Key Databases
- Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Why Search Here?You need to find literature in anthropology, criminology, economics, international relations, political science, public policy, social work, or sociology. Especially useful if your topic falls under more than one of those topics.What's Included?Abstracts, indexing, and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, and dissertations in the fields of politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education
- SocINDEX This link opens in a new window Why Search Here?You are looking for literature in sociology or social work. This is the authoritative platform for sociology and includes leading social work journals.What's Included?Articles from over 3000 journals, most of which are peer-reviewed.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window Why Search Here?This is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Users can limit a search by psychology-related categories, including age group, methodology, classification codes and population groups.What's Included?Indexes scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Journal coverage spans from the 1800s to the present.
Additional Databases
- Google Scholar (Find it @ George Fox) This link opens in a new window Why Search Here?You want to run an efficient, interdisciplinary search of academic literature across the web. Scholar integrates with other academic resources and citation tools.What's Included?Freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across a wide array of publishing formats and disciplines. This link includes the setting to connect search results to George Fox holdings (Find it @ George Fox links).Learn more in our Google Scholar guide. (https://libguides.georgefox.edu/GoogleScholar).
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Why Search Here? You are conducting research in the medical sciences, biology, engineering, or other STEM fields. Powerful searching available with the MeSH index of subject headings, which is available in its most browsable form via PubMed. What's Included? Abstracting and indexing database for articles relating to health science, the allied health fields, and the biological and physical sciences. PubMed is a version of the database MEDLINE that has been made freely available by the National Library of Medicine, and which includes some additional content. Full text links provide access to George Fox-owned content and/or help you to place an Interlibrary Loan request.
- Education Source This link opens in a new window Why Search Here?This is the broadest database we offer to search explicitly on education topics across grades and educator roles. Particularly useful for the additional indexing and description of its contents.What's Included?Provides access to research journal articles, trade and professional publications, monographs, conference papers, and more. Includes most, but not all of the journals indexed in ERIC.
- CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window Why Search Here?You want to search the medical science literature with a built-in focus on nursing and allied health articles. You can use MeSH subject terms in your search.What's Included?Articles from thousands of the top nursing and allied health journals including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association.
- Statista This link opens in a new window Why Search Here?You need statstics or data from reputable sources, including demographic surveys, marketing and industry information, political surveys, and other survey-based data. A truly broad collection of information.What's Included?Statistics, reports, and insights on over 80,000 topics from 22,500 sources in 170 industries and around the globe.
Overview
Welcome to your SWKG 685 Children's Issues course guide!
The tabs above will guide and direct in providing resources for your course and general research needs. I am happy to assist with your research needs, whether it's determining appropriate sources to consult, help with focusing your topic, database searches, tracking down those "hard to find" references and resources, and/or overall research strategy.
You may find additional resources not listed in the course guide by going to the Social Work Subject Guide.
The Social Work Student's Guide to Research Handbook (2nd ed.) may also be a useful resource.
Video - An Intro to the George Fox Library Website (2:37)
Child Abuse Cases in U.S by Race/Ethnicity in 2013
Reference Citation: US Department of Health and Human Services, & Administration for Children & Families. (n.d.). Child abuse rate in the U.S. in 2013, by race/ethnicity of the victim. In Statista - The Statistics Portal. Retrieved January 25, 2016, from http://www.statista.com/statistics/254857/child-abuse-rate-in-the-us-by-race-ethnicity/.
Poverty Rate in the United States, 1990 to 2014
Reference Citation: US Census Bureau. (n.d.). Poverty rate in the United States from 1990 to 2014. In Statista - The Statistics Portal. Retrieved January 25, 2016, from http://www.statista.com/statistics/200463/us-poverty-rate-since-1990/.
