LibGuides: American Literature: Primary Sources

Newspapers

At GFU, you have full access (web and app) to the New York Times and Wall Street Journal. Other current and historical newspapers have varied access through databases subscriptions. For detailed information, see our specific research guide on newspapers:

Newspapers Research Guide

Making of America

Making of America was a partnership between Cornell University and the University of Michigan to develop a thematically-related digital library documenting American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

These collections are now fully searchable via HathiTrust.

HathiTrust
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Original MOA links here:

American Antiquarian Society Databases

As part of our EBSCO databases, we have access to the American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection. There are dozens of specific databases, but the link below takes you to a combined search interface. You can search individual collections by scrolling down and selecting the relevant Document Type from the drop-down menu. Some of your best bets include: American Literary Periodicals, Cultural Periodicals from the Southern U.S., 1797-1877, etc. Try the link below to get started and feel free to customize sources following the directions above.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection

Primary Sources & Historical Collections

National Library of Medicine: History of Medicine
The National Library of Medicine (NLM) is home to a constantly-growing collection of 28 million items and a variety of interrelated digital resources that deliver these collections and related data every day to millions of people around the world. Spanning ten centuries—from the 11th to the 21st—and originating from nearly every part of the world, this collection traces its roots to the early-nineteenth century. From this beginning, it grew through the energy and expertise of a series of dedicated and visionary custodians, moving through several buildings, and developing through a variety of governmental and legislative directives.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format. The cultural institutions participating in DPLA represent the richness and diversity of America itself, from the smallest local history museum to our nation’s largest cultural institutions.
Modernist Journals Project
The Modernist Journals Project digitizes English-language literary magazines from the 1890s to the 1920s. They also offer essays and other supporting materials from the period.
Independent Voices
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Archives West
Archives West provides access to descriptions of primary sources in the western United States, including correspondence, diaries or photographs. Digital reproductions of the materials are available in some cases.