APA Dictionary of Psychology by G. R. VandenbosThe American Psychological Association is proud to announce the publication of an invaluable addition to your reference shelf, one that represents a major scholarly and editorial undertaking. With over 25,000 terms and definitions, the APA Dictionary of Psychology encompasses all areas of research and application, and includes coverage of concepts, processes, and therapies across all the major subdisciplines of psychology. Ten years in the making and edited by a distinguished editorial board of nearly 100 psychological scholars, researchers and practitioners, the APA Dictionary of Psychology is destined to become the most authoritative reference of its kind. authoritative definitions; thousands of incisive cross-references directing the user to synonyms and antonyms, acronyms and abbreviations, and related terms and concepts that deepen the user's understanding of related topics; and balanced coverage of over 100 subject areas across the field of psychology including clinical, experimental, neuropsychology, cognitive, personality and social, developmental, health, psychopharmacology, methodology and statistics, and many others. Entries include nearly 8,000 terms from the APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms registered] which helps students and researchers refine their APA database searches (such as the flagship PsycINFO registered] bibliographic database's 2+ million records). It also includes A Guide to Use and Quick Guide to Format that together explain important stylistic and format features to help readers most effectively use the Dictionary. covering biographies; institutions, associations and organizations; psychological therapies and interventions; and psychological tests and assessment instruments. It contains thumb tabs for locating definitions quickly and easily. Academicians, researchers, clinicians, undergraduates and graduate students, and professionals in allied mental health, education, medicine, and law, as well as academic and public libraries, will find the Dictionary essential.
Call Number: BF31 .A65 2007
Publication Date: 2006
A Dictionary of Psychology by A. M. ColmanWith over 11,000 entries, this authoritative and up-to-date dictionary covers all branches of psychology. Clear, concise descriptions for each entry offer extensive coverage of key areas including cognition, sensation and perception, emotion and motivation, learning and skills, language,mental disorder, and research methods. The range of entries extends to related disciplines including psychoanalysis, psychiatry, the neurosciences, and statistics. Entries are extensively cross-referenced for ease of use, and cover word origins and derivations as well as definitions. Over 80illustrations complement the text.In addition to the alphabetical entries, the dictionary also includes appendices covering over 800 commonly used abbreviations and symbols, as well as a list of phobias and phobic stimuli, with definitions.Comprehensive and clearly written, this dictionary is an invaluable work of reference for students, lecturers, and the general reader with an interest in psychology
Call Number: BF31 .C65 2006
Publication Date: 2006
The Cambridge Dictionary of Psychology by D. MatsumotoThe Cambridge Dictionary of Psychology is the first and only dictionary that surveys the broad discipline of psychology from an international, cross-cultural, and interdisciplinary focus. This focus was achieved in several ways. The managing and consulting editorial boards were comprised of world-renowned scholars in psychology from many different countries, not just the United States. They reviewed and edited all of the keyword entries to make them lively and applicable across cultural contexts, incorporating the latest knowledge in contemporary international psychology. Thus entries related to culture, as well as those from all domains of psychology, are written with the broadest possible audience in mind. Also, many keywords central to contemporary psychology were incorporated that are not included in many competitors, including the Oxford and APA dictionaries.
Call Number: BF31 .C28 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Apa Dictionary of Clinical Psychology by G. R. VandenBosAPA proudly offers this focused abridgment of its landmark, critically acclaimed APA Dictionary of Psychology, specifically tailored for clinicians and clinicians-in-training. The APA Dictionary of Clinical Psychology maintains all the best features of the parent dictionary, including 11,000 entries offering clear and authoritative definitions--including a number of entirely new entries Balanced coverage from across such core areas as assessment, evaluation, diagnosis, prevention, and treatment of emotional and behavioural disorders; training and supervision; as well as terms more generally relevant to various biological, cognitive, developmental, and personality/social psychological underpinnings of mental health Hundreds of incisive cross-references that deepen the user's understanding of related topics A Quick Guide to Use that explains stylistic and formal features at a glance Appendixes listing major figures relevant in the history of clinical psychology and psychological therapies and psychotherapeutic approaches An invaluable resource, the APA Dictionary of Clinical Psychology answers the needs of clinical psychologists, whether they work in health or mental health clinics; in independent or group practices; or as consultants to professionals in such fields as medicine, law, social work, and consumer relations. Students in clinical training will likewise find it to be a well-focused and economical alternative to the broader coverage of the parent work.
