The A-Z of Social Research by J. D. Brewer; R. L. Miller`A detailed and valuable addition to the literature that will be a very useful resource for lecturers, as well as having a wide appeal among students′ - Tim May, University of Salford Have you ever wondered what a concise, comprehensive book providing critical guidance to the whole expanse of social science research methods and issues might look like? The A-Z is a collection of 94 entries ranging from qualitative research techniques to statistical testing and the practicalities of using the Internet as a research tool. Alphabetically arranged in accessible, reader-friendly formats, the shortest entries are 800 words long and the longest are 3000. Most entries are approximately 1500 words in length and are supported by suggestions for further reading. The book: - Answers the demand for a practical, fast and concise introduction to the key concepts and methods in social research - Supplies students with impeccable information that can be used in essays, exams and research projects - Demystifies a field that students often find daunting This is a refreshing book on social research methods, which understands the pressures that modern students face in their work-load and seeks to supply an authoritative study guide to the field. It should fulfil a long-standing need in undergraduate research methods courses for an unpatronising, utterly reliable aid to making sense of research methods.
Publication Date: 2003
The A to Z of Feminist Philosophy by C. V. GardnerHaving only emerged in the past few decades, Feminist Philosophy is rapidly developing its own thrust in areas of particular importance to feminism--and women more generally--while also reevaluating and reshaping most other fields of philosophy, from ethics to logic and Marxism to environmentalism. It draws not only on feminist philosophers but criticizes, approves, or appropriates the work of the leading philosophers of all times. The introduction to this reference work provides a useful overview of the subject area and the chronology runs the gamut from Ancient Greek philosophers to contemporary feminist ones. The cross-referenced dictionary entries cover both the central figures and ideas from the historical tradition of philosophy, as well as ideas and theories from contemporary feminist philosophy, such as epistemology (the philosophy of science) and topics that have been introduced by the feminist movement itself, like abortion and sexuality. In addition to including entries on Aristotle, Plato, Descartes, Kant, Wollstonecraft, Beauvoir, and Daly, relevant aspects of other fields of philosophy, the major concepts, and prevailing interpretations and conjectures are also covered. A comprehensive bibliography allows for further reading.
Publication Date: 2009
Feminist Philosophies A-Z by N. A. McHughA concise alphabetical guide to the key terms, issues, theoretical approaches, projects and thinkers in feminist philosophy.Feminist Philosophies A-Zcovers contemporary material in a number of feminist approaches. It illustrates the complexity, range and interconnectedness of issues in feminist philosophy while making clear the relationship of feminist philosophy to the rest of philosophy as a discipline (epistemology, metaphysics, ethics, social philosophy and metaphysics). Entries are pithy, detailed, informative and are cross-referenced to guide the reader through the lively debates in feminism.This volume is an indispensable resource for philosophers, students, and Women's Studies faculties as well as anyone with an interest in feminist philosophy.
Publication Date: 2007
Key Concepts in Anti-Discriminatory Social Work by C. Aymer; T. Okitikpi"This is a key text that provides a well-rounded introduction to anti-discriminatory social work, placing this underpinning concept within the context of theory, methods, policy, legislation and skills. It will be of immense value to students, practitioners and service users. An excellent book!" John MacDonough, London South Bank University "Addressing both the ideas underpinning anti-discriminatory practice and more practice oriented approaches, this is an accessible book which will be of benefit to social work students and practitioners." Amanda Thorpe, University of Bedfordshire This Key Concepts clearly and concisely explains the basic ideas in the field of anti-discriminatory social work. It: - Explores the range of discriminations that people experience and discusses a number of theories that inform Anti-discriminatory practice - Considers the legal frameworks within which anti-discriminatory practice operates - Analyses the skills and knowledge required to practice effectively - Highlights the dynamic nature of anti-discriminatory practice and points the way towards a new practice dimension - Provides an essential reference guide for all social work students and practitioners, as well as those taking courses in teacher training, youth and community, nursing, mid-wifery and mental health studies for whom anti-discriminatory practice is an important element in their study.
Publication Date: 2009
Key Concepts in Work by P. Blyton; J. Jenkins"This excellent book will encourage students to think about the diverse range and broad character of issues encountered at work. It highlights both enduring dilemmas and emerging issues in contemporary employment. Each concept is carefully explained with engaging examples provided throughout. As such it will help prime students to understand key issues at work and make a first-rate addition to any social science reading list."- Nicolas Bacon, Nottingham University Business School "This authoritative, comprehensive, up-to-date, and user-friendly reference book will be appreciated greatly by all social science staff and students of work." - Stephen Edgell, University of Salford and author of The Sociology of Work The SAGE Key Concepts series provides students with accessible and authoritative knowledge of the essential topics in a variety of disciplines. Cross-referenced throughout, the format encourages critical evaluation through understanding. Written by experienced and respected academics, the books are indispensible study aids and guides to comprehension. Key Concepts in Work: Clearly and concisely explains the central ideas, debates and theories of work. Offers a broad overview of the social, political and economic contexts of work illustrated from diverse industrial societies. Begins each entry with a snapshot definition followed by key words and guidance for further reading. Inspires students to engage in further exploration of ideas and debates. Provides an essential reference guide for all students in sociology, business studies, management learning about work, employment, organizations and labour markets.