, Protestant, Orthodox, Roman Catholic), international (African, Australian, European, Middle Eastern, and North American), and eclectic, examining a broad array of perspectives on and procedures for biblical interpretation.
Call Number: BS500 .D5 1999Publication Date: 1999
Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels by
1993 ECPA Gold Medallion (Reference Text)1993 Christianity Today Critics' Choice AwardThe 2014 ECPA Christian Book Award Winner (Bible Reference)2014 Readers' Choice Award WinnerPreaching's Preacher's Guide to the Best Bible Reference for 2014 (Gospels and Jesus)The second edition of the Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels is a thoroughly reconstructed and revised version of the critically acclaimed 1992 first edition. Since that groundbreaking volume was published, a wave of Jesus and Gospel scholarship has crested and broken on the shores of a new century.Jesus has been proposed as sage, shaman, revolutionary, marginal Jew, Mediterranean peasant or a prophet of Israel's restoration. The non-canonical Gospels have been touted, examined and reassessed. There are revised understandings of historiography, orality, form criticism, empire and more. The second edition of the DJG amply weighs and assess the gains and shortcomings of this new scholarship.Here is a self-contained reference library of information and perspective essential to exploring Jesus and the Gospels. This volume bridges the gap between scholars and those pastors, teachers, students and interested readers who want thorough treatments of key topics in an accessible and summary format. Articles cover each Gospel, major themes in the Gospels, key episodes in the life of Jesus, significant background topics, as well as issues and methods of interpretation.Among other benefits, it allows multiple opportunities for each of the Gospels to be weighed and heard in its own voice. Bibliographies are full and up to date, putting readers in touch with the best work in the field. All of this allows the articles to serve as launching pads for further research.When the first edition of the Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels was published, it was immediately recognized as an innovative reference work. By taking a particular corpus of biblical books and exploring it with in-depth articles written by specialists in the field, it refashioned a staple reference genre. This dictionary model has now been applied to each segment of the biblical canon in successive volumes.Those who have enjoyed and benefitted from the wealth in the first edition will find the second edition an equally indispensable companion to study and research. Over ninety percent of the articles have been completely rewritten, and the rest thoroughly revised and updated. Here is the doorway into a reliable and comprehensive summary and appraisal of the last twenty years of Jesus scholarship. A new generation of scholars has opened the way to make this a Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels for the twenty-first century.
Call Number: BS2555.52 .D53 2013ISBN: 9780830824564Publication Date: 2013-11-11
Dictionary of Judaism in the Biblical Period by
This invaluable reference defines concepts, religious practices, theological terms, persons, places, and essential vocabulary from the writings of Judaism, ranging from the time of the Pentateuch's final formation until the close of the Babylonian Talmud. Over 3,300 entries by seventy international scholars offer historical literary, religious, and archaeological background for understanding the canonical form of the Bible, the texts of the Second Temple period, and the classical writings of rabbinic Judaism. The scope of this volume includes, among other things, information on Philo and Josephus, the Dead Sea Scrolls, the Mishnah, and the Talmud, as well as key figures in the history of both Judaism and early Christianity. The Dictionary of Judaism in the Biblical Period offers a reliable guide to the wealth of material useful for reading the Holy Scriptures. It has few rivals when it comes to accuracy and readability, and will be an indispensable resource for anyone studying religion.
