Print Handbooks
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings--inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5 easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.
Call Number: Reserve RC455.2.C4 D54 2013ISBN: 9780890425541
Personality and Psychopathology by
The Comprehensive Handbook of Personality and Psychopathology presents the foundations of major theories of personality. Volume 1 describes specialized theoretical models and demonstrates the impact that personality has on functioning. Volumes 2 and 3 describe the major classifications of psychological disorders in adults and children as well as the most popular treatment modalities. Throughout the work, a team of eminent researchers and clinicians present data reflecting the influence of personality and psychological problems on an individual's ability to interact with family and peers, and perform in the work or school environment.
Call Number: RC456 .C66 2006Publication Date: 2005
Comprehensive Handbook of Psychopathology by
The third edition of Comprehensive Handbook of Psychopathology provides comprehensive coverage of theoretical, research, and clinical positions in psychopathology. Extensively revised and updated, this edition: outlines a highly improved classification scheme based on DSM IV; includes two new chapters on schizophrenia which reflect renewed interest in this topic, particularly from a biological basis; puts new emphasis on cultural and developmental issues; and contains increased coverage of the overlap of medicine and abnormal behaviour. With emphasis on empirical and research data that should be useful to graduate students and practising clinicians in the mental health profession, particularly clinical psychology, psychiatry, psychiatric nursing, and social work, this handbook is an ideal reference source.
Call Number: RC454 .C636 2001Publication Date: 2001
Handbook of Psychopathy by
With contributions from foremost experts, this authoritative handbook provides a state-of-the-science review of current knowledge on the psychopathic personality. Coverage includes major theoretical models; conceptual and definitional questions; assessment approaches; and etiological pathways, ranging from family and environmental factors to genes, neurotransmitters, and brain systems. Manifestations of psychopathy in specific populations are addressed, as are links to salient problem behaviors such as aggression, substance abuse, sexual offending, and recidivism. Clinical and legal issues are also examined in depth. Seamlessly edited, each major thematic section concludes with a summary chapter that integrates the findings presented and highlights key questions for future research.
Call Number: RC555 .H357 2006Publication Date: 2005
Comprehensive Handbook of Psychological Assessment by
Dr. Hersen has gathered in this unprecedented 4-volume work the leading resaerchers and clinicians in psychological assessment. This groundbreaking reference presents essential information on the four major classes of psychological assessment instruments, including intelligence/neuropsychological, personality (both objective and projective), behavioral, and industrial/organizational. Each volume contains information on the history of the specific branch of testing, the range of tests, theoretical considerations, psychometric concerns, range of populations, cross-cultural factors, use with people with disabilities, legal/ethical considerations, computerization, and future development. Individual chapters consider these topics as they relate to specific instruments. As a result these volumes are indispensable for clincians practicing in these areas as well as library collections.
Call Number: BF176 .C654 2004Publication Date: 2003
The Oxford Handbook of Child Psychological Assessment by
Psychological assessment has always paralleled the growth of psychology and its specialties, and it is not an overstatement to say that measurement and assessment are the cornerstones of psychology, providing the tools and techniques for gathering information to inform our understanding ofhuman behavior. However, the continued growth and new developments in the assessment literature requires an ongoing examination of the principles and practices of central importance to psychological assessment. The Oxford Handbook of Child Psychological Assessment covers all areas of child and adolescent assessment. Leaders in the field summarize and synthesize state-of-the-science assessment theories, techniques, and applications. Placing an emphasis on clinical and psychoeducational assessment issues,chapters explore issues related to the foundations, models, special topics, and practice of psychological assessment. Appropriate as a desk reference or a cover-to-cover read, this comprehensive volume surveys fundamental principles of child assessment, including ability, achievement, behavior, andpersonality; covers the role of theory and measurement in psychological assessment; and presents new methods and data.
