ARC
Need help writing a paper or preparing for a test? See the consultants at the Academic Resource Center, housed on the first floor of Murdock Library.
Resources
How to Succeed in College and Beyond by
How to Succeed in College and Beyond is an inspired guide to the undergraduate experience that helps students balance the joy of learning with the necessities of career prep. Includes a wealth of advice for getting the most of their undergraduate education and covers everything from high school prep, applications, financial aid, freshmen to senior year, juniors abroad, course selection, and extra-curricular activities. This is an indispensable resource for students and parents.
ISBN: 9781118974827Publication Date: 2015
Make It Stick by
Drawing on cognitive psychology and other fields, Make It Stick offers techniques for becoming more productive learners, and cautions against study habits and practice routines that turn out to be counterproductive.
ISBN: 0674419375Publication Date: 2014
Studying at University by
Studying at University includes strategies for making the most out of every experience. Addressing key issues like adjusting to University, working in small groups, library and computer resources, making the most out of lectures, and statistics. Includes tips on ways to develop memory techniques, coping skills and test anxiety.
ISBN: 9781847876584Publication Date: 2008
The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook by
The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook covers everything a student needs to know in the classroom. Includes everything from exam revision and e-learning to work-life balance. Covers core skills and tips and tricks to survive undergrad.
ISBN: 9780335234424Publication Date: 2010
The Secrets of College Success by
The Secrets of College Success combines easy-to-follow tips that really work with insider information that few professors are willing to reveal. With over 800 tips, this book will show you how to pick courses and choose a major, manage your time and develop college-level study skills, get on top of the core requirements, get good grades and avoid stress Interact effectively with the professor, match college and career and more.
ISBN: 9781118575154Publication Date: 2013
Useful Blogs and Videos
- The Learning ScientistsCognitive psychological scientists blog about the science of learning. Lots of study strategies are included here.
Manuals of Style (Citations)
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020ISBN: 9781433832154Publication Date: 2019-10-01Three copies in library collection, two at Murdock library (one on reserve and one requestable) and one at the Portland Center in Reference.
MLA Handbook by
Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements--facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date--that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more. With this focus on source evaluation as the cornerstone of citation, MLA style promotes the skills of information and digital literacy so crucial today. The many new and updated chapters make this edition the comprehensive, go-to resource for writers of research papers, and anyone citing sources, from business writers, technical writers, and freelance writers and editors to student writers and the teachers and librarians working with them. Intended for a variety of classroom contexts--middle school, high school, and college courses in composition, communication, literature, language arts, film, media studies, digital humanities, and related fields--the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook offers *New chapters on grammar, punctuation, capitalization, spelling, numbers, italics, abbreviations, and principles of inclusive language *Guidelines on setting up research papers in MLA format with updated advice on headings, lists, and title pages for group project *Revised, comprehensive, step-by-step instructions for creating a list of works cited in MLA format that are easier to learn and use than ever before *A new appendix with hundreds of example works-cited-list entries by publication format, including websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more *Detailed examples of how to find publication information for a variety of sources *Newly revised explanations of in-text citations, including comprehensive advice on how to cite multiple authors of a single work *Detailed guidance on footnotes and endnotes *Instructions on quoting, paraphrasing, summarizing, and avoiding plagiarism *A sample essay in MLA format *Annotated bibliography examples *Numbered sections throughout for quick navigation *Advanced tips for professional writers and scholars
Call Number: LB2369 .M52 2021ISBN: 9781603295611Publication Date: 2021-05-17
AMA MANUAL of STYLE, 11th EDITION by
The AMA Manual of Style is a must-have resource for anyone involved in medical, health, and scientific publishing. Written by an expert committee of JAMA Network editors, this latest edition addresses issues that face authors, editors, and publishers in the digital age. Extensive updates areincluded in the References chapter, with examples of how to cite digital publications, preprints, databases, data repositories, podcasts, apps and interactive games, and social media. Full-color examples grace the chapter on data display, with newer types of graphic presentations and updatedguidance on formatting tables and figures. The manual thoroughly covers ethical and legal issues such as authorship, conflicts of interest, scientific misconduct, intellectual property, open access and public access, and corrections. The Usage chapter has been revised to bring the manual up-to-dateon word choice, especially in writing about individuals with diseases or conditions and from various socioeconomic, racial/ethnic, and sexual orientation populations.Specific nomenclature entries in many disciplines are presented to guide users in issues of diction, formatting, and preferred terminology. Guidance on numbers, SI units, and math has been updated, and the section on statistics and study design has undergone a major expansion. In sum, the answer tonearly any issue facing a writer or editor in medicine, health care, and related disciplines can be found in the 11th edition of the AMA Manual of Style.
Call Number: R119 .A533 2020ISBN: 9780190246556Publication Date: 2020-03-02
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Call Number: LB2369 .T8 2018ISBN: 9780226430577Publication Date: 2018-04-16Physical copy in the Portland Center Library Reference Collection.
The Chicago Manual of Style
Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words. In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators. Other improvements are independent of technological change. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language. Key sections on punctuation and basic citation style have been reorganized and clarified. To facilitate navigation, headings and paragraph titles have been revised and clarified throughout. And the bibliography has been updated and expanded to include the latest and best resources available. This edition continues to reflect expert insights gathered from Chicago's own staff and from an advisory board of publishing experts from across the profession. It also includes suggestions inspired by emails, calls, and even tweets from readers. No matter how much the means of communication change, The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right.
Call Number: LB2369 .U55 2017ISBN: 9780226287058Publication Date: 2017-09-05
- Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new windowGuide to style, grammar, and usage for publications in the disciplines of theology, journalism, and the arts.