Start Here – Best Bets for Communications Research
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowHighly recommend! JSTOR is so much more than an interdisciplinary database. Because of its deep backfile, it's a treasure trove of historical information across disciplines (including Communications).
Interdisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
This resource searches collections included in other EBSCO databases, meaning it searches across many disciplines at once. Use this for early research or for interdisciplinary topics. Also consider ProQuest Central or Library Search/Primo.What's Included?
Articles from over 13,000 journals and supplementary resources like monographs, reports, and conference proceedings across, science, social science, and the humanities. - ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
This database is actually a combination of many ProQuest databases, meaning it searches across many disciplines at once. Use this for early research or for interdisciplinary topics. Also consider Academic Search Premier or Library Search/Primo.What's Included?
Articles from thousands of journals, dissertations, working papers, reports, and more. Subjects include Arts & Humanities, Business, Health and Medical, Current Events/News, Science & Technology, Social Sciences, and Interdisciplinary. - Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You need to find literature in anthropology, criminology, economics, international relations, political science, public policy, social work, or sociology. Especially useful if your topic falls under more than one of those topics.What's Included?
Abstracts, indexing, and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, and dissertations in the fields of politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education - Arts & Humanities Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You are looking for scholarly sources and want something a bit more specific to the humanities than our general databases. This database features 550 full text titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.What's Included?
As well as over 460 full text scholarly journals from publishers such as Cambridge University Press, Johns Hopkins University Press, and Springer Nature, it also contains relevant magazines such as Vogue, the New York Times Book Review, and Sight & Sound and trade journals including Publisher’s Weekly and Canadian Architect. It is designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM.
Open Access Databases
- Arts and Humanities CommonsThe Digital Commons Network provides free access to full-text scholarly articles and other research from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide.
- Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)A database of open access books from various academic publishers that submit content.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
- HathiTrustHathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
- Project GutenbergProject Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired. Thousands of volunteers digitized and diligently proofread the eBooks, for enjoyment and education.
Newspapers
At GFU, you have full access (web and app) to the New York Times and Wall Street Journal. Other current and historical newspapers have varied access through databases subscriptions. For detailed information, see our specific research guide on newspapers:
Statistics
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You need statstics or data from reputable sources, including demographic surveys, marketing and industry information, political surveys, and other survey-based data. A truly broad collection of information.What's Included?
Statistics, reports, and insights on over 80,000 topics from 22,500 sources in 170 industries and around the globe.
Background Information
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You need a quick and credible answer, are gathering information about a new topic, looking for a list of recommended reading in an area, or looking for a definition or overview.What's Included?
Over 2 million full text articles from over 900 dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, popular and scholarly encyclopedias, quote books and atlases, plus a wide range or subject-specific titles covering everything from accounting to zoology. - Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You're getting started on a topic and want something more reliable than Wikipedia, or you're looking for a solid overview of a scholarly topic.What's Included?
spans 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias. - Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You are looking for coverage of current and prominent topics. We recommend searching this database after CQ Researcher.What's Included?
Full-text coverage of topics ranging from Terrorism to Endangered Species, Stem Cell Research to Gun Control. Features pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles that provide context, full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, including images and podcasts, links to hand-selected web sites, and more.
Streaming on Video
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You are looking to find videos available for streaming.What's Included?
Kanopy is a video streaming service that provides access to thousands of feature films, documentaries, and educational videos across a wide variety of subjects. - Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You're looking for documentaries, how-tos, or other non-fiction video content.What's Included?
More than 67,000 video titles on anthropology, business, counseling, film health, history, music, and more curated for the educational experience of all types of library patrons.