Sample Search in Primo
The following searches were completed through the library's Primo system.
- "Inclusive Classroom" NOT "special education"Keyword search using "inclusive classroom" and using the NOT operator to remove articles that may have special education-related content. Limited search to most recent five years, articles only, and English. Searching everything, and limiting to English-language resources. Search retrieved 18 items.
- Diversity of PupilsLimited to last five years, articles, English, and Everything. Search resulted in 4 items.
Sample Search in EBSCO Articles
- "Diversity in Education" AND "elementary education" OR "secondary education" AND "teaching methods" OR "educational strategies"Searched in EBSCO Articles. Selected the following databases: Academic Search Premier, Education Source, and ERIC. Limited the search to the last six years, and peer-reviewed/scholarly articles. The search resulted in 18 items.
- "Diversity in Education" AND "educational practices" OR "teaching methods" OR "educational strategies"Searched in Academic Search Premier, Education Source, and ERIC. Limited the search to most current six years, and scholarly/peer-reviewed. Also, limited the search to search only subject tags for "educational practices", "teaching methods", and "educational strategies." Search resulted in 89 items.
- "Individual Differences" AND "Diversity in Education" OR "multicultural education"Searched in EBSCO Articles, selecting Academic Search Premier, Education Source, and ERIC. Limited the search to only scholarly/peer-reviewed articles, published in the last six years. The search resulted in 14 items.
Professional Education-related Magazines
Below is a representation of professional publications for educators. Articles in these publications are not scholarly or peer-reviewed. The articles are written by and for educators on a practical level. Most of these are searchable through EBSCO Articles and Education-related databases (Education Full Text, Education Resource Complete, Education Source, ERIC, and Academic Search Premier).
American Educator
American School Board Journal
Current Issues in Education
Education Next
Education Week
Exceptional Children
Focus on Autism and Other Developmental Disabilities
Special Education for Children with Disabilities
Teacher Education & Practice
Teacher Educator
Teaching Pre K-8
Teaching Tolerance
Top Education Databases
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowCovers all areas of education. Indexes more than 2,400 journals, with more than 1,400 full text and also contains full text for numerous education-related conference papers. From EBSCO.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowA guide to published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics, from 1966 to the present. Includes journal articles, conference papers, theses, curricula, etc. Now contains full-text ERIC documents.
- Proquest Education JournalsCovers 550 periodical titles, with almost 400 full text.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowLarge scholarly, multidiscipline, full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions. Contains full text for thousands of peer-reviewed publications, in nearly all academic areas of study.
Journals with topics related to Inclusive Classrooms
The journals listed below is a small representation of journals discussing issues related to inclusive classrooms. Many of the journals are available electronically.
- Journal of Autism and Developmental DisordersClick the View It link to find out where you can access the journal electronically.
- Journal of Research in Special Education NeedsClick the View It link to find out where you can access the journal electronically.
- Journal of Special EducationClick the View It link to find out where you can access the journal electronically.
- Journal of Special Education TechnologyClick the View It link to find out where you can access the journal electronically.
- Multicultural EducationClick the View It link to find out where you can access the journal electronically.