Call Number: BF722.3 .O94 2013Publication Date: 2013
Personality Theory and Assessment by
This Handbook of Personality Theory and Assessment 2-Volume Set constitutes an essential resource for shaping the future of the scientific foundation of personality research, measurement, and practice. It reviews the major contemporary personality models (Volume 1) and associated psychometric measurement instruments (Volume 2) that underpin the scientific study of this important area of psychology. With contributions from internationally renowned academics, this work will be an important reference work for a host of researchers and practitioners in the fields of individual differences and personality assessment, clinical psychology, educational psychology, work and organizational psychology, health psychology and other applied fields as well. Volume 1: Personality Theories and Models. Deals with the major theoretical models underlying personality instruments and covers the following broad topics, listed by section heading: " Explanatory Models For Personality " Comprehensive Trait Models " Key Traits: Psychobiology " Key Traits: Self-Regulation And Stress " New Trait And Dynamic Trait Constructs " Applications
Call Number: BF698.4 .S24 2008Publication Date: 2008
Handbook of Child Psychology by
This authoritative four-volume reference spans the entire field of child development and has set the standard against which all other scholarly references are compared. Updated and revised to reflect the new developments in the field, the Sixth Edition is sure to be as successful as the previous editions.
Call Number: BF721 .H242 2006Publication Date: 2006
Handbook of Clinical Child Psychology by
The increasing focus on children′s welfare has given rise to tremendous growth in the field of child psychology, and the past decade has witnessed significant advances in research in this area.
Call Number: RJ503.3 .H36 2001Publication Date: 2001
Child and Adoloscent Assessment by
A comprehensive presentation of assessment strategies, actual strategies, and a review of specific populations for psychologists, psychiatrists, social workers and mental health social workers who work with children and adolescents. Chapter authors address only those strategies that have a firm empirical base and proceed beyond behavioral assessment to cover those assessment practices that are used more routinely by traditional clinicians.
Call Number: RJ50 .H36 1993Publication Date: 1992
Handbook of Multicultural Assessment by
Handbook of Multicultural Assessment offers the most comprehensive text on testing of racial and ethnic minorities in the United States. This thoroughly revised and updated edition includes the most current and state-of-the-art assessment information in a variety of psychological and educational domains. The book highlights new and innovative testing practices and expands the populations of interest to include recent immigrants and refugees. It also includes ways to overcome barriers in the assessment process as well as forensic assessment. This important resource offers an instructional text for conducting culturally competent psychological assessment for clinicians, educators, and researchers.
Call Number: BF176 .H36 2008Publication Date: 2007
Handbook of Cross-Cultural and Multicultural Personality Assessment by
Throughout the world as in the United States, psychologists are increasingly being called upon to evaluate clients whose backgrounds differ from their own. It has long been recognized that standard personality and psychopathology assessment instruments carry cultural biases, and in recent years, efforts to correct these biases have accelerated. The Handbook of Cross-Cultural and Multicultural Personality Assessment brings together researchers and practitioners from 12 countries with diverse ethnic and racial identities and training to present state-of-the-art knowledge about how best to minimize cultural biases in the assessment of personality and psychopathology. They consider research methodology, the design and construction of standard objective and projective tests, the use of measures of acculturation, racial identity, and culture-specific tests, the social etiquette of service delivery, and the interpretation of test data for clinical diagnosis. Ranging widely through all the relevant issues, they share a common collective vision of how culturally competent services should be delivered to clients. The Handbook offers the first comprehensive view of a consistent approach to cultural competence in assessment--a necessary precursor of effective intervention. It will become an indispensable reference for all those whose practice or research involves individuals with different ethnic and racial identities.
Call Number: RC473.P79 H36 2000Publication Date: 2000
Measures for Clinical Practice and Research by
The fourth edition of this essential resource has dozens of new scales as well as updated information for existing instruments, expanding and cementing its utility for members of all the helping professions, including psychology, social work, psychiatry, counseling, nursing, and medicine. Eachinstrument is reproduced in its entirety and critiqued by the editors, who provide guidance on how to select and score them. This first volume covers measures for use with couples, families, and children; its companion focuses on adults. Alone or as a set, these classic compendiums are powerfultools that clinicians and researchers alike will find an invaluable addition to - or update of - their libraries. Giving clinicians the scales they need to measure their clients' problems and monitor their outcomes, these all-in-one sourcebooks bring effective, accountable practice within reach for today's busy professionals.
