The Dictionary of Nutrition and Dietetics by K. E. DrummondHere at last is a dictionary that puts thousands of current nutrition terms at your fingertips. Written in plain English, this comprehensive dictionary covers all aspects of nutrition from medical terms to basic foods to such diverse dietetic practice areas as research, communications, and private practice.
Call Number: GV558 .D525 2006
Publication Date: 1996
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions by A. MosbyThis bestselling, full-color dictionary of health care terminology is well known for its combination of relevant, thorough definitions and vibrant color illustrations and line drawings that illuminate all subject areas. More than just a dictionary, you'll also find a comprehensive anatomy atlas, numerous useful appendices, and a new companion CD-ROM featuring a medical spellchecker, audio pronunciations, and English-Spanish phrase translations. The new 7th edition is thoroughly up to date with current clinical information and over 5,000 new definitions. Comprehensive, authoritative definitions - including major diseases, disorders, procedures, and drugs - offer the most accurate, complete information available. Nearly 2,500 colorful photographs and drawings illustrate all subject areas - more than 800 new! Large, clear type is easy to read. Pronunciations and eponyms for key entries assist the reader in learning and using terminology in everyday practice. British spellings of selected entries help users recognize alternate spellings. Helpful tables provide essential information at a glance. Color Atlas of Human Anatomy contains dozens of clearly labeled drawings. Hundreds of lab test definitions describe and explain key lab tests. A companion Evolve website provides hundreds of web links to help you find authoritative information online, as well as content updates and other helpful resources. 5,000 new definitions have been added, representing all areas of nursing, medicine, and the health-related professions, with special emphasis on definitions related to new drugs, health professions, changes in health care delivery, bioterrorism, and new technological developments. More than 10,000 definitions have been updated and revised to reflect current practice. All nursing diagnosis entries reflect the 2005-2006 NANDA terminology and the newest information for NIC and NOC. New and updated appendices cover JCAHO changes in documentation, functional health patterns, new nutritional information, and much more. Selected definitions - particularly those for major diseases, disorders, and procedures - have been expanded to enable the user to obtain detailed information quickly from a single source. Expanded definitions of over 70 additional conditions now contain full, detailed nursing process information. Updated, expanded drug entries include specific drugs currently on the market. New colored entry words and convenient thumb indexing make searching easier. All tables have been updated, and more than 800 illustrations have been replaced or updated. A new companion CD-ROM with helpful tools, including over 400 medical terminology questions, a printable Spanish-English phrasebook, an audio glossary containing pronunciations of over 25,000 terms, a full retail version of Medical Spellchecker software, and more.
Call Number: R121 .M67 2006
Publication Date: 2005
A-Z Guide to Food as Medicine by D. Kraft; A. DerMarderosianCan an apple a day keep the doctor away? The A-Z Guide to Food As Medicine addresses food folklore by exploring the scientific findings about physiological effects of over 250 foods, food groups, nutrients, and phytochemicals. Today, health care providers are fielding more questions from patients on how to help improve their nutritional health, which in turn can help to prevent disease. The guide#65533;is a dictionary-style reference intended for use by health care professionals to quickly and easily access information about the bioactive components in the foods and how diet can be manipulated for health benefits.
Publication Date: 2015
Dictionary of Sport and Exercise Science by C. Black Publishers Ltd AAn invaluable reference book for anyone interested in the fascinating world of sport, containing over 5,000 terms relating to sport and exercise science. Coverage includes anatomy, physiology, physiotherapy, biology, sports medicine, sporting rules and regulations, governing bodies, health and fitness and banned substances. * Definitions are given in simple English and enhanced with encyclopaedic entries to put words and phrases into context. * Ideal for GCSE and A-level students, trainee sports coaches, non-native English speakers studying/working in a sport related field for the first time, the general reader with an interest in health and fitness. * Useful supplements include anatomical figures, a body mass index calculator, British and International sports federations and a list of key industry contacts.
Publication Date: 2006
Food and Fitness by M. KentA good diet and regular exercise are the key components of a healthy lifestyle. Food and Fitness enables the reader to evaluate the claims made about different diets and types of exercise, in order to select the combination most suited to his/her needs. Organised alphabetically, the dictionarycovers all matters relating to diet and exercise, from dietary methods to food supplements, and sex and exercise to sports injuries. Subject areas covered include: Diets Food additives and supplements Health and fitness topics directly related to exercise Anatomy Energy-related terms Exercises for improving strength, flexibility, stamina, and weight control Training methods and principles Injuries
Publication Date: 1997
The Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science and Medicine by M. KentThe Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science and Medicine provides comprehensive and authoritative definitions of nearly 8000 sports science and sports medicine terms. All major areas are covered, including exercise psychology, sports nutrition, biomechanics, anatomy, sports sociology, trainingprinciples and techniques and sports injury and rehabilitation The dictionary will be an invaluable aid to students, coaches, athletes and anyone wanting instant access to the scientific principles, anatomical structures, and physiological, sociological and psychological processes that affect sporting performance. It will also be of interest to the generalreader interested in sports science and medicine terminology.