Welcome to the GFU Libraries!
Welcome to the George Fox University Libraries, and to the course guide for MMSC 520: Behavior Medicine! This guide serves as a quick reference, connecting you to relevant library resources specific to your course. It represents a small portion of the available resources and services available to you as a GFU student. Please contact me if you need additional information or guidance in your research.
Everything Search
Relevant Databases
- Access Medicine (McGraw Hill) This link opens in a new window
Access Medicine provides medical textbooks, cases, and study resources for medical education. Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine and CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment are included.
- DSM-5 Library This link opens in a new windowThe DSM Library provides access to the full text of the DSM-5, which is used by health professionals, social workers, and forensic and legal specialists to diagnose and classify mental disorders. Also included in the DSM Library is the Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, and DSM-5 Clinical Cases, and older ("legacy") versions of the DSM.
- Micromedex This link opens in a new windowEvidence based clinical resources to support informed diagnosis and treatment decisions. Unbiased, referenced Clinical Decision Support (CDS) for medication, toxicology, disease, and alternative medicine. Safely and reliably manage drug therapy for pediatric and neonatal patients with NeoFax and Pediatrics evidence-based drug information. RED BOOK for drug pricing, drug data, and manufacturer information.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowFrom the National Library of Medicine, PubMed includes MEDLINE and related databases. Over 18 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. PubMed may link to content we don't have online access to; please contact a librarian if you need assistance.
- Behavioral and Mental Health Online This link opens in a new windowDiverse collection of video and text for anyone studying or teaching in the area of mental health. Content includes clinical mental health demonstrations, actual therapy sessions, compelling documentaries on the human condition, psychotherapy transcripts, as well client narratives and reference works.
eBooks for MMSC 520
CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Psychiatry, Third Edition by ISBN: 9780071754422Publication Date: 2018-10-31
Essentials of Psychiatry in Primary Care: Behavioral Health in the Medical Setting by ISBN: 9781260116779Publication Date: 2019-06-05
Principles and Practice of Hospital Medicine, Second Edition by ISBN: 9780071843133Publication Date: 2016-12-05
DynaMed Database & Mobile App
- DynaMed This link opens in a new windowDynaMed is a clinical decision support tool that provides current and accurate, evidence-based content covering clinical questions.
- DynaMed appThe DynaMed app is free with the libraries' subscription to DynaMed, and is compatible with iOS and Android devices.
Top Medical Journals
- New England Journal of MedicineNEJM is a widely read and influential medical journal, whose mission is to connect readers to the best research at the interface of biomedical science and clinical practice, presented in an understandable and clinically useful format.
