LibGuides: Project Portfolio -- Seminary Doctoral Programs: EBSCO Tools

About Articles

A large portion of your research is locating and evaluating scholarly, peer-reviewed articles. Scholarly, peer-reviewed articles have been reviewed by a group of scholarly reviewers in the subject area of the journal. The articles found in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals are vetted for quality of research and adherence to editorial standards of the journal prior to publication. In general, you will be spending a lot of time in various Ebsco Databases, which you can search simultaneously. Various features you will want to use are discussed below in the embedded tutorials from Ebsco.

Video - Creating an Advanced Search (2min. 38 sec.)

How to use the three-box advance search in an EBSCO database, as well as options for limiting or expanding results of a search. Good place to start if you are new to online research, and recommended as a brush-up for current researchers.

Video - Using the Result List (3 min. 39 sec.)

Learn how to filter search results in an EBSCO database by type, date of publication, subject, and more!

Video - My EBSCOhost Folder (3 min. 13 sec.)

Create a free EBSCOhost account to personalize your search experience and access advanced functions. Learn more at How to Use the My EBSCOHost Folder.

Video - Creating a Search Alert (1 min. 28 sec.)

Learn how to set up an alert for new results to your favorite search strings in an EBSCO database. Alerts are generated by newly added materials (usually, but not always new publications).

EBSCO Articles Search Databases

Below is a list of additional Ebsco databases (like ATLA) you can search to find articles in various religious and theological research journals. You can choose to search multiple EBSCO databases simultaneously by following these steps:

1. From the library home page, click the "Ebsco Articles" link

2. Where it says, "Searching: Academic Search Premier," click the "Choose Databases" link

3. Click on the boxes for the databases that are relevant to your search (ATLA, etc.)

4. Click the yellow "Ok" button

5. Begin searching!

NOTE: If you search in a database individually, you will be able to take advantage of the tools specific to that database. For example, ATLA has a Scripture index tool and Thesaurus that will help you search strategically using terms used by the database rather than simple keywords.

EBSCO Articles Search This link opens in a new window
Search 50+ EBSCO databases simultaneously.
Atla Religion with AtlaSerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. (Note: Portland Seminary alumni have access -- contact researchhelp@georgefox.edu for details).
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
This EBSCO collection provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Religion and Philosophy Collection offers nearly 300 full text journals, including more than 260 peer-reviewed titles, making it an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.
Baptists, Quakers, and Independent Church Periodicals, 1797-1881 This link opens in a new window
Periodicals on history and development of baptist church. Also includes journals focusing on smaller churches. Part of EBSCO's "American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection."
Catholic, Lutheran, Methodist, and Episcopal Periodicals, 1797-1904 This link opens in a new window
Includes materials ranging from newspapers, fair periodicals, reports, etc. relevant to Catholic, Lutheran, Methodist, and Episcopal church communities majorly during the 19th century. Part of EBSCO's "American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection."
Congregational, Presbyterian, and Reformed Church Periodicals, 1803-1902 This link opens in a new window
Includes perspectives from Protestant communities that partook in activities of the Congregational, Presbyterian, and Reformed churches majorly during the 19th century. Part of EBSCO's "American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection."
Emerging American Religions, 1821-1895 This link opens in a new window
Covers new religious movements founded in America, especially those that flourished during the nineteenth century. Features important periodicals devoted to Adventists, Mormons, Disciples of Christ, Holiness/Pentecostals, millennialists, and Unitarians, among others. Part of EBSCO's "American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection."
Focuses on new religions surfacing during in America during the 19th century.
General Interest Christian Periodicals, 1743-1889 This link opens in a new window
Includes publications dating back to the 18th and 19th centuries that address a wide range of religious themes and treatments of Christianity. There are also a large number of sermons provided from a variety of different groups. Part of EBSCO's "American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection."
Religious Periodicals for Women, Children, and Families, 1804-1878 This link opens in a new window
Includes periodicals focusing on women, children, families within the context of spirituality and religiosity during the 19th century. Various denominations and belief systems are represented in this database. Part of EBSCO's "American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection."
Religious Periodicals from the Southern U.S., 1801-1904 This link opens in a new window
Includes periodicals focusing on spiritual issues and concerns in the South primarily during the 19th century. Various denominations and belief systems are represented. Part of EBSCO's "American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection."