Print Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Psychology by
After more than a century of extraordinary growth and development, the science of psychology at last has a reference source that defines the study of mind and behavior. Here in eight superbly organized volumes is the definitive guide to every area of psychological theory, research, and practice. International in scope, the Encyclopedia of Psychology is the first place to turn to for authoritative information on every area of the field. Organized alphabetically,the articles range from 500 to 7,000 words in length including 400 biographies. An extensive system of cross-references and blind entries facilitate research from article to article and clarify links within the field. And an exhaustive index locates topics quickly and easily--providing many pointsof access across areas of interest and fields of study. The Encyclopedia of Psychology serves a remarkable variety of readers: students and their teachers in every area of psychology as well as in such related fields as sociology, social work, nursing, and allied health; researchers in the cognitive sciences and neurosciences; and clinicians,counselors, and other mental health and human service professionals. It will be the definitive information, research, and reference source for many years to come.
Call Number: BF31 .E52 2000Publication Date: 2000
The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science by
Edited by high caliber experts, and contributed to by quality researchers and practitioners in psychology and related fields. Includes over 500 topical entries Each entry features suggested readings and extensive cross-referencing Accessible to students and general readers Edited by two outstanding scholars and clinicians
Call Number: BF31 .E52 2004Publication Date: 2004
Baker Encyclopedia of Psychology and Counseling by
The standard evangelical reference. Over 1,200 articles-thoroughly cross-referenced and indexed-create a comprehensive treatment of psychology from a Christian viewpoint.
Call Number: BF31 .B25 1999Publication Date: 1999
Encyclopedia of Human Emotions by
"Why do people cry, how do we manage horror, what do facial expressions tell us about a person? The answers to these questions and many more can be found in the Encyclopedia of Human Emotions, which brings to gether what is known about the nature, causes, expressions, and societal role of emotions. The 146 alphabetically arranged articles are sprinkled with photos, illustrations, and references to literature. Also covered are biographies, emotions that have been the subject of scientific study, and how emotions relate to society (e.g., hate crimes). The plain language of this unique encyclopedia makes it accessible to high-school students and the general user, while the level of scholarship makes this a useful resource to researchers as well."--"Outstanding reference sources 2000", American Libraries, May 2000. Comp. by the Reference Sources Committee, RUSA, ALA.
Call Number: BF531 .E55 1999Publication Date: 1999
The Encyclopedia of Mental Health by
According to the National Center for Health Statistics, mental health disorders led to more than 40 million doctor visits and 2 million emergency room visits in 2002.""The Encyclopedia of Mental Health, Third Edition"" is a revised and updated A-to-Z reference covering all aspects of general mental health topics. This accessible guide sorts through a maze of professional jargon to provide incisive definitions of theories, syndromes, symptoms, treatments, and contemporary issues, in language that everyone can understand, bringing readers the most up-to-date information on this subject. Presenting more than 2,000 new and updated entries with approximately 70,000 words of new text, this volume is the perfect resource for anyone dealing with this mental disorder.
Call Number: RC437 .K34 2008Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of Stress by
A reference work on stress and stress related diseases, for a general audience, or for students or clinicians seeking a starting point for investigation. Contains some 250 alphabetically arranged entries. The entries are a mix: disorders resulting from stress, disorders that respond to stress manag
Call Number: BF575.S75 M235 1999Publication Date: 1998
Encyclopedia of Stress by
Like the first edition, the second edition of the Encyclopedia of Stress covers nearly every conceivable aspect and ramification of stress including a wide range of related topics such as neuroimmune interactions, cytokines, enzymatic disorders, effects on the cardiovascular system, immunity and inflammation, and physical illnesses. Over the last decade, scientists have presented convincing research showing that psychological stress increases vulnerability to disease. They now understand more clearly that stress may be the thread tying together illnesses that were previously believed to be unrelated. Bone loss, increased abdominal fat, and damaged memory cells in the hippocampus have been linked to elevated cortisol levels. Building on the success of the first edition, this completely revised work surveys the vast amount of research generated in the past five years, resulting in a substantial revision with over 30% new material and over 100 new entries. Expanded sections include Animal Studies, Anxiety and Depression, Drugs, Depression, Disasters, and Psychological and Other Therapies. Also available online via ScienceDirect (2007) - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com. * Timely update on the topic of Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder taking into account events such as terrorism and middle east wars * Includes expanded coverage on anxiety and depression * Incorporates entries on the advances in our knowledge of immunology, cytokines and cell mediated immunity involved in stress responses and autoimmune diseases such as multiple sclerosis and Type I diabetes
Call Number: QP82.2.S8 E53 2007Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of Aging
This four-volume academic set covers the subject of aging from a social, cultural, sociological, biological, medical, anthropological, religious/philosophical, and economic point of view. Special attention has been paid to cross-national differences in policies and approaches related to aging. For example, the inclusion of an article on euthanasia, listing the various approaches to this practice in different countries.
Call Number: HQ1061 .E534 2002Publication Date: 2002
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior by
Numerous changes have occurred since the first edition of this Encyclopedia (which was a Choice Outstanding Reference) published in 1995. These changes include the decrease of crack cocaine use and resurgence of heroin use; changes in laws dealing with drug use -- on both the state and national levels; and new discoveries of how drugs work and what makes them addictive. More than 700 articles intended for the student and layperson cover the social, medical and political issues related to drugs and alcohol, as well as types of addiction.
Call Number: HV5804 .E53 2001Publication Date: 2000
Encyclopedia of Substance Abuse Prevention, Treatment, and Recovery by
Substance abuse is one of the most frequent and serious problems encountered by human service workers, criminal justice professionals, and clinicians. Unfortunately, many professionals in these fields receive little, if any, formal training about this problem. Our planned encyclopedia presents state-of-the-art research and evidence-based applications in A-to-Z format. Rather than create a compendium of specific drugs and drug effects, for which there are any number of fine titles already available, the focus will be upon practical knowledge and skills for pre-service and in-service human service professionals, including substance abuse counselors and prevention specialists.
Call Number: RC563.4 .E53 2009Publication Date: 2008
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences by
This Encyclopedia is the first attempt in a generation to map the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale. Not since the publication in 1968 of the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by David L. Sills, has there been such an ambitious project to describe the state of the art in all the fields encompassed within the social and behavioral sciences. Available in both print (26 volumes) and online editions, it comprises 4,000 articles, commissioned by 52 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
Call Number: H41 .I58 2001Publication Date: 2001
The Encyclopedia of Positive Psychology by
Positive psychology, the pursuit of understanding optimal human functioning, is reshaping the scholarly and public views of how we see the science of psychology. The Encyclopedia of Positive Psychology provides a comprehensive and accessible summary of this growing area of scholarship and practice. 288 specially commissioned entries written by 150 leading international researchers, educators, and practitioners in positive psychology covers topics of interest across all social sciences as well as business and industry the most current, extensive, and accessible treatment of the subject available topical primer clarifies basic constructs and processes associated with positive psychology will be useful to students, teachers, practitioners, businesspeople, and policy makers
Call Number: BF204.6 .E53 2009Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment by
′once you let a clinical psychologist lay hands on this book, it is quite difficult to get it back again′ - Martin Guha, Librarian, Institute of Psychiatry, London The Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment is a landmark reference work and constitutes a definitive resource for academics, practitioners and students working in any field of applied psychological science. Psychological assessment is a key component of psychological work. Devices of scientific assessment are necessary for adequate describing, diagnosis, predicting, explaining or changing the behaviour of all subjects under examination. This double-volume collection offers complete coverage to facilitate action in each of these areas and will consequently be invaluable to psychologists in any applied setting. The two volumes of the Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment contain a series of 235 entries, organized alphabetically, and covering a variety of fields. Each entry includes a general conceptual and methodological overview, a section on relevant assessment devices, followed by links to related concepts in the Encyclopedia and a list of references. The Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment provides: - A comprehensive network for psychological assessment as a conceptual and methodological discipline, and as a professional activity - An overview of the complexity of assessment, which involves not only testing, but also a process of decision-making for answering relevant questions that arise in the different applied fields - A presentation of relevant issues from basic theory (theoretical perspectives, ethics) and methodology (validity, reliability, item response theory) to technology and modes of assessment (tests, instruments and equipment for measuring behavioral operations) - An attempt to unify this diverse field by offering full coverage of all areas from the most traditional, such as clinical, educational and work and organizational psychology, to the most recent applications linked to health, gerontology, neuropsychology, psychophysiology and environmental assessment. The Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment offers a truly international perspective, both in terms of the selected authors and chosen entries. It aims to provide an integrated view of assessment, bringing together knowledge dispersed throughout several methodological and applied fields, but united in terms of its relevance for assessment. It is an essential purchase for any library with an existing collection or concern with the field of psychological science in general.
Call Number: BF39 .E497 2003Publication Date: 2003
Electronic Encyclopedias
- The Encyclopedia of Positive Psychology by
Positive psychology, the pursuit of understanding optimal human functioning, is reshaping the scholarly and public views of how we see the science of psychology. The Encyclopedia of Positive Psychology provides a comprehensive and accessible summary of this growing area of scholarship and practice. 288 specially commissioned entries written by 150 leading international researchers, educators, and practitioners in positive psychology covers topics of interest across all social sciences as well as business and industry the most current, extensive, and accessible treatment of the subject available topical primer clarifies basic constructs and processes associated with positive psychology will be useful to students, teachers, practitioners, businesspeople, and policy makers
Publication Date: 2009
- The Encyclopedia of Mental Health by
According to the National Center for Health Statistics, mental health disorders led to more than 40 million doctor visits and 2 million emergency room visits in 2002.""The Encyclopedia of Mental Health, Third Edition"" is a revised and updated A-to-Z reference covering all aspects of general mental health topics. This accessible guide sorts through a maze of professional jargon to provide incisive definitions of theories, syndromes, symptoms, treatments, and contemporary issues, in language that everyone can understand, bringing readers the most up-to-date information on this subject. Presenting more than 2,000 new and updated entries with approximately 70,000 words of new text, this volume is the perfect resource for anyone dealing with this mental disorder.
Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of Aging
This four-volume academic set covers the subject of aging from a social, cultural, sociological, biological, medical, anthropological, religious/philosophical, and economic point of view. Special attention has been paid to cross-national differences in policies and approaches related to aging. For example, the inclusion of an article on euthanasia, listing the various approaches to this practice in different countries.
Publication Date: 2002
Encyclopedia of Aging by
A COMPREHENSIVE RESOURCE ON GERONTOLOGY AND GERIATRICS Since its inception in 1987, The Encyclopedia of Aging has proven to be the definitive resource for scholars and students across the burgeoning and increasingly interdisciplinary fields of gerontology and geriatrics. Like its three esteemed predecessors, the fourth edition contains concise, readable explorations of hundreds of terms, concepts, and issues related to the lives of older adults, as well as timely coverage of the many new programs and services for the elderly. Updated, under the distinguished stewardship of editor-in-chief Richard Schulz to reflect the infusion of new information across the scientific disciplines, this new edition brings readers up-to-the-moment significant advances in biology, physiology, genetics, medicine, psychology, nursing, social services, sociology, economics, technology, and political science. While retaining the format and standard of excellence that marked the first three editions, the fourth edition encompasses a wealth of new information from the social and health sciences. It contains the most current bibliography of an expanding literature, an exhaustive index, and extensive cross references. This much anticipated update of the field's most authoritative resource will take its place as an indispensable reference for specialists and non-specialists across a broad range of disciplines that now comprise the field of aging. b>SPRINGER--SERVING THE HEALTHCARE AND HELPING PROFESSIONS FOR MORE THAN 55 YEARS
Publication Date: 2006- Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior by
Numerous changes have occurred since the first edition of this Encyclopedia (which was a Choice Outstanding Reference) published in 1995. These changes include the decrease of crack cocaine use and resurgence of heroin use; changes in laws dealing with drug use -- on both the state and national levels; and new discoveries of how drugs work and what makes them addictive. More than 700 articles intended for the student and layperson cover the social, medical and political issues related to drugs and alcohol, as well as types of addiction.
