It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Much Ado about Nothing: a Critical Reader by Deborah Cartmell (Editor); Peter J. Smith (Editor)This volume offers an accessible and thought-provoking guide to this major Shakespearean comedy, surveying its key themes and evolving critical preoccupations. It also provides a detailed and up-to-date history of the play's rich stage and screen performance, looking closely at major contemporary performances, including Josie Rourke's film starring David Tennant and Catherine Tate, Vanessa Redgrave and James Earl Jones at the Old Vic, and the RSC's recent rebranding of it as a sequel. Moving through to four new critical essays, the guide opens up fresh perspectives, including contemporary directors' deployment of older actors within the lead roles, the play's relationship to Love's Labour's Lost, its presence on Youtube and the ways in which tales and ruses in the play belong to a wider concern with varieties of crime. The volume finishes with a guide to critical, web-based and production-related resources and an annotated bibliography provide a basis for further research.
Publication Date: 2018-02-08
Much Ado about Nothing by Claire McEachern (Editor)Much Ado About Nothing presents a battle of the sexes in more ways than one: as both a lightning-fast skirmish of wits between two famously disputatious lovers, and a near-deadly conflict built on conventions of gender and male rivalry. Claire McEachern's new introduction brings this best-seller right up to date, analysing recent developments in criticism and the latest productions of this comedy.
Publication Date: 2016-01-28
A Midsummer Night's Dream
A Midsummer Night's Dream by William Shakespeare; Harold A. BrooksA Midusmmer Night's Dream is one of Shakespeare's most popular plays and is widely performed and adapted This edition provides a clear and authoritative text, detailed notes and commentary on the same page as the text plus a full introduction discussing the critical and historical background to the play and appendices presenting sources and relevant extracts. The Arden Shakespeare is the established edition of Shakespeare's work. Justly celebrated for its authoritative scholarship and invaluable commentary, Arden guides you a richer understanding and appreciation of Shakespeare's plays.
Publication Date: 1979-09-06
Our Moonlight Revels: a midsummer night's dream in the theatre by Gary Jay WilliamsThis text examines paradigmatic moments in the rich performance history of Shakespeare's play, from its early modern origins in the mid 1590s to postmodern stagings in the 1990s. The author aims to write in a lucid and engaging style and his book should appeal to a broad readership - from novice Shakespeareans, to eager readers of history, to pedants.
Call Number: PR2827 .W59 1997
Publication Date: 2002-11-01
The Tempest: A Critical Reader by Virginia Mason VaughanThe Tempest, the last play Shakespeare wrote without a collaborator, has become a key text in school and university curricula, not simply in early modern literature courses but in postcolonial and history programs as well. One of Shakespeare's most frequently performed plays, The Tempest is also of great interest to a general audience. This volume will outline the play's most important critical issues and suggest new avenues of research in a format accessible to students, teachers, and the general reader.
Publication Date: 2014-11-20
The Tempest by Alden T. VaughanThe Tempest is one of Shakespeare's most popular plays, both in the classroom and in the theatre, and this revision brings the Arden 3 edition right up-to-date. A completely new section of the introduction discusses new thinking about Shakespeare's sources for the play and examines his treatment of colonial themes, as well as covering key productions since this edition was first published in 1999. Most importantly it looks at Julie Taymor's ground-breaking 2010 film starring Helen Mirren as Prospera. Alden and Virginia Vaughan's edition of The Tempest is much valued for its authority and originality and their revision brings it up-to-date, making it even more relevant and useful to students and theatre practitioners.
Publication Date: 2011-12-06
Romeo and Juliet
Romeo and Juliet: a Critical Reader by Julia LuptonUniquely, this guide analyses the play's critical and performance history and recent criticism, as well as including five essays offering radically new paths for contemporary interpretation. The subject matter of these essays is rich and diverse, ranging across the play's philosophical identification of sexual love with self-realization, the hermeneutic implications of an editor's textual choices, the minor characters of the play in relation to Renaissance performance traditions, Romeo and Juliet in opera and ballet, and the play's Italian sources and afterlives. The guide also contains a chapter on the key resources available, including scholarly editions and easily available DVDs, and discusses the ways in which they can be used in the classroom to aid understanding and provoke further debate. Edited by leading scholar Julia Reinhard Lupton, this is an essential guide for both students and scholars of Shakespeare.
Othello: a Critical Reader by Robert C. EvansOthello has long been, and remains, one of Shakespeare's most popular works. It is a favourite work of scholars, students, and general readers alike. Perhaps more than any other of Shakespeare's tragedies, this one seems to speak most clearly to contemporary readers and audiences, partly because it deals with such pressing modern issues as race, gender, multiculturalism, and the ways love, jealousy, and misunderstanding can affect relations between romantic partners. The play also features Iago, one of Shakespeare's most mesmerizing and puzzling villains. This guide offers students and scholars an introduction to the play's critical and performance history, including notable stage productions and film versions. It includes a keynote chapter outlining major areas of current research on the play and four new critical essays. Finally, a guide to critical, web-based and production-related resources and an annotated bibliography provide a basis for further research.
Publication Date: 2015-08-27
Othello by William Shakespeare; E. A. J. HonigmannIn a period of ten years Shakespeare wrote a series of tragedies that established him, by universal consent, in the front rank of the world's dramatists. Critics have praised either King Lear or Hamlet as the greatest of these. Ernst Honigmann, in the most significant edition of the play for a generation, asks- why not Othello? The third of the mature tragedies, it contains perhaps the best plot, two of Shakespeare's most original characters, the most powerful scene in any of the plays, and poetry second to none. This edition sheds new light on the text of the play as we have come to know it and on our knowledge of its early history. Honigmann examines the major critical issues, the play in performance and the relationship between reading it and seeing it. He also explores topics such as its date, sources, and the conundrum of 'double time'.