Call Number: BM50 .D525 1999Publication Date: 1999
Dictionary of New Testament Background by
2001 ECPA Gold Medallion (Reference Works)The Dictionary of New Testament Background joins the Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels, the Dictionary of Paul and His Letters and the Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Developments as the fourth in a landmark series of reference works on the Bible. In a time when our knowledge of the ancient Mediterranean world has grown by leaps and bounds, this volume sets out for readers the wealth of Jewish and Greco-Roman background that should inform our reading and understanding of the New Testament and early Christianity.The Dictionary of New Testament Background takes full advantage of the flourishing study of the Dead Sea Scrolls and offers individual articles focused on the most important scrolls. In addition, the Dictionary encompasses the fullness of second-temple Jewish writings, whether pseudepigraphic, rabbinic, parables, proverbs, histories or inscriptions. Articles abound on aspects of Jewish life and thought, including family, purity, liturgy and messianism. The full scope of Greco-Roman culture is displayed in articles ranging across language and rhetoric, literacy and book culture, religion and cults, honor and shame, patronage and benefactors, travel and trade, intellectual movements and ideas, and ancient geographical perspectives.No other reference work presents so much in one place for students of the New Testament. Here an entire library of scholarship is made available in summary form. The Dictionary of New Testament Background can stand alone or work in concert with one or more of its companion volumes in the series. Written by acknowledged experts in their fields, this wealth of knowledge of the New Testament era is carefully aimed at the needs of contemporary students of the New Testament. And its full bibliographies and cross-references to other volumes in the series will make it the first book to reach for in any investigation of the New Testament in its ancient setting.
Call Number: BS2312 .D53 2000ISBN: 9780830817801Publication Date: 2000-11-16
Dictionary of Paul and His Letters by
1994 ECPA Gold Medallion (Reference Books)The Dictionary of Paul and His Letters is a one-of-a-kind reference work. Following the format of its hightly successful companion volume, the Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels, this Dictionary is designed to bring students, teachers, ministers and laypeople abreast of the established conclusions and significant recent developments in Pauline scholarship.No other single reference work presents as much information focused exclusively on Pauline theology, literature, background and scholarship. In a field that recently has undergone significant shifts in perspective, the Dictionary of Paul and His Letters offers a summa of Paul and Pauline studies. In-depth articles focus on individual theological themes (such as law, resurrection and Son of God), broad theological topics (such as Christology, eschatology and the death of Christ), methods of interpretation (such as rhetorical criticism and social-scientific approaches), background topics (such as apocalypticism, Hellenism and Qumran) and various other subjects specifically related to the scholarly study of Pauline theology and literature (such as early catholicism, the center of Paul's theology, and Paul and his interpreters since F. C. Baur). Separate articles are also devoted to each of the Pauline letters to hermeneutics and to preaching Paul today.The Dictionary of Paul and His Letters takes its place alongside the Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels in presenting the fruit of evangelical New Testament scholarship at the end of the twentieth century--commited to the authority of Scripture, utilizing the best of critical methods, and maintaining dialogue with contemporary scholarship and challenges facing the church.
Call Number: BS2650.2 .D53 1993ISBN: 9780830817788Publication Date: 1993-10-28
Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Developments by
One of the 1998 Academy of Parish Clergy Top Ten Books of the Year!Voted one of Christianity Today's 1998 Books of the Year!1998 ECPA Gold Medallion (Reference Works)The third of IVP's critically acclaimed series of dictionaries of the New Testament provides focused study on the often-neglected portions of the New Testament: Acts, Hebrews, the General Epistles and Revelation. Furthermore, its scope goes beyond the life of the New Testament church to include the work of the apostolic fathers and early Christianity up through the middle of the second century.The Dictionary of the Later New Testament & Its Developments offers a summa of New Testament studies. Designed to bring students, teachers, pastors and general readers up to date and up to speed, this one-of-a-kind reference volume presents more information than any other single work--dealing exclusively with the theology, literature, background and scholarship of the later New Testament and the apostolic church.In-depth, comprehensive articles focus on theological themes, methods of interpretation, background topics and various other subjects specifically related to the study of New Testament theology and literature. Expert contributors include Darrell Bock, George R. Beasley-Murray, I. Howard Marshall, Ben Witherington III and James D. G. Dunn. Wide-ranging articles range from the books of James and Jude to household codes, from the Roman emperor cult to gnosticism and docetism, questions of canon to second-century church leaders like Ignatius and Polycarp.The Dictionary of the Later New Testament & Its Developments takes its place alongside the Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels and Dictionary of Paul and His Letters in presenting mature evangelical scholarship--committed to the authority of Scripture, utilizing the best of critical methods, and maintaining a dialogue with contemporary scholarship and the challenges facing the church.
