General Information
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You need a quick and credible answer, are gathering information about a new topic, looking for a list of recommended reading in an area, or looking for a definition or overview.What's Included?
Over 2 million full text articles from over 900 dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, popular and scholarly encyclopedias, quote books and atlases, plus a wide range or subject-specific titles covering everything from accounting to zoology. - Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You're getting started on a topic and want something more reliable than Wikipedia, or you're looking for a solid overview of a scholarly topic.What's Included?
spans 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias. - Statista This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You need statstics or data from reputable sources, including demographic surveys, marketing and industry information, political surveys, and other survey-based data. A truly broad collection of information.What's Included?
Statistics, reports, and insights on over 80,000 topics from 22,500 sources in 170 industries and around the globe.
News Sources
- New York Times Online This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You want to learn more or stay current in national news. This is one of two campus-wide subscriptions to online respected national news sources.What's Included?
Full-text online access to all NYTimes online articles, including coverage of breaking news, politics, business, technology, education, the arts, sports, science, and more. Learn more about newspaper access (including historical articles) at https://libguides.georgefox.edu/newspapers - Wall Street Journal Online This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You want to learn more or stay current in national news. This is one of two campus-wide subscriptions to online respected national news sources.What's Included?
Full-text online access to all Wall Street Journal articles, including coverage of breaking news, business, economics, finance, politics, technology, education, arts and culture, sports, health, and more. Learn more about newspaper access (including historical articles) in our Newspapers Guide. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You are researching in business, law, or current events, especially if you are looking for legal commentary.What's Included?
More than 17,000 news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. - Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
Broad newspaper coverage within the EBSCOhost platform. Search key terms within individual newspapers or across all publications.What's Included?
Content includes over 500 full-text newspapers from the United States and all over the world. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks.
Find Books
- GFU Primo (Advanced Search)Search the GFU libraries and beyond for electronic and print resources discussing your topic. Use the Print Books facet to narrow your search to include only the print books owned by the library on a given topic/subject. Limit the search scope to GFU - this locates only items owned by GFU. You could broaden your search to GFU + Summit, and request items from other libraries to be sent to you.
Scholarship
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
This database is actually a combination of many ProQuest databases, meaning it searches across many disciplines at once. Use this for early research or for interdisciplinary topics. Also consider Academic Search Premier or Library Search/Primo.What's Included?
Articles from thousands of journals, dissertations, working papers, reports, and more. Subjects include Arts & Humanities, Business, Health and Medical, Current Events/News, Science & Technology, Social Sciences, and Interdisciplinary. - Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
This resource searches collections included in other EBSCO databases, meaning it searches across many disciplines at once. Use this for early research or for interdisciplinary topics. Also consider ProQuest Central or Library Search/Primo.What's Included?
Articles from over 13,000 journals and supplementary resources like monographs, reports, and conference proceedings across, science, social science, and the humanities. - Google Scholar (Find it @ George Fox) This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You want to run an efficient, interdisciplinary search of academic literature across the web. Scholar integrates with other academic resources and citation tools.What's Included?
Freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across a wide array of publishing formats and disciplines. This link includes the setting to connect search results to George Fox holdings (Find it @ George Fox links).
Learn more in our Google Scholar guide. (https://libguides.georgefox.edu/GoogleScholar).
- Databases A - ZUse the drop-down at the top of the page to filter our tools by subject. Pay attention to the Best Bets boxes and the descriptions. If you don't know where to start, ask a librarian!
Resources for Persuasive Arguments
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You want to read research reports about today's most controversial topics, with in-depth and non-biased coverage.What's Included?
Reports related to social, economic, political, and environmental issues. Thousands of archived historical reports in their Archive. - Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You are looking for coverage of current and prominent topics. We recommend searching this database after CQ Researcher.What's Included?
Full-text coverage of topics ranging from Terrorism to Endangered Species, Stem Cell Research to Gun Control. Features pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles that provide context, full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, including images and podcasts, links to hand-selected web sites, and more.