Call Number: PR2829.A2 H65 2006
Publication Date: 1996-10-24
Measure for Measure
Measure for Measure by William ShakespeareFolger Shakespeare Library The world's leading center for Shakespeare studies Freshly edited text based on the best early printed version of the play Full explanatory notes conveniently placed on pages facing the text of the play Scene-by-scene plot summaries A key to famous lines and phrases An introduction to reading Shakespeare's language An essay by leading Shakespeare scholar, Christy Desmet, providing a modern perspective on the play Illustrations from the Folger Shakespeare Library's vast holdings of rare books The Folger Shakespeare Library in Washington, D.C., is home to the world's largest collection of Shakespeare's printed works, and a magnet for Shakespeare scholars from around the globe. In addition to exhibitions open to the public throughout the year, the Folger offers a full calendar of performances and programs.
Macbeth: A Critical Reader by John DrakakisARDEN RENAISSANCE DRAMA GUIDES offer students and academics practical and accessible introductions to the critical and performance contexts of key Elizabethan and Jacobean plays. Essays from leading international scholars provide invaluable insights into the text by presenting a range of critical perspectives, making the books ideal companions for study and research. Key features include: Essays on the play's critical and performance history A keynote essay on current research and thinking about the play A selection of new essays by leading scholars A survey of resources to direct students' further reading about the play in print and online Regularly performed and studied, Macbeth is not only one of Shakespeare's most popular plays but also provides us with one of the literary canon's most compellingly conflicted tragic figures. This guide offers fresh new ways into the play.
Publication Date: 2013-09-12
Macbeth by Sandra ClarkMacbeth is one of Shakespeare's most performed and studied tragedies. This major new Arden edition offers students detailed on-page commentary notes highlighting meaning and theatrical ideas and themes, as well as an illustrated, lengthy introduction setting the play in its historical, theatrical and critical context and outlining the recent debates about Middleton's possible co-authorship of some scenes. A comprehensive and informative edition ideal for students and teachers seeking to explore the play in depth, whether in the classroom or on the stage.
Call Number: PR2823.A2 C53 2015
Publication Date: 2015-02-26
Henry IV Part 1
1 Henry IV: A Critical Guide by Stephen LongstaffeI Henry IV has always been one of Shakespeare's most popular plays and this critical guide offers a comprehensive guide to the wide range of criticism on the play and its central figures, including Falstaff. It introduces the play's critical and performance history, including notable stage productions alongside TV, film and radio versions. It includes a keynote chapter outlining major areas of current research on the play and four new critical essays. Finally, a guide to critical, web-based and production-related resources and an annotated bibliography provide a basis for further individual research.
Hamlet: a Critical Reader by Ann ThompsonHamlet remains the most-studied of all Shakespeare's great tragedies. This collection of newly-commissioned essays gives readers an overview of past critical views of the play as well as new writing about the play from today's leading scholars. The range of perspectives offered makes the book an invaluable companion to anyone studying the play at an advanced level. The final chapter on learning and teaching resources is particularly useful as a guide for further study.
Publication Date: 2016-04-21
Hamlet by Ann ThompsonThe core of the ground-breaking, three text edition, this self-contained, free-standing volume gives readers the Second Quarto text (1604-5) and includes in its Introduction, notes and Appendices all the reader might expect to find in any standard Arden edition. As well as a full, illustrated Introduction to the play's historical, cultural and performance contexts and a thorough survey of critical approaches to the play, an appendix contains the additional passages found only in the 1623 text."The new Arden Hamlet is a pathbreaking edition, one that promises to change irrevocably our understanding of Shakespeare's greatest play."- Professor James Shapiro, author of 1599: A Year in the Life of William Shakespeare'Hamlet's latest editors have undertaken a heroic task with great skill and thoroughnesss.' - Stanley Wells, The Observer"(The) new Arden Hamlet is quite simply the most comprehensive edition of the play currently available, a status I suspect it will enjoy for many years to come" - The British Theatre Guide"Stunning! There is absolutely no doubt about this being the text to buy if you are studying the play at A Level. And the same stands for those students who will be studying the play at university. This critical edition gives the reader the Second Quarto Text (1604-1605), annotated with intelligence and care, a wealth of historical and cultural references and a survey of different critical approaches to the play."- The Use of English, The English Association
Call Number: PR2807.A2 T46 2006
Publication Date: 2006-03-21
Shakespeare's Hamlet: The Relationship Between Text and Film by Samuel CrowlHamlet is Shakespeare's signature work, the most often produced play in the western literary canon, and a fertile global source for film adaptation. This study seeks to understand a variety of cinematic approaches to translating Shakespeare's 'words, words, words' into film's particular grammar and rhetoric. The book focuses on the importance of the screenplay, film score, setting, cinematography and editing as the director and his team find their unique way of adapting Shakespeare from text to screen. Crowl concentrates on two sharply contrasting film versions of Hamlet by Laurence Olivier (1948) and Kenneth Branagh (1996). Those films are placed in their particular post World War II and post Cold War political and cultural contexts to reveal how those contexts shaped the aesthetic choices made by their directors and stars. Olivier and Branagh are two crucial figures in the history of film adaptations of Shakespeare. Olivier's Hamlet is the only film version of a Shakespeare play to win the Academy Award for Best Picture, and Branagh led the revival of Shakespeare on film in the 1990s and has directed more Shakespeare films, five, than any other director in the history of the genre. Their Hamlet films influenced those which followed and this book traces that influence through subsequent Hamlet films made by directors in Germany, Russia, Italy, Japan, and China as well as by those in England and America. Crowl's Hamlet volume joins others in the Screen Adaptations series devoted to The Tempest, King Lear, and Romeo and Juliet.