Search Primo
- Advanced Primo Search (Library catalog)I recommend Primo Advanced Search for more control over your search for locations, print and eBooks, articles, and more related to your topic.
How to Find Books Related to Communications
Our collections go beyond the main stacks upstairs at the Murdock Library. When searching Primo, remember that:
- We have access to a large amount of e-books (6:1)
- You can request print books from other colleges and universities from around the Pacific Northwest via Summit.
- Unfortunately, electronic resources owned by other institutions are not accessible
For help using Primo, see:
Our print collection is organized using the Library of Congress Classification System. Books relating to Communications are mostly found under the H and P categories, but there isn't one central category. Some helpful subsections include:
| P1-85 | General Linguistics |
| P87-96 | Communication. Mass Media |
| P94.7 | Interpersonal Communication |
| HD | Industry, Organizational behavior, public relations, |
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You need a quick and credible answer, are gathering information about a new topic, looking for a list of recommended reading in an area, or looking for a definition or overview.What's Included?
Over 2 million full text articles from over 900 dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, popular and scholarly encyclopedias, quote books and atlases, plus a wide range or subject-specific titles covering everything from accounting to zoology. - Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You're getting started on a topic and want something more reliable than Wikipedia, or you're looking for a solid overview of a scholarly topic.What's Included?
spans 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.
Encyclopedia of Media and Communication by Call Number: Reference P87.5 .E53 2001ISBN: 0028653866Publication Date: 2013-04-12
Encyclopaedia of Mass Communication by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9789350439357Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Introducing Communication Theory: Analysis and Application by
Introducing Communication Theory: Analysis and Application, focuses on the links between theory and everyday experiences. This text uses an engaging writing style and a consistent, organized template to present the concept of theory and help students become insightful, critical thinkers. The Connect course for this offering includes SmartBook, an adaptive reading and study experience which guides students to master, recall, and apply key concepts while providing automatically-graded assessments. Digital * Connect®--The Connect Suite effectively engages students in the course so they are better prepared for class, more active in discussion, and achieve better results. Its innovative and adaptive technology addresses a wide variety of student and instructor needs with a rich database of assignable and assessable activities, each attached to learning objectives. Connect, part of the Connect suite, is a web-based assignment and assessment platform that features a number of powerful tools that make managing assignments easier for instructors and learning and studying more engaging and efficient for students. *Connect InsightTM--As part of the Connect Suite, InsightTM puts real-time analytics in your hands so you can take action early and keep struggling students from falling behind. Designed for your tablet or desktop computer, Insight is a series of visual displays providing at-a-glance information regarding how your section, students, and assignments are doing. * SmartBook--As part of the Connect Suite, SmartBook is the first and only adaptive reading and learning experience that changes the way students read. It creates a personalized, interactive reading environment like no other by highlighting important concepts, while helping students identify their strengths and weaknesses. This ensures that he or she is focused on the content needed to close specific knowledge gaps, while it simultaneously promotes long term learning. *LearnSmart--As part of the Connect Suite, LearnSmart is an adaptive learning program designed to help students learn faster, study smarter, and retain more knowledge for greater success. Millions of students have answered billions of questions in LearnSmart, making it the most widely used tool that's proven to strengthen memory recall, retain student attendance, and boost grades.
Call Number: Q360 .W47 2018ISBN: 9781259870323Publication Date: 2017-03-03
