Get Help!
Coddiwompling
Coddiwomple (v.): to travel in a purposeful manner toward an as-yet unknown destination.
About Articles
Scholarly work is often published as journal articles, which you can find by searching in various databases. Each database allows you to search a particular set of scholarly journals. You will want to cast your net wide at first, trying various search words (keywords) and browsing through the results in each database.
Online Reference and Preliminary Research
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You need a quick and credible answer, are gathering information about a new topic, looking for a list of recommended reading in an area, or looking for a definition or overview.What's Included?
Over 2 million full text articles from over 900 dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, popular and scholarly encyclopedias, quote books and atlases, plus a wide range or subject-specific titles covering everything from accounting to zoology.
Peer Review
Interdisciplinary Resources
Many of the questions considered in the Seminary cross academic disciplines. Because of this, it can be useful to utilize interdisciplinary databases and search tools.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
This resource searches collections included in other EBSCO databases, meaning it searches across many disciplines at once. Use this for early research or for interdisciplinary topics. Also consider ProQuest Central or Library Search/Primo.What's Included?
Articles from over 13,000 journals and supplementary resources like monographs, reports, and conference proceedings across, science, social science, and the humanities. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You want deep backfiles of journals across disciplines, especially humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Note: if you need the most current articles, look elsewhere. Most journals have five-year embargoes, but go back to the beginning of print runs.What's Included?
In addition to the 2,800 top scholarly journals and 100,000+ ebooks, you'll find ArtStor's Public Collections, primary sources, and open access monographs, etc.
- Primo (Advanced Search)Search across the libraries' physical and electronic collections all in one place. Refine your search by location, resource type, date, and more to locate more specific materials.
- Google Scholar (Find it @ George Fox) This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You want to run an efficient, interdisciplinary search of academic literature across the web. Scholar integrates with other academic resources and citation tools.What's Included?
Freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across a wide array of publishing formats and disciplines. This link includes the setting to connect search results to George Fox holdings (Find it @ George Fox links).
Learn more in our Google Scholar guide. (https://libguides.georgefox.edu/GoogleScholar). - WorldCat (Find it @ George Fox) This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You are looking for materials not indexed in Library Search/Primo to facilitate an ILL request. Also useful if you are looking for local libraries that may have a particular title.What's Included?
The catalogs of thousands of libraries around the world, including records for books, eBooks, articles, dissertations, audiovisual matierials and more. This link connects to George Fox Library holdings and Interlibrary Loan Services.
Religious Studies Databases
These topic-specific databases cover religious studies and biblical scholarship at different levels, from overviews to peer-reviewed articles. Many offer additional tools for searching, like ATLA's Scripture Citation Index and Thesaurus, both of which can help you perform targeting searches for very specific topics. Be sure to read through the descriptions to see which of these might be most useful in your research.
- Atla Religion with AtlaSerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
One of our two primary databases for religious studies, ministry, and theology, ATLA offers strong coverage on a variety of topics, and allows searching by subject or scripture citation (not just the Bible).What's Included?
Journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Steadily increasing coverage of world religions and global Christianity. - Religion Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
One of our two primary databases for religious studies and theology, use ProQuest Religion to find articles and disseratations.What's Included?
Titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion. - Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You're looking for authoritative surveys of current thinking and research, from leading international figures in a variety of disciplines.What's Included?
Specially commissioned essays from leading international figures in arts and humanities, social sciences, and psychology.
- Open Access Digital Theological LibraryThe Open Access Digital Theological Library (OADTL) curates high-quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, scholarly societies, archives, and stable public domain collections.
Other Library Subject Guides
- Other Library Subject GuidesGFU library offers guides (just like this one) on a number of different subjects! Potentially relevant topics include psychology, business, and social work among many others.