Encyclopedia of Muscle and Strength by J. StoppaniFinally, a research-based book that covers all facets of optimizing the development of muscle and strength. Encyclopedia of Muscle & Strengthis a comprehensive training guide and reference that provides -definitions of key terms and concepts, -evaluations of equipment options--including the top innovations, -explanations of the role and importance of each muscle group, -presentations of the best exercises for adding strength and mass, and -descriptions and examples of many types of workouts and programs and their effects. Choose from 255 exercises presented for 11 different muscle groups and the whole body. Proper technique for each exercise is tailored to the type of resistance used, be it free weights, weight machines, or body weight. Plus, each training program is rated according to workout duration, the projected timeframe for achieving measurable results, level of difficulty, and overall effectiveness. Muscle & Fitnesssenior science editor Jim Stoppani covers each topic in detail. His clear advice will help you conquer any problem or plateau you encounter. So build your knowledge base to build a better body. Encyclopedia of Muscle & Strengthis the ultimate resource for pinpointing and achieving the results you're seeking.
Call Number: GC546 .S74 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Encyclopedia of Women's Health by S. Loue; M. SajatovicDesignated a Reference Reviews Top Ten Print Reference Source 2005 The Encyclopedia of Women's Health meets this challenge by bringing together an impressive array of experts on topics from reproductive issues to gastrointestinal illnesses. This skilfully edited volume, informed by current health issues and health-care realities, offers readers practical information, historical aspects, and future directions, all meticulously researched and conveniently presented. Key features include: -Accessible A-to-Z coverage, including AIDS, birth control, hormone replacement therapy, teen pregnancy, sexual harassment, violence, body image, access to health care and more. -Entries spanning the medical, psychological, sociocultural, spiritual, and legal arenas. -Medical topics explored from both conventional and complementary perspectives. -Cross-cultural data illustrate issues as they apply to minority women, rural women, the elderly, and other underserved populations. -Special chapters on disparities in women's health and health care. -Historical overview of women in health - as patients and as professionals. -Suggested readings and resource lists.
Call Number: RA778 .E8525 2004
Publication Date: 2004
Encyclopedia of World Sport by D. Levinson; K. ChristensenThis three-volume work provides students and scholars with a historical and cross-cultural survey of sports from around the world, together with articles on such topics as violence, ritual, and the legal and medical aspects of sport.
Call Number: GC567 .E56 1996
Publication Date: 1997
International Encyclopedia of Dance by S. J. Cohen; Perspectives Foundation Inc., StaffSince the dawn of human history, dance has been a vital form of expression in virtually every culture. From the minuet to the tango to kabuki theater to square dancing, it is a part of the social fabric of all societies, as well as an important art form. Now, Oxford presents the firstreference to document all types of dance around the world and throughout history. In six volumes, with nearly 2,000 articles written by scholars from over fifty countries, the International Encyclopedia of Dance offers authoritative coverage of the full spectrum of dance, including theatrical dance, ritual dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Extensivehistorical and cultural overviews of many nations appear along with articles on specific dance forms, music and costumes, dance performances, biographies of dancers and choreographers, and much more. The set is alphabetically arranged, with an exhaustive index, full cross-references, and more than2,000 illustrations. Amazing in its scope and dazzling in its diversity, the International Encyclopedia of Dance is like no other reference work on dance. Accessibly written and arranged for use by a wide audience, it will be an essential addition to any arts and humanities collection.
Orthopaedic Sports Medicine by M. D. Miller; S. R. ThompsonThe revised, streamlined, and reorganized DeLee Drez#65533;'s Orthopaedic Sports Medicine continues to be your must-have orthopaedics reference, covering the surgical, medical, and rehabilitation/injury prevention topics related to athletic injuries and chronic conditions. Offered as a 2-volume set, it provides the most clinically focused, comprehensive guidance available in any single source, with contributions from the most respected authorities in the field. "A truly comprehensive and excellent Sports Medicine text that I believe will be useful to all practicing sport physicians.... provides the rigor and detail that is extremely useful when managing complex and demanding patients. The new electronic format only increases its utility." Reviewed by Prof Mark E Batt, Consultant Sports Exercise Medicine, Nottingham University Hospitals March 2015 Be prepared to handle the full range of clinical challenges with coverage of both pediatric and aging athletes; important non-orthopaedic conditions involved in the management of the athlete; rapidly evolving techniques; and sports-related fractures. Understand rehabilitation and other therapeutic modalities in the context of return to play. Take advantage of in-depth coverage of arthroscopic techniques, including ACL reconstruction, allograft cartilage transplantation, rotator cuff repair, and complications in athletes, as well as injury prevention, nutrition, pharmacology, and psychology in sports. Equip yourself with the most current information surrounding hot topics such as hip pain in the athlete, hip arthroscopy, concussions, and medical management of the athlete. Remain at the forefront of the field with content that addresses the latest changes in orthopaedics, including advances in sports medicine community knowledge, evidence-based medicine, ultrasound-guided injections, biologic therapies, and principles of injury prevention. Enhance your understanding with fully updated figures throughout. Take a global view of orthopaedic sports medicine with the addition of two new international section editors and supplemental international content. Access even more expert content in new "Author's Preferred Technique" sections. Find the information you need more quickly with this completely reorganized text. View the entire contents or purchase individual chapter sections online at Expert Consult.
Call Number: RD97 .D455 2015
Publication Date: 2014
Social Dancing in America by R. G. GiordanoThis two-volume set relates the history of the most popular social dances, where they began, which dances survived the test of time and why, and what attracted American men and women to social dancing in these periods. Unlike other books on social dancing that taught people How to Dance, this set not only describes the dances, but also how and why Americans danced. This two-volume set is the most comprehensive examination of American social dance from the first settlements in 1607 through the birth of the nation in 1776 and into the beginning of the 21st century. Social Dancing in America encompasses the global nature of the ethnic contributions to the formation of many unique American social dances. Those influences included American Indian, Spanish, Caribbean, African, European, and other ethnic cultures that created original American social dances such as the Lindy Hop, Rock 'n' Roll, the Twist, Disco, Breakdancing, and Hip-Hop. The set is also a celebration of the American spirit embodied among everyday individuals as they danced for fun, recreation, and family celebrations such as weddings. Social Dancing in America places social dancing in a historical, social, cultural, and political context. Volume 1 explores the integral role that social dancing played in the lives of Americans from the first settlements in 1607 through the the 19th century, often in the most unlikely of ways. For example, readers may be surprised to learn that George Washington was a well-known aficionado of social dancing, and that he incorporated the etiquette and manners of dances such as the Minuet as a means of diplomacy to secure European allies during the Revolutionary War. After his death, Americans continued to celebrate his birthday with a grand ball that included dancing. Volume 2 places social dance in a 20th-Century context, illustrating how social dancing itself paralled the social, economic, and cultural traditions of each era. For example, segregation and the Jim Crow mentality was cemented in place all over the United States, and for much of the century, dancing and dance halls were strictly segregated. Segregation forced a mass migration north, and with it came the transformation of Delta Blues music into an American original--Jazz. Jazz gave birth to the Charleston, and later evolved into Swing, which created the Lindy Hop. Later, with the advent of television, programming such as American Bandstand, Soul Train, Dance Fever, and MTV greatly influenced dance styles and modern trends such as Rock 'n' Roll, Freestyle, Disco, Breakdancing, and Hip-Hop.
Call Number: GV1623 .G56 2007
Publication Date: 2006
Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine by L. J. MicheliProfessional sports is a huge industry, with much riding on the knees of even a single football player. But the playing fields are also filled with an abundance of 'weekend warriors' who value their own knees no less, and with increased participation in sports and exercise programmes, in general, comes increased risk of injury. Sports medicine is relevant not only to collegiate and professional athletes and the health professionals who treat and advise them, but also to parents and their children, amateur athletes and aging people maintaining a fitness regime. These four volumes present state-of-the-art research and evidence-based applications. The work is broad ranging, covering all aspects of sports medicine with perspectives from the medical, behavioural, and social sciences and physical education. From A-to-Z, this work covers the spectrum with entries included from such areas as body systems, regional injuries (craniofacial, shoulder, knee and so on), special populations (female, pediatric, older athletes), sport-specific injuries, rehabilitation, nutrition, substance use and abuse, sports psychology, the team physician and more.
Publication Date: 2010
Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health by K. M. Krapp; J. Wilson; Thomson Gale StaffWritten for the general reader (though not meant to be a substitute for a doctor visit), this four-volume reference contains about 600 entries on diseases, disorders, procedures, immunizations, drugs, and development of children up to age 18. The entries, which were written mainly by freelance medical writers in the US, include cross-references and