Welcome to the GFU Libraries!
Welcome to the George Fox University Libraries, and to the course guide for MMSC 530: Human Anatomy. This guide serves as a quick reference, connecting you to relevant library resources specific to your course. It represents a small portion of the available resources and services available to you as a GFU student. Please contact me if you need additional information or guidance in your research.
Everything Search
Relevant Databases
- Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new windowVideo guide featuring head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques.
- Micromedex This link opens in a new windowEvidence based clinical resources to support informed diagnosis and treatment decisions. Unbiased, referenced Clinical Decision Support (CDS) for medication, toxicology, disease, and alternative medicine. Safely and reliably manage drug therapy for pediatric and neonatal patients with NeoFax and Pediatrics evidence-based drug information. RED BOOK for drug pricing, drug data, and manufacturer information.
- Access Medicine (McGraw Hill) This link opens in a new window
Access Medicine provides medical textbooks, cases, and study resources for medical education. Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine and CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment are included.
- DSM-5 Library This link opens in a new windowThe DSM Library provides access to the full text of the DSM-5, which is used by health professionals, social workers, and forensic and legal specialists to diagnose and classify mental disorders. Also included in the DSM Library is the Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, and DSM-5 Clinical Cases, and older ("legacy") versions of the DSM.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowFrom the National Library of Medicine, PubMed includes MEDLINE and related databases. Over 18 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. PubMed may link to content we don't have online access to; please contact a librarian if you need assistance.
- LWW Health Library: PA Core Education This link opens in a new windowEbooks covering topics in pharmacy, medical education, and osteopathic medicine. Also offers videos about patient assessments, case documents relating to ebook content, and images.
eBooks for MMSC 530
Histology and Cell Biology: Examination and Board Review, Fifth Edition by ISBN: 9780071476652Publication Date: 2010-04-05
Clinical Anatomy Cases by
Clinical Anatomy Cases integrates anatomy, physical examination, and medical imaging into a single, practical resource--an ideal presentation for today's students and residents. Carefully organized content presents normal, clinical, and radiologic anatomy, along with case examples, relevant physical examination information, and clinical pearls. Written and developed by students, residents, physicians, and instructors, Clinical Anatomy Cases is a valuable resource for coursework in medical, physician assistant, nurse practitioner, dental, physical therapy, occupational therapy, and other health programs as well as for board exam preparation and as an introduction to radiology during the transition to clinical rotations and practice. This first edition features: More than 80 clinical cases organized by region with corresponding systems overviews as well as typical lab tests, functional testing, and diagnostic imaging presenting full, integrated cases. A highly visual presentation with more than 320 illustrations, photographs, and images to lead students through normal anatomy and common clinical presentations and diseases. Specialty icons that identify case content for Family Medicine, Emergency Medicine, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Surgery, and Internal Medicine. Lists of differential diagnoses and high-yield clinical pearls that help students think through clinical scenarios. Co-authors of the best-selling anatomy textbooks Clinically Oriented Anatomy and Essential Clinical Anatomy .
ISBN: 9781451193671Publication Date: 2016-06-30
Anatomy Atlases
DynaMed Database & Mobile App
- DynaMed This link opens in a new windowDynaMed is a clinical decision support tool that provides current and accurate, evidence-based content covering clinical questions.
- DynaMed appThe DynaMed app is free with the libraries' subscription to DynaMed, and is compatible with iOS and Android devices.
Top Medical Journals
- New England Journal of MedicineNEJM is a widely read and influential medical journal, whose mission is to connect readers to the best research at the interface of biomedical science and clinical practice, presented in an understandable and clinically useful format.