Call Number: BF176 .C66 2007Publication Date: 2007
Measures for Clinical Practice and Research by
One of the key challenges of all types of practice and research is finding a way to measure the problem. This seminal 2-volume book contains hundreds of the most useful measurement tools for use in clinical practice and in research. All measures are critiqued by the editors, who provideguidance on how to select and score them and the actual measures are wholly reproduced. This first volume, focusing on measures for use with couples, families, and children, includes an introduction to the basic priniciples of measurement, an overview of different types of measures, and an overview of the Rapid Assessment Inventories included herein. Volume I also contains descriptionsand reviews of each instrument, as well as information on how they were selected and how to administer and score them.This book is designed as the definitive reference volume on assessment measures for both practice and research in clinical mental health. This fifth edition of Corcoran and Fischer's Measures for Clinical Practice and Research is updated with a new preface, new scales, and updated information forexisting instruments, expanding and cementing its utility for members of all the helping professions, including psychology, social work, psychiatry, counseling, nursing, and medicine.Alone or as a set, these classic compendiums are powerful tools that clinicians and researchers alike will find an invaluable addition to - or update of - their libraries.
Call Number: BF176 .C66 2013Publication Date: 2013
Online Handbooks
- DSM-5 Library This link opens in a new windowThe DSM Library provides access to the full text of the DSM-5, which is used by health professionals, social workers, and forensic and legal specialists to diagnose and classify mental disorders. Also included in the DSM Library is the Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, and DSM-5 Clinical Cases, and older ("legacy") versions of the DSM.
Handbook of Personality Disorders by
This comprehensive reference, edited by one of the leading experts in the field, assimilates the newest and most effective treatment techniques for the personality disorders. Each chapter is written by leading scholars in the Cognitive-Behavior, Humanistic and Integrative theoretical models. In addition to a detailed case example in each chapter, additional case studies are integrated and used throughout.
Publication Date: 2003
Handbook of Developmental Psychopathology by
When developmental psychologists set forth the theory that the roots of adult psychopathology could be traced to childhood experience and behavior, the idea quickly took hold. Subsequently, as significant research in this area advanced during the past decade, more sophisticated theory, more accurate research methodologies, and improved replication of empirical findings have been the result. The Third Edition of the Handbook of Developmental Psychopathology incorporates these research advances throughout its comprehensive, up-to-date examination of this diverse and maturing field. Integrative state-of-the-art models document the complex interplay of risk and protective factors and other variables contributing to normal and pathological development. New and updated chapters describe current refinements in assessment methods and offer the latest research findings from neuroscience. In addition, the Third Edition provides readers with a detailed review across the spectrum of salient topics, from the effects of early deprivation to the impact of puberty. As the field continues to shift from traditional symptom-based concepts of pathology to a contemporary, dynamic paradigm, the Third Edition addresses such key topics as: Early Childhood disorders, including failure to thrive and attachment disorders. Aggression, ADHD, and other disruptive conditions. Developmental models of depression, anxiety, self-injury/suicide, and OCD. The autism spectrum and other chronic developmental disorders. Child maltreatment and trauma disorders. The Third Edition of the Handbook of Developmental Psychopathology is a discipline-defining, forward-looking resource for researchers, clinicians, scientist-practitioners, and graduate students in such fields as developmental psychology, psychiatry, social work, child and school psychology, educational psychology, and pediatrics.
Publication Date: 2014
Comprehensive Handbook of Psychological Assessment by
In one volume, the leading researchers in intelligence and neuropsychological assessment interpret the range of issues related to intellectual and neuropsychological tests, including test development and psychometrics, clinical applications, ethical and legal concerns, use with diverse populations, computerization, and the latest research. Clinicians and researchers who use these instruments will find this volume invaluable, as it contains the most comprehensive and up-to-date information available on this important aspect of practice.
Publication Date: 2013
Child Psychology in Practice by
Part of the authoritative four-volume reference that spans the entire field of child development and has set the standard against which all other scholarly references are compared. Updated and revised to reflect the new developments in the field, the Handbook of Child Psychology, Sixth Edition contains new chapters on such topics as spirituality, social understanding, and non-verbal communication. Volume 4: Child Psychology in Practice, edited by K. Ann Renninger, Swarthmore College, and Irving E. Sigel, Educational Testing Service, covers child psychology in clinical and educational practice. New topics addressed include educational assessment and evaluation, character education, learning disabilities, mental retardation, media and popular culture, children's health and parenting.
