Google Scholar
- Google Scholar
Use the link above to search your topic and have Google Scholar recognize you as a George Fox user, and link to our full text subscriptions. Google Scholar indexes a broad array of scholarly literature and can be useful for citation counts (article importance/impact) and is helpful in learning terminology.
An excellent option for using Google Scholar to connect to library databases is described below.
Link your Google account to the George Fox Library, so the “Find it at George Fox U” links will always appear – even if you don’t start your search from our Google Scholar link above.
To configure your settings manually, use the following steps:
1. Go to https://scholar.google.com/
2. Click the three lines in the top left corner.
3. Click "Settings".
4. Click "Library Links".
5. Search for George Fox University. Check the “George Fox University - Find it at George Fox U” box.
6. Save your settings.
You can now continue to search and should see the Find it at George Fox U links next to articles we have access to. You may also try clicking the article title directly and if we have access may be taken to the full text article on the publisher's site.
Note: If you are unable to access the full text of an article directly from Google Scholar, copy and paste the title into Primo, the main search box on our library home page. This applies to book titles shown in Google Scholar as well. Often the titles will be found in Primo and if not, the title record will allow you to sign in and request the article via Interlibrary loan. You should not have to pay for access to an article while at George Fox.
Literature Review
- Purdue OWL: Graduate Writing Workshop: Literature ReviewThe literature review, whether embedded in an introduction or standing as an independent section, is often one of the most difficult sections to compose in academic writing. A literature review requires the writer to perform extensive research on published work in one’s field in order to explain how one’s own work fits into the larger conversation regarding a particular topic. This task requires the writer to spend time reading, managing, and conveying information; the complexity of literature reviews can make this section one of the most challenging parts of writing about one’s research. This handout will provide some strategies for revising literature reviews.
Social Work-related Journals
The following document is listing of the journals related to social work, social services, human welfare, public welfare, and other related subjects. Most journals are searchable through GFU Primo. The few that do not have full text available electronically are marked with an "*" at the end of the journal title. Articles from these journals will need to be requested through interlibrary loan. Log in to Primo and your interlibrary loan account to request the article.
Advanced Primo Search
Using the Advanced Primo Search from the library home page is an excellent way to start your research. Below is a screenshot of an Advanced Primo Search and the search criteria used to run the search. This specific search returned over 1300 articles published in peer-reviewed journals published within the last 10 years. After running your search remember to select the Peer-reviewed Journals filter from the left sidebar. Example from the search in screenshot below: Browse the list of results from this link.
Social Work Search in EBSCO Databases
The search below returned over 1,000 Scholarly peer-reviewed articles published within the last 10 years, which can be browsed from here.
Social Work Databases
The databases listed below are the primary EBSCO Social Work-related databases. However, since social work crosses many disciplinary boundaries, you may also wish to run an Advanced Primo search, which would allow for specific types of materials to be found in a multidisciplinary database.
- SocINDEX This link opens in a new windowSocINDEX is the authoritative bibliographic database for sociology research. Indexing covers leading social work journals.
- Academic Search PremierThe world's largest scholarly, multidiscipline, full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions. Contains full text for more than 4,600 peer-reviewed publications, in nearly all academic areas of study.
- Applied Social Sciences IndexSpans the literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. The database abstracts and indexes over 500 journals, from more than 16 countries.
- International Bibliography of the Social SciencesThis database includes over 3 million references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is international in coverage.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new windowProvides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
- PTSDpubsThis bibliographic database, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.
- Social Science JournalsIncludes hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.
- Social Services AbstractsThe database abstracts and indexes thousands of serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews documenting the current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development.