Call Number: BS2625.5 .D53 1997ISBN: 9780830817795Publication Date: 1997-11-24
The Eerdmans Dictionary of Early Judaism by
The Dictionary of Early Judaism is the first reference work devoted exclusively to Second Temple Judaism (fourth century b.c.e. through second century c.e.). The first section of this substantive and incredible work contains thirteen major essays that attempt to synthesize major aspects of Judaism in the period between Alexander and Hadrian. The second -- and significantly longer -- section offers 520 entries arranged alphabetically. Many of these entries have cross-references and all have select bibliographies. Equal attention is given to literary and nonliterary (i.e. archaeological and epigraphic) evidence and New Testament writings are included as evidence for Judaism in the first century c.e. Several entries also give pertinent information on the Hebrew Bible. The Dictionary of Early Judaism is intended to not only meet the needs of scholars and students -- at which it succeeds admirably -- but also to provide accessible information for the general reader. It is ecumenical and international in character, bringing together nearly 270 authors from as many as twenty countries and including Jews, Christians, and scholars of no religious affiliation.
Call Number: BM176 .E34 2010ISBN: 9780802825490Publication Date: 2010-11-11
Exegetical Dictionary of the New Testament by
Volume 3---The English translation of the three-volume Exegetisches W rterbuch zum Neuen Testament, this monumental work by an ecumenical group of scholars is first of all a complete English dictionary of New Testament Greek. Going beyond that, however EDNT also serves as a guide to the usage of every New Testament word in its various contexts, and it makes a significant contribution to New Testament exegesis and theology. EDNT's thorough, lengthy discussions of more significant words and its grouping of words related by root and meaning (with alphabetical cross-references) distinguish it from simpler Greek-English lexicons. Advancing the discussion of the Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament, EDNT summarizes more recent treatments of numerous questions in New Testament study and takes into consideration newer viewpoints of linguistics.
Call Number: BS2312 .E913 1990ISBN: 9780802824110Publication Date: 1993-03-01
The HarperCollins Bible Dictionary by
The HarperCollins Bible Dictionary puts the latest and most comprehensive biblical scholarship at your fingertips. Here is everything you need to know to fully understand the Old Testament, the Apocrypha, and the New Testament. An unparalleled resource, The HarperCollins Bible Dictionary explains every aspect of the Bible, including biblical archaeology, culture, related writings such as the Dead Sea Scrolls, the Bible‘s influence on Western civilization, biblical history, theological concepts, modern biblical interpretations, flora nad fauna, climate and environment, crafts and industry, the content of individual books of the bible, and more. The HarperCollins Bible Dictionary features: " Contributions by 193 noted experts on the Bible and the ancient Near East " More than 3700 entries covering the Bible from A to Z " Outlines for each book of the Bible " 590 black–and–white photographs " 53 color photographs " An updated pronunciation guide " 72 black–and–white maps " 18 color maps " Dozens of drawings, diagrams, and tables
Call Number: BS440 .H235 1996ISBN: 9780060600372Publication Date: 1996-09-27
Historical Dictionary of Jesus by
Jesus of Nazareth is arguably the most famous and influential human being who has ever lived on earth. In the Historical Dictionary of Jesus, author Daniel J. Harrington delves into the ancient literary sources about Jesus, modern methods of approaching these sources, the major events in Jesus' life, persons and places associated with him, the form and content of his teachings, what can be said about his death and the claim that he was raised from the dead, and the contributions of major modern scholars to the quest of the historical Jesus. The book consists of three parts: an introduction to the major topics pertaining to Jesus as a historical figure; a cross-referenced dictionary containing 400 entries on a range of topics, including things Jesus did and said, ancient sources of historical data, and modern scholarship and interpretation; and a bibliography listing some of the most important books related to Jesus and the world in which he lived. This concise and objective reference work provides a clear and accurate introduction to the study of Jesus as a historical figure.
Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2010
Nelson's New Illustrated Bible Dictionary by
This completely revised and updated edition is the most comprehensive and up-to-date Bible dictionary available. A wealth of basic study information is found in more than 7,000 entries plus over 500 full-color photographs, maps, and pronunciation guides. Includes the Visual Survey of the Bible.
Call Number: BS440 .N347 1995ISBN: 9780840720719Publication Date: 1995-08-16
New Dictionary of Biblical Theology by
The New Dictionary of Biblical Theology will quickly establish itself as an essential building block of every library of basic biblical reference books. Building on its companion volumes, the New Bible Dictionary and New Bible Commentary, this work takes readers to a higher vantage point where they can view the thematic terrain of the Bible in its canonical wholeness. In addition, it fills the interpretive space between those volumes and the New Dictionary of Theology.At the heart of this work is an A-to-Z encyclopedia of over 200 key biblical-theological themes such as atonement, creation, eschatology, Israel, Jesus Christ, the kingdom of God, redemption, suffering, wisdom and worship. Students and communicators of the Bible will be well served by articles exploring the theology of each biblical book. And for those interested in the wider discipline of biblical theology, major articles explore foundational issues such as the history of biblical theology, the challenges raised against biblical theology, and the unity and diversity of Scripture.Over 120 contributors drawn from the front ranks of biblical scholarship in the English-speaking world make the New Dictionary of Biblical Theology a work of distinction and a benchmark of evangelical biblical theology at the turn of the twenty-first century. Bibliographies round out all articles, directing readers to research trails leading out of the Dictionary and into crucial studies on every subject. Cross-references throughout send readers through the varied maze of reading pathways, maximizing the usefulness of this volume. Comprehensive, authoritative and easily accessible, the New Dictionary of Biblical Theology is certain to establish itself as an essential resource for students of the Bible and theology.
Call Number: BS440 .N437 2000ISBN: 9780830814381Publication Date: 2000-11-07
New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology and Exegesis Set by
A standard and widely-used reference work for nearly 40 years, the New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology and Exegesis has been thoroughly revised and updated to aid today's pastors, students, scholars, and teachers in their study of the New Testament. Offering a wealth of background and information on the meaning of Greek words in the New Testament--as well as related usage in classical Greek sources, the Septuagint, Jewish literature, and more--this important tool offers the following features: * Alphabetical arrangement according to Greek words instead of previous order according to English topics; this ensures that individual Greek words are not discussed in isolation from one another and are easy to access * Expanded to include additional Greek words and concepts not covered in the original work, NIDNTTE includes nearly 800 entries covering over 3,000 Greek words * Discussions have been revised to be in line with modern scholarship and bibliographies are updated * Corrections have been made to inconsistencies and omissions in earlier versions * Updated and added consistency to include--for every entry--all necessary background information from classical Greek, the LXX, and Jewish literature. * A helpful semantic domain index now directs the reader to all of the Greek words that have something to do with a particular English word. For example, under the English word "Anger, Wrath," there is a list of thirteen Greek words that are related to that topic. * Significant changes have been made in the presentation and discussion of linguistic details * and much more!
Call Number: Coming Soon!ISBN: 9780310276197Publication Date: 2014-11-11
The New Unger's Bible Dictionary by
Unger's Bible Dictionary has been one of the bestselling Bible dictionaries on the market since its introduction in 1957. Now this time-honored classic is more valuable than ever. Updated and expanded by respected Bible authorities including R.K. Harrison, Howard F. Vos, and Cyril J. Barber, The New Unger's Bible Dictionary is packed with the most current scholarship. More than 67,000 entries are supplemented with detailed essays, colorful photography and maps, and dozens of charts and illustrations to enhance your understanding of God's Word. Although this volume is based on the New American Standard, extensive cross-referencing makes it useful with all major Bible translations, including the New International, King James, and New King James versions.