Publication Date: 2006
The Handbook of Child and Adolescent Clinical Psychology by
The third edition of the hugely successful Handbook of Child and Adolescent Clinical Psychology incorporates important advances in the field to provide a reliable and accessible resource for clinical psychologists. Beginning with a set of general conceptual frameworks for practice, the book gives specific guidance on the management of problems commonly encountered in clinical work with children and adolescents drawing on the best practice in the fields of clinical psychology and family therapy. In six sections thorough and comprehensive coverage of the following areas is provided: Frameworks for practice Problems of infancy and early childhood Problems of middle childhood Problems of adolescence Child abuse Adjustment to major life transitions Thoroughly updated throughout, each chapter dealing with specific clinical problems includes cases examples and detailed discussion of diagnosis, classification, epidemiology and clinical features. New material includes the latest advances in: child and adolescent clinical psychology; developmental psychology and developmental psychopathology; assessment and treatment programmes. This book is invaluable as both a reference work for experienced practitioners and as an up-to-date, evidence-based practice manual for clinical psychologists in training. The Handbook of Child and Adolescent Clinical Psychology is one of a set of 3 books published by Routledge which includes The Handbook of Adult Clinical Psychology: An Evidence Based Practice Approach, Second Edition (Edited by Carr & McNulty) and The Handbook of Intellectual Disability and Clinical Psychology Practice (Edited by Alan Carr, Christine Linehan, Gary O#65533;Reilly, Patricia Noonan Walsh and John McEvoy).
Publication Date: 2015
The Wiley Handbook of Personality Assessment by
The Wiley Handbook of Personality Assessment presents the state-of-the-art in the field of personality assessment, providing a perspective on emerging trends, and placing these in the context of research advances in the associated fields. Explores emerging trends and perspectives in personality assessment, building on current knowledge and looking ahead to the future landscape of the field Discusses emerging technologies and how these can be combined with psychological theories in order to enhance the real-world practice of assessing personality Comprehensive sections address gaps in current knowledge and collate contributions and advances from diverse areas and perspectives The chapter authors are eminent scholars from across the globe who bring together new research from many different countries and cultures
Publication Date: 2016
Personality Theory and Assessment by
This Handbook of Personality Theory and Assessment 2-Volume Set constitutes an essential resource for shaping the future of the scientific foundation of personality research, measurement, and practice. It reviews the major contemporary personality models (Volume 1) and associated psychometric measurement instruments (Volume 2) that underpin the scientific study of this important area of psychology. With contributions from internationally renowned academics, this work will be an important reference work for a host of researchers and practitioners in the fields of individual differences and personality assessment, clinical psychology, educational psychology, work and organizational psychology, health psychology and other applied fields as well. Volume 1: Personality Theories and Models. Deals with the major theoretical models underlying personality instruments and covers the following broad topics, listed by section heading: " Explanatory Models For Personality " Comprehensive Trait Models " Key Traits: Psychobiology " Key Traits: Self-Regulation And Stress " New Trait And Dynamic Trait Constructs " Applications
Publication Date: 2008
Personality Theory and Assessment by
A definitive, authoritative and up-to-date resource for anyone interested in the theories, models and assessment methods used for understanding the many factes of Human personality and individual differences This brand new Handbook of Personality Theory and Assessment 2-Volume Set constitutes an essential resource for shaping the future of the scientific foundation of personality research, measurement, and practice. There is need for an up-to-date and international Handbook that reviews the major contemporary personality models Vol. 1 and associated psychometric measurement instruments Vol. 2 that underpin the scientific study of this important area of individual differences psychology, and in these two Handbooks this is very much achieved. Made unique by its depth and breadth the Handbooks are internationally edited and authored by Professors Gregory J. Boyle, Gerald Matthews, and Donald H. Saklofske and authored by internationally known academics, this work will be an important reference work for a host of researchers and practitioners in the fields of individual differences and personality assessment, clinical psychology, educational psychology, work and organizational psychology, health psychology and other applied fields as well. Volume 2: Personality Measurement and Assessment. Covers psychometric measurement of personality and has coverage of the following broad topics, listed by section heading: " General Methodological Issues " Multidimensional Personality Instruments " Assessment of Biologically-Based Traits " Assessment of Self-Regulative Traits " Implicit, Projective And Objective Measures Of Personality " Abnormal Personality Trait Instruments " Applications of Psychological Testing
Publication Date: 2008