Publication Date: 2000
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior by
Explores the social, medical, legal and political issues related to drugs and alcohol and associated behaviors. Includes emerging topics and developments in the many fields of addiction studies.
Publication Date: 2008
International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences by
This entirely new second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences highlights the growing influence of economics and sociology in social science research. Featuring 2,990 commissioned essays contributed by thousands of scholars from around the world, the set also covers the disciplines of political science, anthropology, and psychology, offering current perspectives on a wide variety of topics of global relevance, including: achievement testing: censorship; personality measurement; aging; income distribution; political and economic aspects of foreign aid; food security and consumption patterns; comparative healthcare systems; agricultural innovation; political correctness; discrimination; legislation of ethics and morality; terrorism; free trade; and currency devaluation/revaluation.
Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology by
The Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology encompasses applications of psychological knowledge and procedures in all areas of psychology. This compendium is a major source of information for professional practitioners, researchers in psychology, and for anyone interested in applied psychology. The topics included are, but are not limited to, aging (geropsychology), assessment, clinical, cognitive, community, counseling, educational, environmental, family, industrial/organizational, health, school, sports, and transportation psychology. The entries drawn from the above-referenced areas provide a clear definition of topic, a brief review of theoretical basis relevant to the topic, and emphasize major areas of application. Also available online via ScienceDirect - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com.
Publication Date: 2004
Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment by
′once you let a clinical psychologist lay hands on this book, it is quite difficult to get it back again′ - Martin Guha, Librarian, Institute of Psychiatry, London The Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment is a landmark reference work and constitutes a definitive resource for academics, practitioners and students working in any field of applied psychological science. Psychological assessment is a key component of psychological work. Devices of scientific assessment are necessary for adequate describing, diagnosis, predicting, explaining or changing the behaviour of all subjects under examination. This double-volume collection offers complete coverage to facilitate action in each of these areas and will consequently be invaluable to psychologists in any applied setting. The two volumes of the Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment contain a series of 235 entries, organized alphabetically, and covering a variety of fields. Each entry includes a general conceptual and methodological overview, a section on relevant assessment devices, followed by links to related concepts in the Encyclopedia and a list of references. The Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment provides: - A comprehensive network for psychological assessment as a conceptual and methodological discipline, and as a professional activity - An overview of the complexity of assessment, which involves not only testing, but also a process of decision-making for answering relevant questions that arise in the different applied fields - A presentation of relevant issues from basic theory (theoretical perspectives, ethics) and methodology (validity, reliability, item response theory) to technology and modes of assessment (tests, instruments and equipment for measuring behavioral operations) - An attempt to unify this diverse field by offering full coverage of all areas from the most traditional, such as clinical, educational and work and organizational psychology, to the most recent applications linked to health, gerontology, neuropsychology, psychophysiology and environmental assessment. The Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment offers a truly international perspective, both in terms of the selected authors and chosen entries. It aims to provide an integrated view of assessment, bringing together knowledge dispersed throughout several methodological and applied fields, but united in terms of its relevance for assessment. It is an essential purchase for any library with an existing collection or concern with the field of psychological science in general.
Publication Date: 2003
Encyclopedia of Behavior Modification and Cognitive Behavior Therapy by
The three-volume Encyclopedia of Behavior Modification and Cognitive Behavior Therapy provides a thorough examination of the components of behavior modification, behavior therapy, cognitive behavior therapy, and applied behavior analysis for both child and adult populations in a variety of settings. Although the focus is on technical applications, entries also provide the historical context in which behavior therapists have worked, including research issues and strategies. Entries on assessment, ethical concerns, theoretical differences, and the unique contributions of key figures in the movement (including B. F. Skinner, Joseph Wolpe, Aaron T. Beck, and many others) are also included. No other reference source provides such comprehensive treatment of behavior modification_history, biography, theory, and application. Key Features Three thematic volumes and over 430 total entries Five anchor articles in each volume provide context on major issues within the field Key words and lists of suggested readings follow each entry Contributions by internationally renowned authors from England, Germany, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and the United States
Publication Date: 2005
