LibGuides: GCEP 566 Research Methods and Statistics: Find Articles

Video - EBSCOhost New UI - Advanced Search: 3: 27

Using the Result List on the New EBSCO User Interface 3:14

Intro to the New EBSCOhost Interface at George Fox University - 9min.

Video - MyEBSCO and the Dashboard in New EBSCO User Interfaces 4 min.34 sec.

View the video and visit the EBSCO Help page on How to Use the My EBSCOHost Folder.

Find Journal Articles at George Fox Library

Required Article Readings (For some GCEP 566 classes, check instructor's syllabus)

Crane, R. D., and Hafen Jr., M. (2002). Meeting the needs of evidence-based practice in family therapy: Developing the scientist-practitioner model. Journal of Family Therapy, 24, 113-124.
Abstract: Effective models of clinical training have been and continue to be a primary topic of discussion in the field of family therapy, particularly given the needs of evidence-based practice. This article outlines the major historical and contemporary struggles of one such model of clinical training and practice: the scientist-practitioner model. Throughout the article, the principles of the scientist-practitioner model and evidence-based practices are compared and contrasted. Suggestions for overcoming the contemporary challenges faced by the scientist-practitioner in a family therapy practice or in an educational environment are discussed. [ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]
Crane, D. R., Wampler, K. S., Sprenkle, D. H., Sandberg, J. G., & Hovestadt, A. J. (2002). The scientist practitioner model in marriage and family therapy doctoral programs: Current status. Journal of Marital and Family Therapy, 28(1), 75-83.
Abstract: We discuss the status of the scientist—practitioner model in marriage and family therapy (MFT) doctoral programs. Issues discussed include a lack of faculty research role models in doctoral programs, “farming out” the majority of research courses to other disciplines, problems with curriculum, and how the culture of MFT does not support research. We also present suggestions for improving doctoral research training. The goal is to improve the quality of research training in doctoral programs. We hope that this will help change the culture of MFT to include research as one of its primary goals and greatest assets. Reprinted by permission of the publisher.
Hoppin, F. G. (2002). How I review an original scientific article. American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine, 166, 1019-1023.

APA Databases for Qualitative & Quantitative Research Articles with Methodology Feature

When seeking qualitative or quantitative research articles use the two APA databases linked below which include a Methodology limiter.

Reminder: Click the Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals box before starting your search. Find the box in the EBSCO interface under Search Options > Limit your results.

APA PsycInfo
This APA resource provides abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations (with library links to full text). Journal coverage spans from the 1800s to the present. More than 2,500 journals are currently indexed in APA PsycInfo.
APA PsycArticles
APA PsycArticles provides full-text for journals published by APA and affiliated publishers.

What is the difference between APA PsycArticles and APA PsycInfo?

APA PsycInfo contains abstracts from more than 2,500 journals published by many different publishers. APA PsycArticles provides full-text for a select number of journals published by APA, the Canadian Psychological Association, Hogrefe Publishing Group, and the Educational Publishing Foundation. - APA FAQ

Search APA Databases & Use Methodology Filter

When looking for specific types of research studies, such as qualitative or quantitative research studies, first run your search simultaneously in the APA PsycInfo and PsycArticles databases. Next click "All Filters" to open the right sidebar and scroll down to choose Methodology.

Methodology Types

Below is the link to a downloadable PDF from the American Psychological Association that describes the different types of research methodology.
APA Databases Methodology Field Values

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Use the link above to search your topic and have Google Scholar recognize you as a George Fox user, and link to our full text subscriptions. Google Scholar indexes a broad array of scholarly literature and can be useful for citation counts (article importance/impact) and is helpful in learning terminology.

An excellent option for using Google Scholar to connect to library databases is described below.

Link your Google account to the George Fox Library, so the “Find it at George Fox U” links will always appear – even if you don’t start your search from our Google Scholar link above.

To configure your settings manually, use the following steps:
   1.   Go to https://scholar.google.com/
   2.   Click the three lines in the top left corner.
   3.   Click "Settings".
   4.   Click "Library Links".
   5.   Search for George Fox University. Check the “George Fox University - Find it at George Fox U” box.
   6.   Save your settings.

You can now continue to search and should see the Find it at George Fox U links next to articles we have access to. You may also try clicking the article title directly and if we have access may be taken to the full text article on the publisher's site.

Note: If you are unable to access the full text of an article directly from Google Scholar, copy and paste the title into Primo, the main search box on our library home page. This applies to book titles shown in Google Scholar as well. Often the titles will be found in Primo and if not, the title record will allow you to sign in and request the article via Interlibrary loan. You should not have to pay for access to an article while at George Fox.

APA Methodology Video 4:34

Use with APA PsycInfo and APA PsycArticles databases.