Start Here – Literature Specific Databases
-
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window Why Search Here?Your best bet to find scholarly sources in all aspects of modern languages and literature.What's Included?In addition to full-text scholarly articles, check out top tabs for the MLA Thesaurus, Browse Works, and Browse Authors.
-
Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new windowAn excellent companion to the more scholarly MLA International Bibliography with Full Text database. This includes popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books, and periodicals.
Find a Journal
Great for finding which database contains specific coverage for the journal issue you are seeking. For example, The Kenyon Review can be found in full-text coverage via the MLA International Database with Full Text from 1979-present. JSTOR contains the beginning of the print run, beginning in 1939 up to the present minus a four-year embargo.
Interdisciplinary Databases
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDeep backfiles of journals across disciplines. Pro tip: click advanced search, scroll down a ways and use the Journal Filter. Related categories include American Studies, African American Studies, and lots of interdisciplinary topics related to art, history, religion, and much more.
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Why Search Here?This resource searches collections included in other EBSCO databases, meaning it searches across many disciplines at once. Use this for early research or for interdisciplinary topics. Also consider ProQuest Central or Library Search/Primo.What's Included?Articles from over 13,000 journals and supplementary resources like monographs, reports, and conference proceedings across, science, social science, and the humanities.
-
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Why Search Here?This database is actually a combination of many ProQuest databases, meaning it searches across many disciplines at once. Use this for early research or for interdisciplinary topics. Also consider Academic Search Premier or Library Search/Primo.What's Included?Articles from thousands of journals, dissertations, working papers, reports, and more. Subjects include Arts & Humanities, Business, Health and Medical, Current Events/News, Science & Technology, Social Sciences, and Interdisciplinary.
-
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Why Search Here?You are looking for coverage of current and prominent topics. We recommend searching this database after CQ Researcher.What's Included?Full-text coverage of topics ranging from Terrorism to Endangered Species, Stem Cell Research to Gun Control. Features pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles that provide context, full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, including images and podcasts, links to hand-selected web sites, and more.
Open Access Databases
-
Arts and Humanities CommonsThe Digital Commons Network provides free access to full-text scholarly articles and other research from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide.
-
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)A database of open access books from various academic publishers that submit content.
-
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
-
HathiTrustHathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
-
Project GutenbergProject Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired.