Encyclopedia of Applied Electrochemistry by K. Ota; G. Kreysa; R. F. SavinellWhile electrochemistry deals with the interrelation of electrical and chemical phenomena, applied electrochemistry is the interface between fundamental science and practical applications. It is vitally important for our industrial society of today and even more so for its future. A successful response to global challenges such as securing energy supply, developing energy-efficient and sustainable processes and materials, environmentally friendly technologies, or monitoring physiological processes for health care requires electrochemical research and engineering. The Encyclopedia of Applied Electrochemistry provides an authoritative compilation of entries dealing with all applied aspects of electrochemistry, including basic theoretical concepts, and instrumentation. As a unique, one-stop resource for sound and digested knowledge in this field, the Encyclopedia of Applied Electrochemistry comprises the first applications-oriented interdisciplinary work on the critical technologies underlying key advances such as energy efficiency (e.g. batteries for electric cars, etc.), green and sustainable chemical industries, new materials (corrosion resistant and low-friction), and biomedical sensors.
Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of Chemistry Research by G. R. Newmann; A. P. AlbertisThis book presents current research in the field of chemistry. Topics discussed include crystal chemistry of an atropisomer; construction and structure of metal-organic frameworks with specific ion-exchange property; chemical sensors and biosensors; non-specific chemical gas sensor arrays for environmental monitoring of odour emissions; green analytical chemistry; microwave assisted-separations; metal-catalysed electrophilic processes in ionic liquids; development of green chemistry processes for metallocomplex catalysis and the environmental impact of a lignite-fired power plant operation.
Publication Date: 2012
Industrial Organic Chemicals by H. A. Wittcoff; B. G. Reuben; J. S. PlotkinAn essential introduction to the organic chemicals industry--in the context of globalization, advances in technology, and environmental concerns Providing 95 percent of the 500 billion pounds of organic chemicals produced in the world, the petroleum and natural gas industries are responsible for products that ensure our present quality of life. Products as diverse as gasoline, plastics, detergents, fibers, pesticides, tires, lipstick, shampoo, and sunscreens are based on seven raw materials derived from petroleum and natural gas. In an updated and expanded Third Edition, Industrial Organic Chemicals examines why each of these chemical building blocks--ethylene, propylene, C4 olefins (butenes and butadiene), benzene toluene, the xylenes, and methane--is preferred over another in the context of an environmental issue or manufacturing process, as well as their individual chemistry, derivatives, method of manufacture, uses, and economic significance. The new edition details the seismic shifts in the world's chemistry industry away from the United States, Western Europe and Japan, transforming the Middle East and Asia-Pacific region, especially China, into major players. The book also details: The impact of globalization on the patterns of worldwide transportation of chemicals, including methods of shipping chemicals The technological advances in the area of polymerization and catalysis, including catalyst design and single-site catalysts Chemicals for electronics, with much new material on conducting polymers, photovoltaic cells, and related materials The discovery of vast reserves of shale gas and shale oil, altering long-term predictions of resource depletion in the United States and other countries Commercial and market aspects of the chemical industry, with coverage of emerging new companies such as INEOS, Formosa Plastics, LyondellBasell, and SABIC With expanded coverage on the vital role of green chemistry, renewables, chemicals and fuels on issues of sustainability and climate change, Industrial Organic Chemicals offers an unparalleled examination of what is at the heart of this multi-billion dollar industry, how globalization has transformed it, and its ever growing role in preserving the Earth and its resources.
Publication Date: 2012
Peptides from A-Z by N. Sewald; H.D. JakubkeThis mini-encyclopedia contains more than 1,500 alphabetical entries from the entire field of peptide science in one handy volume, as well as the technical terms, acronyms and concepts used in peptide chemistry. It also features the complete sequence of more than 800 peptides, numerous illustrations and numerous cross-references. Areas covered include: - biological peptides and small proteins - peptide hormones - pharmaceutical peptides - peptide antibiotics - peptide inhibitors - peptide reagents - peptide tags - structural classes - synthesis and purification - analytical methods - proteomics and peptidomics. Condensed yet accessible, only essential information is displayed, extensively linked via references to the recent scientific literature for further study.
Publication Date: 2008
Dictionary of Organic Compounds by J. B. BuckinghamThe Dictionary of Organic Compounds has built a worldwide reputation over its more than sixty years of publication as an indispensable reference work. The Sixth Edition is the most comprehensive yet-over 220,000 key compounds in either nine volumes plus two supplements or on CD-ROM. The Dictionary of Organic Compounds is perfect as a first point of reference for all organic chemists
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Chemistry by J. J. LagowskiComprehensive and up-to-date, this unique four-volume set offers readers a complete overview of the broad spectrum of general chemistry. It enables them to obtain a basic, yet thorough understanding of matter, the processes it undergoes, the principles that govern it, and the international cast of men and women who have been critical in the development of the science of chemistry. From elements, atoms, and molecules to sterochemistry, spectroscopy, and chemical bonding, its clear and concise explanations provide an illuminating and readily comprehensible introduction. Key presentations include forty element definition articles, each providing basic periodic table information and general information on the element in question. Ninety-five biographical articles deal with prominent chemists, while other articles provide additional historical context, particularly with respect to eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century developments.
Call Number: QD4 .M33 1997
Publication Date: 1997
Physical Chemistry Source Book by S. P. ParkerSetting the standard for excellence, this book in McGraw-Hill's new Science Reference Series offers in-depth coverage of physical chemistry in one convenient, easy-to-use volume. This handy source book is designed for professionals, educators, & students who need quick access to the latest, most authoritative information in physical chemistry. It covers all aspects of the subject, including chemical thermodynamics, electrochemistry, quantum chemistry, spectroscopy, diffraction techniques, transport processes, chemical kinetics, & surface chemistry in approximately 130 articles.
Call Number: QD451 .P49 1988
Publication Date: 1988
Van Nostrand's Encyclopedia of Chemistry by G. D. ConsidineScientists, engineers, and technologists in many fields need a knowledge of chemistry because of the importance of chemistry in diverse technologies. In addition, to "classical" topics of chemistry, the new Encyclopedia covers nanotechnology, fuel cell technology, green chemistry, forensic chemistry, supramolecular chemistry, combinatorial chemistry, materials chemistry, and proteomics. This fifth print edition has been revised and updated, and includes over 200 new articles, as well as 1,300 updated articles.