Call Number: RC467 .A63 2013
Publication Date: 2012
The International Dictionary of Psychology by S. SutherlandNotes on use -- The Dictionary -- Sulci and gyri of the lateral surface of the cerebral cortex -- Sulci and gyri of the medial surface of the cerebral cortex -- Brodmann's areas of the lateral surface of the cerebral cortex -- Brodmann's areas of the medial surface of the cerebral cortex -- Medial view of the brain.
Dictionary intended "to define not just psychological terms but as many as possible of those from related disciplines that pop out of the page whenever one reads anything on psychology." Also contains eponyms, acronyms, abbreviations, and cross references. Five appendixes are drawings of the cerebral cortex and the brain.
Dictionary of Psychological Testing, Assessment and Treatment by I. Stuart-HamiltonThis series of dictionaries provides comprehensive, up-to-date definitions in each subject. They are fully cross-referenced. The dictionaries arose out of the author's dissatisfaction with existing works which arc incomplete, and either require an in depth knowledge of psychology to make use of them, or are written solely for the beginner. Definitions in these dictionaries are aimed at the level of knowledge of the reader, so that basic terms are explained as though to a novice, while more complex terms are aimed at readers with an assumed greater level of knowledge (although by use of the cross-references provided a more basic explanation can usually be found). The definitions are in greater depth, and are cross-referenced to a greater extent, than other dictionaries.
Call Number: BF176 .S78 1996
Publication Date: 1996
A Dictionary of Psychology by A. M. ColmanWith over 11,000 authoritative and up-to-date entries, this best-selling dictionary covers all branches of psychology including psychoanalysis and psychiatry. Clear, concise descriptions for each entry offer extensive coverage of key areas including cognition, sensation and perception, emotionand motivation, learning and skills, language, mental disorder, and research methods. Entries are extensively cross-referenced for ease of use, and cover word origins and derivations as well as definitions. Over 80 illustrations complement the text. In addition to the alphabetical entries, the dictionary also includes appendices covering over 800 commonly used abbreviations and symbols, as well as a list of phobias and phobic stimuli, with definitions. Now containing a list of recommended web links, accessible via the Dictionary of Psychologywebsite, this dictionary is loaded with more useful and up-to-date information than any other dictionary of its kind. Comprehensive and jargon-free, the Dictionary of Psychology is an invaluable work of reference for students of psychology and related disciplines, professionals, and the generalreader with an interest in the workings of the mind.
Publication Date: 2009
Dictionary of Psychological Testing, Assessment and Treatment by I.Stuart-Hamilton`A useful book for the specialist engaged in assessment and research'. - Journal of Analytical Psychology `This book is a must-have for the bookshelf if you are a student or practitioner in the fields of psychology or even sociology. It will be of equal value to anyone working in the fields of brain injury, mental health or related fields. It is a handbook of references, terms and abbreviations related to neuroanatomy, psychology, medicine and their experiments and therapies, as well as dipping in and out of statistical processes and their meanings. The book will have broad appeal from student to practitioner to doctor. This book is a new and improved second edition. I only wish I had known of the existence of the first edition as it will most certainly prove a valuable tool.' - The Encephalitis Society The fully revised and updated second edition of this well-established reference provides over 400 new or improved terms, and is an exhaustive guide to the key terms used in psychological testing, assessment and measurement. Over 3000 definitions offer clear explanations of statistical procedures commonly used in psychology; major psychometric and other psychological tests; categories of mental illness, mental disability, and brain damage; frequently used medical terms; basic neuroanatomy; and types of psychological therapies. This book is suitable for all levels of understanding, from undergraduate and postgraduate students to practitioners of psychology and associated fields, with particular attention to statistical terms used in typical university syllabuses, as well as tests commonly available in computer packages and cited in psychological journals and similar publications.