Call Number: BS440 .U5 2005ISBN: 9780802490667Publication Date: 2006-05-01
Zondervan's Pictorial Bible Dictionary by
When you want to find out what lies behind a word, name, or concept in the Bible, turn to Zondervan's Pictorial Bible Dictionary. It's designed to deepen your knowledge of the Bible through both words and pictures. Look up "Archaeology" and get extensive insights on how archaeological findings corroborate biblical accounts from Genesis to New Testament times. Turn to "Judges" and learn about Israel's leaders prior to its kings. Zondervan's Pictorial Bible Dictionary helps you to understand the people, places, customs, culture, and events of the Bible in a way that can help you better grasp its message and its implications for you today. More than 5,000 entries inform you on historical, geographical, chronological, and biographical aspects of the Bible. You'll also find scholarly articles on important theological subjects written by a team of 65 scholars and experts. Over 700 pictures lend visual impact and clarification on numerous topics, from the "Hill of Aaron" to "Zorah," the home of Samson. Spellings correspond to the King James Version, the classic Bible used throughout the years by millions of Christians. Alternative spellings found in the American Standard Version and in the Revised Standard Version are also given, broadening the helpfulness of this volume.
Call Number: BS440 .Z6ISBN: 9780310235606Publication Date: 1988-09-06
The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible by
The most complete coverage of theological topics This dictionary is the definitive starting point for research on any topic, place or person in the Bible, with emphasis on the crucial theological concepts. Based on the NRSV. Unparalleled quality of information Written by 900 scholars, experts in their fields, from 40 nations and a variety of perspectives and diverse theological commitments. Totally new entries 7100 fresh, original articles. Also contains 1300 distinct cross-reference entries. Balanced and relevant content For any pastor, rabbi, preacher, teacher, or student who is preparing to serve the congregation. Theological content and thorough discussion of various interpretations is tailored for congregational use. It will become your most trusted companion!
Call Number: BS440 .N443 2006-09ISBN: 9780687333462Publication Date: 2009-08-01
Dictionary for Theological Interpretation of the Bible by
This groundbreaking reference tool introduces key names, theories, and concepts for interpreting Scripture.
Call Number: BS440 .D495 2005ISBN: 9780801026942Publication Date: 2005-11-01
Dictionary of Scripture and Ethics by
This one-stop reference book on the vital relationship between Scripture and ethics offers needed orientation and perspective for students, pastors, and scholars. Written to respond to the movement among biblical scholars and ethicists to recover the Bible for moral formation, it is the best reference work available on the intersection of these two fields. The volume shows how Christian Scripture and Christian ethics are necessarily intertwined and offers up-to-date treatment of five hundred biblical, traditional, and contemporary topics, ranging from adultery, bioethics, and Colossians to vegetarianism, work, and Zephaniah. The stellar ecumenical list of contributors consists of more than two hundred leading scholars from the fields of biblical studies and ethics, including Darrell Bock, David Gushee, Amy Laura Hall, Daniel Harrington, Dennis Olson, Christine Pohl, Glen Stassen, and Max Stackhouse.
Call Number: BS680.E84 D53 2011ISBN: 9780801034060Publication Date: 2011-11-01
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church by
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, since its first appearance in 1957, has established itself as the indispensable one-volume reference work on all aspects of the Christian Church. This third edition, the first for over twenty years, builds on the unrivalled reputation of theprevious editions. Revised and updated, it reflects changes in academic opinion and Church organisation. There is increased coverage of the Eastern Churches, certain issues in moral theology, and developments stemming from the Second Vatican Council. Numerous new entries have been added and theextensive bibliographies have been brought up to date. Readers are provided with over 6,000 authoritative cross-referenced A-Z entries covering all aspects of the subject, including: * Theology - the development of doctrines in different Churches; heretical movements and spirituality and their exponents; history of the Reformation and Counter-Reformation; discoveries of Nag Hammadi and their significance for Gnosticism. * Patristic scholarship - Fathers of the Church on whose work later theology is founded are covered in detail, for example, Psuedo-Chrysostom is differentiated from his namesake and the problems of Macarius of Egypt and Macarius/Simeon are elucidated; the recently discovered Sermons of St Augustineare listed. * Churches and denominations - the beliefs and structures of both the mainstream and the lesser known denominations, such as Lutherans, Shakers, Amish, Muggletonians, and Wee Frees; lengthy articles on the history of Christianity throughout the world, in countries such as Ireland, Spain, Poland,Canada, New Zealand, Angola, Zaire, the Philippines. * The Church calendar and organisation - feast and saints' days; Sacraments; church services, offices, rites, and practices; canon law including Catholic revision; councils and synods; religious orders. * Biographical entries - these are wide-ranging and include saints, popes, patriarchs, and archbishops; mystics, heretics, and reformers; theologians and philosophers with a summary of their opinions; artists, poets, and musicians whose work has been influenced by Christianity. * New entries - Arator; Liberation Theology; Ludwig Wittgenstein; ordination of women; Christian attitudes to Jews; Christianity in Vietnam; The Quest of the Historical Jesus; the ethics of contraception, procreation, and abortion.
