Start Here
Note: The previous page included numerous reference databases and books. In addition to shorter, specific entries about individual authors, there are entire reference monographs dedicated to specific authors. You will also find academic research projects which include a myriad of primary and secondary sources. The box below features examples about one prominent American author, Herman Melville. To the right, you'll see examples of other projects meant to give you an idea as to the scope out there.
Herman Melville example
-
The Cambridge Companion to Herman Melville
Call Number: PS2387 .C28 1998Available in print only, single volume – The essays here have been specially commissioned for this volume, and provide a comprehensive overview of Melville's career. All of Melville's key works, including Moby-Dick, Typee, White Jacket, The Tambourine in Glory and The Confidence Man, are examined, as well as most of his poetry and short fiction.
-
Melville Electronic Library a born-digital critical archive that features scholarly editions of all versions of all works by American poet and novelist Herman Melville (1819-1891). With MEL’s innovative “fluid text” editing tool TextLab, visitors to the site can track Melville’s revisions in writings in manuscript and the revisions made by him and editors in his print editions. With the projected tool, MELCat, users will also be able to compare images, sources, and adaptations to Melville’s originals in a workspace for creating essays, exhibits, and presentations.
-
Melville's Marginalia Online Welcome to Melville's Marginalia Online, an electronic catalog of books owned and borrowed by American author Herman Melville, and a digital edition of marked and annotated books that survive from his library.
Author-specific Projects
-
Willa Cather Archive From the University of Nebraska – The Willa Cather Archive is an ambitious endeavor to create a rich, useful, and widely accessible site for the study of Willa Cather's life and writings.
-
Dickinson Electronic Archives A creative and critical collaboratory for reading Dickinson's material bodies and for featuring new critical and theoretical work about Emily Dickinson's writings, biography, reception, and influence.
-
Emily Dickinson Archive Emily Dickinson Archive (EDA) provides high-resolution images of manuscripts of Dickinson’s poetry, along with transcriptions and annotations from selected historical and scholarly editions.
-
Emily Dickinson Lexicon The Emily Dickinson Lexicon is a dictionary of alphabetized headword entries for all of the words in Emily Dickinson’s collected poems (Johnson 1955 and Franklin 1998 editions). The scope of the Dickinson lexicon is comprehensive. A team of lexicographers and reviewers has examined almost 100,000 individual word occurrences to create approximately 9,275 headword entries.
-
T.S. Eliot in Special Collections From Clemson University Libraries – This page provides links to special collections and archives containing Eliot materials available to researchers.
-
William Faulkner – Digital Yoknapatawpha Digital Yoknapatawpha is a collaboration of 35 Faulkner scholars from 34 colleges and universities with a highly experienced digital humanities team at the University of Virginia. The project aims to complete the analysis of every location, character and event in Faulkner’s Yoknapatawpha fictions—14 novels and 54 stories. As both resource and publication, the project is creating transformative pathways into and new critical insights about one of the nation’s central imaginative accomplishments. Faulkner’s quest to create modern art out of American history, his long engagement with major social issues like slavery and race, and with challenging experimental forms of narrating time and space provide a perfect site for constructing new modes of scholarly interpretation.
-
Ernest Hemingway Collection The Ernest Hemingway Personal Papers includes textual and audiovisual material donated to the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library by Mary Welsh Hemingway (Ernest Hemingway's widow) and additional donors over several decades. The collection spans Hemingway's entire career, and contains ninety percent of known Hemingway manuscript materials, making the Library the world's principal center for research on the life and work of this author.
-
Zora Neale Hurston Digital Archive The purpose of the University of Central Florida Hurston Archive is to create an academic web site that will provide a repository of biographical, critical, and contextual materials related to Hurston's life and work. Our location a few miles from Hurston's hometown of Eatonville gives us unique access to people who knew Hurston and historical documents related to her work in Florida.
-
William Stafford Archives The William Stafford Archives, donated to Lewis & Clark College by the Stafford family in 2008, contain the private papers, publications, photographs, recordings, and teaching materials of the poet William Stafford. The Lewis & Clark College Special Collections actively add to this collection by acquiring unique Stafford related materials.
-
Mark Twain Project Online Mark Twain Project Online applies innovative technology to more than four decades' worth of archival research by expert editors at the Mark Twain Project. It offers unfettered, intuitive access to reliable texts, accurate and exhaustive notes, and the most recently discovered letters and documents.
-
Edith Wharton Society The Edith Wharton Society Site is sponsored by the Edith Wharton Society, a nonprofit educational organization. From 1999-2005, Gonzaga University graciously provided the server space for this site; from 2006-2017 it was hosted through the generosity of Washington State University. The usual disclaimers apply: neither university is responsible for the content or opinions found on these pages.
-
Walt Whitman Archive The Walt Whitman Archive endeavors to make Whitman's vast work freely and conveniently accessible to scholars, students, and general readers. Drawing on the resources of libraries and collections from around the world, the Whitman Archive is the most comprehensive record of works by and about Whitman—and continues to grow.
-
Digital Thoreau The Readers’ Thoreau is a social network for reading Henry David Thoreau’s works collaboratively. Thoreau wrote in Walden that we should read books “as deliberately and reservedly as they were written.” Reading them in conversation with other readers is, we think, one way to follow that injunction.