Journal Articles
- Fuente Académica This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You want to find scholarly journal articles written in Spanish. Hosted by EBSCO, this is especially useful for more recent research, 2000-present.What's Included?
Full-text journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain that cover many academic disciplines. - Informe Académico This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
Check out Fuente Académica first, but Informe Académico also provides access to scholarly articles written in Spanish (also Portuguese).What's Included?
Full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America. - MedicLatina This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You are doing research on Spanish speaking populations with a focus on medical science.What's Included?
Full text of medical science articles appearing in journals published in Latin American and Spain. - MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
Your best bet to find scholarly sources in all aspects of modern languages and literature.What's Included?
In addition to full-text scholarly articles, check out top tabs for the MLA Thesaurus, Browse Works, and Browse Authors.
- Journal IberoamericanaAn open access and interdisciplinary journal for literary studies, history and the social sciences. It is jointly published by the Ibero-American Institute (Berlin), the GIGA Institute for Latin American Studies (Hamburg) and the Iberoamericana/Vervuert publishing house (Madrid/Frankfurt am Main).
Other Databases
- Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You are researching a particular country (or countries) and need to know about trade, culture, history, language, travel, education, and more.What's Included?
175 Country Guides covering 119 categories including: Culture and Society, Business Culture, Travel Essentials, Education, Embassies, Food, History, Holidays and Festivals, Human Rights, Language, Maps, Life Cycles, Money and Banking, Music, Name Structure, Religion, Security, and Local Transportation
General Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
This resource searches collections included in other EBSCO databases, meaning it searches across many disciplines at once. Use this for early research or for interdisciplinary topics. Also consider ProQuest Central or Library Search/Primo.What's Included?
Articles from over 13,000 journals and supplementary resources like monographs, reports, and conference proceedings across, science, social science, and the humanities. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You want deep backfiles of journals across disciplines, especially humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Note: if you need the most current articles, look elsewhere. Most journals have five-year embargoes, but go back to the beginning of print runs.What's Included?
In addition to the 2,800 top scholarly journals and 100,000+ ebooks, you'll find ArtStor's Public Collections, primary sources, and open access monographs, etc. - Arts & Humanities Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
You are looking for scholarly sources and want something a bit more specific to the humanities than our general databases. This database features 550 full text titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.What's Included?
As well as over 460 full text scholarly journals from publishers such as Cambridge University Press, Johns Hopkins University Press, and Springer Nature, it also contains relevant magazines such as Vogue, the New York Times Book Review, and Sight & Sound and trade journals including Publisher’s Weekly and Canadian Architect. It is designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM. - ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Why Search Here?
This database is actually a combination of many ProQuest databases, meaning it searches across many disciplines at once. Use this for early research or for interdisciplinary topics. Also consider Academic Search Premier or Library Search/Primo.What's Included?
Articles from thousands of journals, dissertations, working papers, reports, and more. Subjects include Arts & Humanities, Business, Health and Medical, Current Events/News, Science & Technology, Social Sciences, and Interdisciplinary.
Newspapers
At GFU, you have full access (web and app) to the New York Times and Wall Street Journal. Other current and historical newspapers have varied access through databases subscriptions. For detailed information, see our specific research guide on newspapers: