Libraries
The intent of this particular research guide is to be useful to any Lewis scholar, not limited to one particular library. Access to books, journals, and academic databases will vary. Some advice:
- Learn about your public library's digital resources. They may have access to some of JSTOR or basic EBSCO or ProQuest databases. These will all be helpful in searching for articles and e-books related to C.S. Lewis.
- If you have access to an academic library (even as a visitor – make sure to search for visitor policies in advance or call to check), check out Atla Religion with AtlaSerials PLUS and ProQuest Religion Database.
- Utilize Interlibrary Loan (ILL) wherever you have a library card. ILL can fill gaps in terms of print book access or in requesting specific journal articles. Have your citations handy and learn the specific library policies and practices.
Journals
Note: not all of the C.S. Lewis journals listed below are freely available
. At George Fox University, we have print subscriptions for some of the titles below and intermittent digital access. At each institution, holdings will vary. We recommend doing a Journal Search. At the GFU library homepage (library.georgefox.edu), there is a link below the search bar (see screenshot).
How to find specific articles. Most individual issues make the Front Matter freely available. Once you have the desired bibliographic information, you can search for citations at your local library (public libraries too!). A reminder that if you don't have direct access, Interlibrary Loan is very helpful.
-
VII: Journal of the Marion E. Wade CenterThis link is for the contents list by volume.
The Wade Center's annual journal provides an interdisciplinary forum for discussion of the lives and works of the seven Wade authors (C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien, Dorothy L. Sayers, George MacDonald, G.K. Chesterton, Owen Barfield, and Charles Williams). -
Journal of Inklings StudiesThe Journal of Inklings Studies is dedicated to the work and legacies of the Oxford Inklings, the literary circle centred on C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien, Charles Williams and Owen Barfield. Established in 2005, the journal has been publishing some of the best scholarship in the field, as well as unpublished texts by its subject authors.
-
Mythlore: A Journal of J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, Charles Williams, and Mythopoeic LiteratureMythlore is a scholarly, peer-reviewed journal published by the Mythopoeic Society that focuses on the works of J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, Charles Williams, and the genres of myth and fantasy.
-
Sehnsucht: The C.S. Lewis JournalSehnsucht: The C.S. Lewis Journal, established by the Arizona C. S. Lewis Society in 2007, is the world’s only peer-reviewed journal devoted exclusively to the study of C. S. Lewis and his writings.
-
An Unexpected JournalAn outlet for imaginative and cultural apologetics, this open access journal was founded by a group of Houston Christian University alumni and students.
Wheaton College – Marion E. Wade Center
The Marion E. Wade Center at Wheaton College is an important destination for Lewis scholars. Their website features information about their resources (museum, reading room, archival collections, etc.) and how to schedule a visit. A few key links below:
-
Wade Center – Collection ListingsIncludes catalog, archival holdings, oral histories, manuscripts, etc.
Archives & Special Collections Holdings
-
Azusa Pacific University – Inklings CollectionThe collection includes more than 725 items and features primarily early-edition works, but also contains advanced publisher copies, manuscripts, letters, and photographs, as well as books from the personal libraries of the group’s members.
-
Oxford University Archives & Manuscripts – C.S. LewisSearch for letters, manuscripts, and other Lewis archival materials held at the Bodleian Library.
-
Southern Baptist Theological Seminary – C.S. Lewis CollectionNo finding aid listed, but a large collection of Lewisana. Contact their archival staff for more information.
-
Taylor University – C.S. Lewis Collection Finding AidOne of several collections related to the Inklings, the C. S. Lewis Collection features a variety of books and articles by and about Lewis. It also includes letters and manuscripts written by Lewis, as well as rare and first editions of his books.
-
UNC – Walter Hooper PapersWalter Hooper Papers, 1940-1995, approximately 3000 items. Correspondence of Walter McGehee Hooper (1931- ) and colleagues, friends, acquaintances, and admirers of C. S. Lewis. Included are a few letters from Lewis and his brother, Warren Hamilton Lewis, to Hooper. Some of the correspondence contains anecdotal material about Lewis, but most letters relate to Hooper's role as a trustee of the Lewis estate, biographer of C. S. Lewis, and editor of posthumous editions of Lewis's work. Also included are letters to Hooper about Hooper's own career and his assignments as chaplain to Jesus and Wadham colleges. Unincorporated additions to the collection consist chiefly of correspondence with family and various states of C. S. Lewis editions that Hooper edited.
-
Yale University Archives – C.S. Lewis CorrespondenceLewis correspondence held within three archival collections.