Print Encyclopedias
ASM Handbook, Volume 1 by
A comprehensive guide to compositions, properties, performance, and selection of cast irons, carbon and low-alloy steels, tool steels, stainless steels, and superalloys. Contains 1,328 illustrations (photographs, charts, and graphs). More than 500 tables provide extensive data for alloy designations, compositions, and mechanical and physical properties. This handbook is the best single-volume reference work on the properties and selection of ferrous metals and alloys. It features contributions from more than 200 technical experts.
Call Number: TA459 .M43 1990Publication Date: 1990
Characterization of Materials by
Characterization of Materials (formerly Methods in Materials Research) provides comprehensive up-to-date coverage of materials characterization techniques including computational and theoretical methods as well as crystallography, mechanical testing, thermal analysis, optical imaging and spectroscopy, and more. Editor-in-Chief, Elton Kaufmann, Ph.D. is Associate Director of the Strategic Planning Group at the Argonne National Laboratory and has published approximately 100 technical papers in refereed journals and books. Dr. Kaufmann has assembled leading experts from academia, government, and industry to provide: * A comprehensive up-to-date collection of methods used in the characterization of materials * Articles on various methods from standard to cutting edge * Periodic online updates to keep pace with latest developments * A user-friendly format that is easy and simple to search and navigate Characterization of Materials is a collection of characterization methods that is widely applicable in the wide and diverse field of materials research irrespective of discipline or ultimate application and with which researchers, engineers, and educators must have familiarity. Methods covered include: * General Vacuum Techniques * X-Ray Powder Diffraction * High Strain Rate Testing * Deep Level Transient Spectroscopy * Cyclic Voltammetry * Extended X-Ray Absorption Fine Structure * Low Energy Electron Diffraction * Thermogravimetric Analysis * Magnetometry * Transmission Electron Microscopy * Ultraviolet Photoelectron Spectroscopy This reference work is also available as a convenient online edition. For information regarding the online edition, please visit: www.mrw.interscience.wiley.com/com
Call Number: TA404.2 .K38 2003Publication Date: 2003
CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook by
The CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook, Third Edition is the most comprehensive source available for data on engineering materials. Organized in an easy-to-follow format based on materials properties, this definitive reference features data verified through major professional societies in the materials field, such as ASM International and the American Ceramic Society. The third edition has been significantly expanded, most notably by the addition of new tabular material for a wide range of nonferrous alloys and various composite materials. For engineers making, selecting, or evaluating materials, this one, compact volume provides the ideal starting point. It is exceptionally easy to search-the authors have organized it according to materials properties, provided a key word indexing system, and placed many data sets in a convenient Selection Section where materials can be compared by property value, a feature ideal for design applications. A bestseller since its first edition, the CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook stands alone as a the consummate reference for data on the full spectrum of engineering materials.
Call Number: TA403.4 .C74 2001Publication Date: 2000
The Electrical Engineering Handbook by
In two editions spanning more than a decade, The Electrical Engineering Handbook stands as the definitive reference to the multidisciplinary field of electrical engineering. Our knowledge continues to grow, and so does the Handbook. For the third edition, it has grown into a set of six books carefully focused on specialized areas or fields of study. Each one represents a concise yet definitive collection of key concepts, models, and equations in its respective domain, thoughtfully gathered for convenient access. Combined, they constitute the most comprehensive, authoritative resource available. Circuits, Signals, and Speech and Image Processing presents all of the basic information related to electric circuits and components, analysis of circuits, the use of the Laplace transform, as well as signal, speech, and image processing using filters and algorithms. It also examines emerging areas such as text to speech synthesis, real-time processing, and embedded signal processing. Electronics, Power Electronics, Optoelectronics, Microwaves, Electromagnetics, and Radar delves into the fields of electronics, integrated circuits, power electronics, optoelectronics, electromagnetics, light waves, and radar, supplying all of the basic information required for a deep understanding of each area. It also devotes a section to electrical effects and devices and explores the emerging fields of microlithography and power electronics. Sensors, Nanoscience, Biomedical Engineering, and Instruments provides thorough coverage of sensors, materials and nanoscience, instruments and measurements, and biomedical systems and devices, including all of the basic information required to thoroughly understand each area. It explores the emerging fields of sensors, nanotechnologies, and biological effects. Broadcasting and Optical Communication Technology explores communications, information theory, and devices, covering all of the basic information needed for a thorough understanding of these areas. It also examines the emerging areas of adaptive estimation and optical communication. Computers, Software Engineering, and Digital Devices examines digital and logical devices, displays, testing, software, and computers, presenting the fundamental concepts needed to ensure a thorough understanding of each field. It treats the emerging fields of programmable logic, hardware description languages, and parallel computing in detail. Systems, Controls, Embedded Systems, Energy, and Machines explores in detail the fields of energy devices, machines, and systems as well as control systems. It provides all of the fundamental concepts needed for thorough, in-depth understanding of each area and devotes special attention to the emerging area of embedded systems. Encompassing the work of the world's foremost experts in their respective specialties, The Electrical Engineering Handbook, Third Edition remains the most convenient, reliable source of information available. This edition features the latest developments, the broadest scope of coverage, and new material on nanotechnologies, fuel cells, embedded systems, and biometrics. The engineering community has relied on the Handbook for more than twelve years, and it will continue to be a platform to launch the next wave of advancements. The Handbook's latest incarnation features a protective slipcase, which helps you stay organized without overwhelming your bookshelf. It is an attractive addition to any collection, and will help keep each volume of the Handbook as fresh as your latest research.
Call Number: TK145 .E354 2006Publication Date: 2006
International Encyclopedia of Heat and Mass Transfer by
This book serves as a first reference for professionals and students needing a range of information on heat and mass transfer. It covers all aspects, including primary processes, associated thermodynamics and fluid physical properties, and basic equations and their methods of solution. Topics also include details of the equipment associated with heat and mass transfer processes.
Call Number: TJ260 .I579 1997Publication Date: 1997
Online Encyclopedia
CIRP Encyclopedia of Production Engineering by
The CIRP Encyclopedia covers the state-of-art of advanced technologies, methods and models for production, production engineering and logistics. While the technological and operational aspects are in the focus, economical aspects are addressed too. The entries for a wide variety of terms were reviewed by the CIRP-Community, representing the highest standards in research. Thus, the content is not only evaluated internationally on a high scientific level but also reflects very recent developments.
Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of Earthquake Engineering by
The Encyclopedia of Earthquake Engineering is designed to be the authoritative and comprehensive reference covering all major aspects of the science of earthquake engineering, specifically focusing on the interaction between earthquakes and infrastructure. The encyclopedia comprises approximately 265 contributions. Since earthquake engineering deals with the interaction between earthquake disturbances and the built infrastructure, the emphasis is on basic design processes important to both non-specialists and engineers so that readers become suitably well-informed without needing to deal with the details of specialist understanding. The content of this encyclopedia provides technically inclined and informed readers about the ways in which earthquakes can affect our infrastructure and how engineers would go about designing against, mitigating and remediating these effects. The coverage ranges from buildings, foundations, underground construction, lifelines and bridges, roads, embankments and slopes. The encyclopedia also aims to provide cross-disciplinary and cross-domain information to domain-experts. This is the first single reference encyclopedia of this breadth and scope that brings together the science, engineering and technological aspects of earthquakes and structures.
Publication Date: 2015
Encyclopedia of Electrical Engineering Research by
This book presents current research in the field of electrical engineering. Topics discussed include voltage stabilisation using a storage capacitor; AC bridge circuitry for the capacitive position sensor inside the superconducting linear motor system; ferromagnetism in semiconductors doped with non-magnetic elements; spin transfer torque effect and its applications; fundamentals of half-metallic full-heusler alloys; electronics, spintronics and orbitronics and electric motor drives for battery, hybrid and fuel cell vehicles.
Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of Engineering Research by
This book presents current research in the field of engineering. Topics discussed include characterization of advanced structural materials by acoustic emission indices; applications of polymeric treatments in improving building construction materials durability; types of sustainable building design and evaluation tools; raman spectroscopy; mechanical study of metallic targets impacted by metallic rods; advanced systems for automatically detecting faults occurring in bearings; fault detection and diagnosis with statistical and soft computing methods and advances in the numberical modelling of fatigue crack closure using finite elements .
Publication Date: 2011