Call Number: BR95 .O8 1997ISBN: 9780192116550Publication Date: 1997-03-13
Evangelical Dictionary of Theology by
Fifteen years after its original publication comes a thoroughly revised edition of the Evangelical Dictionary of Theology. Every article from the original edition has been revisited. With some articles being removed, others revised, and many new articles added, the result is a completely new dictionary covering systematic, historical, and philosophical theology as well as theological ethics.
Call Number: BR95 .E83 2001ISBN: 9780801020759Publication Date: 2001-05-01
Dictionary of Christian Spirituality by
In recent decades Christian spirituality, spiritual formation and spiritual theology have become important concepts in the global evangelical community. Consequently, an accessible and reliable academic resource is needed on these topics--one that will offer a discerning orientation to the wealth of ecumenical resources available while still highlighting the distinct heritage and affirming the core grace-centered values of classic evangelical spirituality. The Dictionary of Christian Spirituality reflects an overarching interpretive framework for evangelical spiritual formation: a holistic and grace-filled spirituality that encompasses relational (connecting), transformational (becoming), and vocational (doing) dynamics. At the same time, contributors respectfully acknowledge the differences between Reformed, Holiness, and Pentecostal paradigms of the spiritual life. And, by bringing together writers from around the world who share a common orthodoxy, this reference work is truly global and international in both its topical scope and contributors. Entries give appropriate attention to concepts, concerns, and formative figures in the evangelical tradition of spirituality that other reference work neglect. They offer a discerning orientation to the wealth of ecumenical resources available, exploring the similarities and differences between Christianity and alternate spiritualities without lapsing into relativism. The Dictionary of Christian Spirituality is a resource that covers a wide range of topics relating to Christian spirituality and is biblically engaged, accessible, and relevant for all contemporary Christians.
Call Number: BV4501.3 .Z66 2011ISBN: 9780310290667Publication Date: 2011-07-23
Online Reference
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You're looking for authoritative surveys of current thinking and research, from leading international figures in a variety of disciplines.What's Included?
Specially commissioned essays from leading international figures in arts and humanities, social sciences, and psychology. - Theology and Religion Online This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You are looking for authoritative overviews, definitions, and suggestions for further reading on topics related to theology or biblical studies.What's Included?
Encompassing the Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries, the Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary, and the Eerdman's Digital Reference Library (43 core reference titlesin religious studies), this platform will search individually or simultaneously across a large collection of definitive reference texts, many of which have not been historically available online.
- Bible Odyssey (SBL)SBL's online encyclopedia written for a popular audience. "Explore the fascinating origins of the Bible and its eventful history. On Bible Odyssey, the world’s leading scholars share the latest historical and literary research on key people, places, and passages of the Bible."
Encyclopedias
Baker Encyclopedia of the Bible by
Its 5,700 articles include mini-commentaries on each book of the Bible, extensive articles on essential biblical teachings, omnibus articles treating various cultural aspects of biblical times, and more than 600 photos, maps, and illustrations.
