Orthopaedic Sports Medicine by M. D. Miller; S. R. ThompsonThe revised, streamlined, and reorganized DeLee Drez#65533;'s Orthopaedic Sports Medicine continues to be your must-have orthopaedics reference, covering the surgical, medical, and rehabilitation/injury prevention topics related to athletic injuries and chronic conditions. Offered as a 2-volume set, it provides the most clinically focused, comprehensive guidance available in any single source, with contributions from the most respected authorities in the field. "A truly comprehensive and excellent Sports Medicine text that I believe will be useful to all practicing sport physicians.... provides the rigor and detail that is extremely useful when managing complex and demanding patients. The new electronic format only increases its utility." Reviewed by Prof Mark E Batt, Consultant Sports Exercise Medicine, Nottingham University Hospitals March 2015 Be prepared to handle the full range of clinical challenges with coverage of both pediatric and aging athletes; important non-orthopaedic conditions involved in the management of the athlete; rapidly evolving techniques; and sports-related fractures. Understand rehabilitation and other therapeutic modalities in the context of return to play. Take advantage of in-depth coverage of arthroscopic techniques, including ACL reconstruction, allograft cartilage transplantation, rotator cuff repair, and complications in athletes, as well as injury prevention, nutrition, pharmacology, and psychology in sports. Equip yourself with the most current information surrounding hot topics such as hip pain in the athlete, hip arthroscopy, concussions, and medical management of the athlete. Remain at the forefront of the field with content that addresses the latest changes in orthopaedics, including advances in sports medicine community knowledge, evidence-based medicine, ultrasound-guided injections, biologic therapies, and principles of injury prevention. Enhance your understanding with fully updated figures throughout. Take a global view of orthopaedic sports medicine with the addition of two new international section editors and supplemental international content. Access even more expert content in new "Author's Preferred Technique" sections. Find the information you need more quickly with this completely reorganized text. View the entire contents or purchase individual chapter sections online at Expert Consult.
Call Number: RD97 .D455 2015
Publication Date: 2014
Jim Stoppani's Encyclopedia of Muscle and Strength-2nd Edition by J. StoppaniFinally, a research-based book that covers all facets of optimizing the development of muscle and strength. Jim Stoppani's Encyclopedia of Muscle & Strength, Second Edition, is a comprehensive training guide and reference that provides * definitions of key terms and concepts; * evaluations of equipment options, including TRX, BOSU, and kettlebells; * explanations of the role and importance of each muscle group; * latest nutrition information for losing fat and increasing muscle mass; * presentations of the best exercises, including body weight, for adding strength and mass; and * descriptions and examples of many types of workouts and programs and their effects. Choose from 381 exercises presented for 13 muscle groups and the whole body. Proper technique for each exercise is tailored to the type of resistance used, be it free weights, weight machines, or body weight. Plus, each of the 116 training programs is rated according to workout duration, the projected time frame for achieving measurable results, level of difficulty, and overall effectiveness. Past Muscle & Fitness senior science editor Jim Stoppani covers each topic in detail. His advice will help you conquer any problem or plateau you encounter. So build your knowledge base to build a better body. Jim Stoppani's Encyclopedia of Muscle & Strength is the ultimate resource for pinpointing and achieving the results you're seeking.
Call Number: GV546 .S74 2015
Publication Date: 2014
The Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine by E. H. OakesToday Americans participate in sports more than ever before, and with increased activity follows an increased chance of injury. Sports medicine is therefore no longer relevant only to college and professional athletes, but also parents, amateur athletes, leisure sportsmen, and aging people maintaining a fitness regime everywhere. Orthopedic surgeons, nutritionists, physical therapists, sports psychologists, athletic trainers, and exercise physiologists are just a few of the various professionals whose work with patients and clients may cross over into the field of sports medicine.. The Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine delivers more than 150 in-depth, A-to-Z entries that define and explain the many fields of specialization within sports medicine while providing broad coverage of the terms relevant to each discipline. Using everyday language, basic descriptions of various sports medicine terms introduce the reader to many important topics and provide an at-home reference that can supplement and accompany the information received from sports medicine professionals. Entries on individual sports detail their most common injuries and how to prevent them. Appendixes offer additional resources and directories of relevant organizations, as well as detailing safety tips by sport, common injuries by body part or area, nutrition information by sport, and five commonly misdiagnosed sports injuries.
Call Number: RC1206 .O355 2005
Publication Date: 2004
Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine by L. J. MicheliProfessional sports is a huge industry, with much riding on the knees of even a single football player. But the playing fields are also filled with an abundance of ′weekend warriors′ who value their own knees no less, and with increased participation in sports and exercise programmes, in general, comes increased risk of injury. Sports medicine is relevant not only to collegiate and professional athletes and the health professionals who treat and advise them, but also to parents and their children, amateur athletes and aging people maintaining a fitness regime. These four volumes present state-of-the-art research and evidence-based applications. The work is broad ranging, covering all aspects of sports medicine with perspectives from the medical, behavioural, and social sciences and physical education. From A-to-Z, this work covers the spectrum with entries included from such areas as body systems, regional injuries (craniofacial, shoulder, knee and so on), special populations (female, pediatric, older athletes), sport-specific injuries, rehabilitation, nutrition, substance use and abuse, sports psychology, the team physician and more.
Publication Date: 2010
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health by J. Longe"In the fully updated third edition of this award-winning title, more than 1,000 alphabetically arranged entries, of which about 100 are new, cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. The Encyclopedia covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy and more. "