Print Dictionaries
Dictionary of Engineering by
This reference contains 15,000 engineering terms, some with multiple definitions. Each definition is identified by the field in which it is primarily used. An appendix contains conversion tables and SI units.
Call Number: TA9 .M35 1997Publication Date: 1997
Dictionary of Materials and Testing by
Advances in the fields of materials and testing have introduced hundreds of concepts and terms. This second edition of the Dictionary of Materials and Testing, emphasizes ""engineered"" materials that can withstand stress or unusual environments for an extended period of time.
Call Number: TA402 .D55 2000Publication Date: 2000
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Electrical and Computer Engineering by
Derived from the content of the respected "McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms," 6th Edition, this quick-find resource provides thousands of definitions of words and phrases encountered in the fields of electrical and computer engineering. Additional features include: a pronunciation guide for every term, acronyms, crossreferences, and abbreviations, and appendices with valuable tables. Fields covered include: * Communications * Computer Science * Control Systems * Design Engineering * Electricity * Electromagnetism * Electrical Systems Engineering * "and much more "
Call Number: TK7885 .A2 M37 2004Publication Date: 2004
The Penguin dictionary of electronics by
"The Penguin Dictionary of Electronics is packed full of information on and authoritative definitions of the terms and abbreviations used in this complex subject as it moves into the twenty-first century - from address bus and daisy chaining to squelch circuit and wobbulator. Fully revised and updated for its fourth edition, it is the ideal source of information for those who need to understand electronics and its applications, whether students and teachers, technologists and technicians, or computer and audio engineers."--Jacket.
Call Number: TK7804 .P46 2005Publication Date: 2005
Wiley Electrical and Electronics Engineering Dictionary by
Electrical engineering is one of the largest professional disiplines in the world and as such has collected an enormous amount of unique terminology and jargon. This dictionary is the essential source of definitions of electrical engineering terms and acronyms used in todays electrical and electronics literature. It is meant to save time, to present the desired information in the place it is first looked up, and in a manner that allows the content to be more readily assimilated. Key features include: Contains over 35,000 detailed terms. Sponsored by the Institite of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, the world's largest professional organization and the creator of electrical engineering standards. Designed so that no cross referencing is required in order to achieve full understanding of terms.
Call Number: TK9 .K39 2004Publication Date: 2004
Online Dictionaries
Concise Dictionary of Engineering by
This essential reference defines the principle and most commonly used terms found in engineering documents and drawings across multiple disciplines and explains them in plain, unambiguous English. Concise Dictionary of Engineering: A Guide to the Language of Engineering also distinguishes how some terms take on different meanings in different engineering contexts--critical knowledge when working on collaborative projects with diverse elements and colleagues. Based on an edition developed for researchers and technicians at Lockheed Martin, each entry in this volume is written in clear, everyday English without confusing jargon and "techno-speak." The book is ideal for students, professional engineers, industrial personnel, managers and anyone else who requires a solid understanding of the language of engineers.
Publication Date: 2014
A Dictionary of Construction, Surveying, and Civil Engineering by
The latest addition to the Oxford Paperback Reference series, this A to Z is the most up-to-date dictionary of building, surveying, and civil engineering terms and definitions available.Written by an experienced team of experts in the respective fields, it covers in over 9,800 entries the key areas of construction technology and practice, civil and construction engineering, construction management techniques and processes, and legal aspects such as contracts and procurement.Illustrations complement entries where necessary and other extra features include a bibliography, appendices providing a list of commonly used conventions, formulae, and symbols, as well as entry-level web links, which are listed and regularly updated on a companion website.Its wide coverage makes it the ideal reference for students of construction and related areas, as well as for professionals in the field.
Publication Date: 2012
A Dictionary of Mechanical Engineering by
A Dictionary of Mechanical Engineering is one of the latest additions to the market leading Oxford Paperback Reference series. In over 8,500 clear and concise A to Z entries, it provides definitions and explanations for mechanical engineering terms in the core areas of design, stressanalysis, dynamics and vibrations, thermodynamics, and fluid mechanics. Topics covered include heat transfer, combustion, control, lubrication, robotics, instrumentation, and measurement. Where relevant, the dictionary also touches on related subject areas such as acoustics, bioengineering, chemicalengineering, civil engineering, aeronautical engineering, environmental engineering, and materials science.Useful entry-level web links are listed and regularly updated on a dedicated companion website to expand the coverage of the dictionary. Cross-referenced and including many line drawings, this excellent new volume is the most comprehensive and authoritative dictionary of its kind. It is an essentialreference for students of mechanical engineering and for anyone with an interest in the subject.
Publication Date: 2013
The Wiley Dictionary of Civil Engineering and Construction by
The Wiley Dictionary of Civil Engineering and Construction provides comprehensive coverage of a broad range of technical disciplines. The definitions are designed to be of use to professionals in architecture, engineering, surveying, building, construction, forestry, mining, and public works. Entries include terms, concepts, names, abbreviations, tools, and techniques common to these disciplines, and virtually all terms and their functions were supplied by working professionals and experts in each field. More than 30,000 definitions and descriptions, including many that are not covered in other dictionaries Written with the support and assistance of nearly 100 manufacturers, trade associations, government agencies, and specialists All terms arranged alphabetically; many grouped according to logical common topics; thoroughly cross-referenced All weights, volumes, and spatial dimensions presented in both metric and nonmetric values (conversion factors included) The Wiley Dictionary of Civil Engineering and Construction is an indispensable resource for civil engineers, contractors and subcontractors, architects, construction administrators, consultants, and students. It also offers assistance to professionals without technical training who need to become familiar with this terminology, including bankers, attorneys, insurers, regulators, and inspectors.
Publication Date: 1997
