SAGE Dictionary of Sociology by S. Bruce; S. YearleyWith over 1000 entries on key concepts and theorists, The SAGE Dictionary of Sociology provides full coverage of the field, clarifying the technical use of apparently common words, explaining the fundamentals concepts, and introducing new and unfamiliar terms.
Publication Date: 2006
The SAGE Dictionary of Cultural Studies by C. BarkerContaining over 200 entries on key concepts and theorists, the Dictionary provides an unparalleled guide to cultural studies. The definitions are authoritative, stimulating, written in an accessible style and include up-to-date entries on new concepts and innovative approaches.
Publication Date: 2004
A Dictionary of Sociology by J. Scott; G. MarshallWideranging and authoritative, this bestselling sociology dictionary is the most informative of its kind. Compiled by a team of sociological experts, under the editorship of Gordon Marshall and John Scott, it is packed with over 2,500 entries. With terms taken from sociology and the relatedfields of psychology, economics, anthropology, philosophy, and political science, it provides widespread coverage of all aspects of sociology, from adaptation to zero tolerance . It also contains biographies covering key figures, such as Gilles Deleuze and Erich Fromm. Jargon-free entries areelaborated with clear descriptions and in-depth analysis, many using real-life examples, making even the most complicated subjects easy to understand. This new edition has been revised to bring the dictionary completely up-to-date, while retaining the concise, clear quality of previous editions. Now boasting many entry-level web links, accessible via the Dictionary of Sociology companion website, this dictionary offers more relevant and usefulinformation than ever before.An invaluable introduction to sociology for beginners, and a key reference work for more advanced students, teachers, and professionals working with sociology and related fields.
Publication Date: 2009
The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology by A. JohnsonWritten by a sociologist who is also an accomplished writer and teacher, this is a dictionary of sociology aimed primarily at students. Allan Johnson provides an invaluable reference tool, providing a lively and engaging introduction to thinking in a sociological way.