Call Number: BS440 .B26 1988Publication Date: 1997
The Biblical World by
Casting the tumultuous history of Judaism, Christianity, and Islam against the rich canvas of the Near East, The Biblical World reveals how three great religions emerged from the same cradle. Author Jean-Pierre Isbouts employs a non-denominational perspective and a wide range of sources--from ancient hieroglyphic texts to the latest scientific findings--to place Bible stories in the framework of history. Chronologically arranged chapters detail battles, conquests, tribal migrations, natural calamities, and more, supporting the stories with intriguing archaeological evidence. To locate sites and events, National Geographic cartographers have created fifty all-new maps of stunning quality. Hundreds of photographs and artifacts add visual excitement. Quick-read timelines link events across cultures while illustrated sidebars focus on what life was like during each era: family roles, farming, trade, dress, childbirth, burial customs, and other aspects of daily existence. The story traces the evolution of Judaism from Abraham to the Unified Kingdom of Israel... chronicles the emergence of Christianity in the context of Greco-Roman civilization... and identifies the unique circumstances that prepared for the rise of Islam. The multi-dimensional approach weighs similarities and differences among the three faiths and follows developments in nearby lands. With a foreword from bestselling author Bruce Chilton and text reviewed by distinguished advisers, The Biblical World offers a carefully researched, balanced view of history and religious tradition. For its scope, beauty, and relevance in today's world, this unparalleled atlas is destined to become a classic.
Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2007
The Cambridge History of the Bible by
The Cambridge History of the Bible concerns the earliest period down to Jerome and takes as its central theme the process by which the books of both Testaments came into being and emerged as a canon of scripture, and the use of canonical writings in the early church.
Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 1975
The Eerdmans Encyclopedia of Early Christian Art and Archaeology by
More than 400 distinguished scholars, including archaeologists, art historians, historians, epigraphers, and theologians, have worked together to create the 1,455 entries in this monumental encyclopedia -- the first comprehensive reference work of its kind. From Aachen to Zurzach, Paul Corby Finney's three-volume masterwork draws on archaeological and epigraphic evidenceto offer readers a basic orientation to early Christian architecture, sculpture, painting, mosaic, and portable artifacts createdroughly between ad 200 and 600 in Africa, Asia, and Europe. Clear, comprehensive, and heavily illustrated, this work will bean essential resource for all those interested in late antique and early Christian art and history.
Call Number: BR163 .E335 2017ISBN: 9780802838117Publication Date: 2016-11-11
The International Standard Bible Encyclopedia by
A comprehensive biblical reference includes a wide range of articles about people, places, customs, events, religious concepts, and philosophical ideas mentioned in the Scriptures.
Call Number: BS440 .I6 1979Publication Date: 1995
The West from the Fathers to the Reformation by
The Cambridge History treats the Bible as a central document of Western civilization, a source of exegesis and of doctrine, an influence on education, on the growth of scholarship, on art and literature, as well as on the liturgy and the life of the Christian church and its members. This volume commences the study of the Bible in the West. It begins with Jerome and the Fathers and goes on to the time of Erasmus. Introductory chapters look back and rapidly survey the growth of the biblical canon in the pre-Christian period and the early church, and early Christian book-production. The central portion of the volume discusses exposition and exegesis of the Scriptures: in the hands of the Fathers, in the Medieval Schools, in the Liturgy and in the tradition of medieval Jewish scholarship. The permeation of European culture by the Scriptures is illustrated by themes in art and manuscript illustration, and by separate sections on each of the main vernacular languages, giving special attention to English. Each chapter is written by a scholar and expert on the subject, who summarizes existing knowledge and, in many cases, advances it by reporting his own research.
Call Number: BS445 .C26Publication Date: 1969
Who's Who in the Bible by
This indispensable collection of biblical information has illustrations of biblical sites as they exist today, masterworks of religious art, and information on virtually all of the characters in the Old and New Testaments.
