Welcome to your course guide for NURS 311: Pathopysiology! On this page you will find helpful resources, such as ebooks, databases, and a "Search Everything" search box. You will also find my contact information. I am here to help connect you to resources as you work through this course!
Additional Ebooks
Pathophysiology by
Develop a strong understanding of pathophysiology. Pathophysiology, 6th Edition explores the etiology, pathogenesis, clinical manifestations, and treatment of diseases and disorders. Each section focuses on the major alterations in the homeostasis of the body systems in order to provide you with a unifying framework. Current scientific findings and relevant global research are integrated throughout the book, with chapters organized by body system, beginning with an illustrated review of anatomy and normal physiology. Each chapter includes a discussion on the disease processes and abnormalities that may occur, with a focus on the pathophysiologic concepts involved. Written by leading educators, this text simplifies a rigorous subject with practical learning resources, an emphasis on critical thinking, and coverage of the latest scientific findings and relevant research. Plus, more than 1,000 updated, full color illustrations and photos throughout, give you a chance to visualize disease and disease processes and gain a clearer understanding of the material. Easy-to-read style is simplified by input from readability experts, and includes many tables, boxes, and figures to highlight key content. Student-friendly learning resources in the text include chapter outlines, bolded key terms, key questions, Key Points boxes, and chapter summaries. Pediatric and Geriatric Considerations boxes include brief analyses of age-related changes associated with specific body systems. A comprehensive glossary defines terms and includes audio pronunciations on the Evolve companion website. NEW! Global Health Care boxes inform you about global healthcare concerns such as HIV/AIDS, Ebola, Tropical Diseases and more. Includes prevalence, mechanism of disease and transmission. NEW! Over 1,000 illustrations help clarify complex pathophysiological concepts and make the book visually appealing NEW! Thorough chapter updates include the latest information on new treatment advances, 100 new figures for improved clarity, and much more throughout the text.
ISBN: 9780323354813Publication Date: 2018-02-20
Pathophysiology: a Practical Approach by
Pathophysiology: A Practical Approach, Third Edition employs a concept-based approach to teaching nursing students the complex, yet essential topic of pathophysiology. The Third Edition offers an innovative, user-friendly approach and serves as a practical guide to understanding pathophysiology. Both instructor and students praise this text for its ease of reading, use of dynamic images to bring complex content to life and coverage of current trends. Pathophysiology: A Practical Approach, Third Edition features updated information resulting from research and current epidemiological trends. The concept-based approach throughout aligns with the recommendations from both the Institute of Medicine and the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation to promote clinical reasoning and lifelong learning.New to the Third Edition * Additional pediatric content * Coverage of the active learning and flipped classroom approaches to teaching* Expansion of current and new case studiesIncludes Navigate 2 Premier Access
ISBN: 9781284120196Publication Date: 2017-03-15
Pathophysiology Made Incredibly Visual! by
Know the how and why of common conditions--and assess them accurately--with the newly updated Pathophysiology Made Incredibly Visual, 3rd Edition . Fully illustrated in the popular Made Incredibly Visual style, this essential guide offers easy-to-follow explanations for the causes and mechanisms of numerous common disorders, listing symptoms and indications for each. Use this as the perfect study guide for the NCLEX® or certification exam, to support class materials, and to absorb the pathophysiology principles every nurse needs to know. Absorb the expert wisdom and insights of this invaluable guide . . . Walks you through the development stages of numerous diseases and disorders , illustrating their cellular process, symptoms, and effects on tissue and organs Explains cell parts and their functions , as well as cell division, adaptation, injury, and stress and disease Hundreds of photos, illustrations, and diagrams explaining key concepts and providing clear direction on how to recognize common conditions Supports accurate diagnosis and treatment - Common disorders for each major body system, such as: Cardiovascular - Acute coronary syndromes, aortic aneurysms, cardiomyopathy Respiratory - ARDS, asthma, chronic bronchitis, lung cancer Neurologic - Alzheimer's, cerebral aneurysm, migraine headaches Gastrointestinal - Cholecystitis, cirrhosis, Crohn's disease Musculoskeletal - Carpal tunnel syndrome, herniated disk, osteoarthritis Hematologic - Anemia, leukemia, sickle cell disease Immune - AIDS, allergic rhinitis, rheumatoid arthritis Endocrine - Adrenal hypofunction, diabetes mellitus, metabolic syndrome Renal - Acute renal failure, acute tubular necrosis, pyelonephritis Integumentary - Acne, burns, pressure ulcers Reproductive - Breast, cervical, ovarian, and prostate cancer Special chapter features: Vision Quest - End-of-chapter quizzes in the form of puzzles, riddles, and multiple-choice questions, to help you retain vital information Risky business - Risk factors to be aware of while treating each condition How it happens - The physiological process that creates a particular condition What to look for - A list of symptoms for each condition Age-old story - Discusses how a condition develops and presents, according to the patient's age Memory board - Visual tricks that help you remember vital concepts and key treatments
ISBN: 9781496321671Publication Date: 2016-06-01
Databases
- Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new windowSource for evidence-based information designed specifically for nurses -- get answers to questions quickly, access care plans, watch video demonstrations, strengthen nursing skills, earn continuing education credits and much more.
- CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCINAHL with Full Text is an authoritative index of nursing and allied health literature. Subject headings follow the structure of MeSH and provide additional specificity, making it a great choice for searching nursing and physical therapy literature.
- DynaMed This link opens in a new windowDynaMed is a clinical decision support tool that provides current and accurate, evidence-based content covering clinical questions.
- Lippincott Premier Nursing Journals This link opens in a new windowOver 90 journals covering a range of nursing specialties.
