Welcome
We need to realize and affirm a view that “medicine” is one of the most difficult of arts. Compassion may provide the motive but knowledge is our only working power…. Surely we will not be satisfied with merely perpetuating methods and traditions; surely we should be more and more involved with creating them.
~M. Adelaide Nutting, Principal of the John Hopkins School of Nursing
Additional Evidence Based Practice Books
Fast Facts for Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing, Second Edition by
Designated a Doody's Core Title This is a pithy, pocket-sized resource for students and practicing nurses alike that delivers the foundations of evidence-based practice (EBP) and basic nursing research concepts in an easy-to-read, quick-access format. It demystifies the research process with straightforward information presented in concise sentences and bullet points. The book focuses on providing readers with the most practical information on EBP--including how to get the best evidence quickly using various databases and includes coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods. At-a-glance charts categorize research and simple examples demonstrate concepts. The second edition has been updated to reflect rapidly changing trends and stateof-the-art information in EBP, including such new research methods as narrative inquiry and storytelling. Using proven, class-tested content for both traditional and online courses, this updated edition includes guidance on how EBP is used to obtain and retain Magnet status, and presents examples of how health care providers are integrating EBP into their practice. The text differentiates between EBP and research, often a difficult distinction for students to grasp. Extensive coverage of how EBP can be used to improve patient care includes many practical examples. Every chapter includes the popular "Fast Facts in a Nutshell" feature, highlighting must-know information. The book also provides background information on defining the "compelling question" which is essential to finding the appropriate evidence-based material. New to the Second Edition: Reflects new trends, research methods, and state-of-the-art EBP information Includes guidance on how EBP is used to obtain and retain Magnet status Provides examples of how health care providers and hospitals are integrating EBP into their practice Differentiates between EBP and research Discusses how EBP can be used to improve patient care
ISBN: 9780826194060Publication Date: 2015-09-28
Reading, Understanding, and Applying Nursing Research by
Covers all of the steps of the research process for specific disciplines. Develops the skills to evaluate problem and purpose statements critically and analyze the parts of a study to determine the validity of the findings. Discusses the specific statistical procedures used to answer various research questions and/or hypotheses. Examines randomized clinical trials as a methodological 'gold standard' and explains why other types of design are so often necessary in nursing research.
ISBN: 9780803660410Publication Date: 2017-02-20
Introduction to Nursing Research by
Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.Evidence-based practice is the process nurses and other clinicians use to inform their decisions about patient care and delivery. Introduction to Nursing Research: Incorporating Evidence-Based Practice, Fifth Edition teaches nursing students how to integrate evidence-based practice and research into their work while considering the newest trends and research.Introduction to Nursing Research: Incorporating Evidence-Based Practice, Fifth Edition emphasizes EBP as a foundation for safe and effective health care. The text focuses on the connection between research and evidence based practice as related to the IOM, Macy report, Carnegie report, and federal health bill as appropriate. In addition, the Fifth Edition also discusses the impact of Magnet hospitals on research utilization, evidence-based practice, and moving evidence into practice. Key Features: Case studies which reflect the application of basic nursing care concepts Evidence-based practice components featuring sentinel events, medication errors, HIPPA, and quality improvement Evidence-based practice research searches compared to research expectationsCoverage of Plan-Do-Check-Act (PDCA process)Overview of tools such as Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI), Transforming care at the Bedside (TCAB) Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
ISBN: 9781284149791Publication Date: 2018-12-31
Nursing Images
Evidence Based Practice Image by mohamed_hassan