Call Number: BS570 .C64Publication Date: 1993
Who's Who in the New Testament by
Who's Who in The New Testamentis the most complete and detailed reference book of its kind. Paying close attention to the places linked with the major events of Jesus's life, it provides: * over 300 extensive entries covering every major character * detailed biographical information on each character, including exactly where to find them in the Bible * the complete historical, geographical and archaeological context of each entry * an extremely accessible and easy to use A-Z layout * extensive geographical entries focusing on the growth of the Christian Church and the key locations in the New Testament * comprehensive interpretative analysis of the varying versions of the Gospels and the characters of the authors.
Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2001
Atlases
Atlas of the Bible by
Zondervan Atlas of the Bible ... a thoroughly revised edition of the most comprehensive Bible atlas ever designed for * Students * Bible Study Groups * Adult Learners * Travelers/Pilgrims to the Lands of the Bible * Pastors * Teachers * All Lovers of the Bible This major revision of the Gold Medallion Award-winning Zondervan NIV Atlas of the Bible is a visual feast that will help you experience the geography and history of Scripture with unprecedented clarity. The first section of the Atlas introduces the "playing board" of biblical history--using three-dimensional maps and photographic images to help the lands of the Bible come alive. The next section, arranged historically, begins with Eden and traces the historical progression of the Old and New Testaments. It provides an engaging, accurate, and faithful companion to God's Word--illuminating the text with over one hundred full-color, multidimensional maps created with the help of Digital Elevation Modeling data. It concludes with chapters on the history of Jerusalem, the disciplines of historical geography, and the most complete and accurate listing and discussion of place-names found in any atlas. Throughout the Atlas, innovative graphics, chronological charts, and over one hundred specially selected images help illuminate the geographical and historical context of biblical events. The Zondervan Atlas of the Bible is destined to become a favorite guide to biblical geography for students of the Bible. This accessible and complete resource will assist you as you enter into the world of the Bible as never before.
Call Number: BS630 .R37 2010ISBN: 9780310270508Publication Date: 2010-06-26
The IVP Atlas of Bible History by
A 2007 ECPA Christian Book Award WinnerTaking a narrative approach, The IVP Atlas of Bible History draws you into the rich resources available today on the Bible's history, geography and archaeology. The many maps, photographs, drawings and reconstructions on every page help you see for yourself what the people of Bible times saw and did. The Atlas presents the latest findings in history and archaeology in a readable style that will appeal to anyone wanting to know more about the history of the Bible.The world of the Bible deals with more than the modern state of Israel. Almost half of the events in the Bible are set outside this territory, and much of the Bible is addressed to people in other lands. Thus this atlas covers the world of the Bible, stretching from Spain to Iran, from Yemen to northern Greece. Trade widened these horizons even further to include India and possibly China and the east coast of Africa.The history of the Bible is played out on the stages of Egypt, Rome, Babylon and Persia. Many of the places in the ancient world are still important today, like Jerusalem, Damascus and Athens. These all play their role in the story that has shaped the imaginations and dreams of peoples and nations for centuries. All this, and more, is found in the pages of this enlightening, wonderful book.
Call Number: G2230 .L39 2006ISBN: 9780830824526Publication Date: 2006-08-31
Oxford Bible Atlas by
This new edition of the Oxford Bible Atlas, now with full-colour maps and illustrations, has been thoroughly revised to bring it up to date with regard both to biblical scholarship and to archaeology and topography. The Atlas will help readers of the Bible understand the contexts in which itsstories are set and to appreciate the world from which it emerged and which formed its background. Maps show the geographical setting of the Bible's stories and reflect the successive stages of the Bible's accounts, while specially chosen full-colour illustrations bring the countries and theirpeoples to life. The accompanying text describes the land of Palestine, and its wider ancient Near Eastern and east Mediterranean settings. It outlines clearly the successive historical periods, and describes the major civilizations with which Israelites, Jews, and early Christians came intocontact. There is also an illustrated survey of the relevance of archaeology for the study of the Bible. The Atlas provides a superb guide to the geography of the Holy Land throughout biblical history, from the Exodus period through to New Testament times.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 0191001589Publication Date: 2007-03-22
