HEENT Key Texts
Head and Neck Pathology by
An essential foundation text for residents and pathologists, the third edition of Head and Neck Pathology, a volume in the Foundations in Diagnostic Pathology series, has been fully revised to include recent advances in the field. Featuring a highly templated, easy-to-use format and new information throughout, this practical, affordable resource by Drs. Lester D. R. Thompson and Justin A. Bishop is ideal for study and review as well as everyday clinical practice. Inclusion of a wide range of diagnoses in both head and neck and endocrine organ pathology. A focus on the specific features of selected non-neoplastic and neoplastic entities, including broad and in-depth differential diagnoses. Clinical and Pathologic Features summarized in quick-reference boxes for fast access to information. A highly templated format that includes pertinent clinical, imaging, and management/prognostic features; pathologic features; ancillary studies; differential diagnosis; and meaningfully chosen bibliography. Over a thousand full-color photographs illustrate important pathologic features, enabling you to form a differential diagnosis and compare your findings with actual cases. Contributions from internationally recognized expert pathologists, keeping you up to date with the latest information in the field. New criteria as established by the 2017 World Health Organization Classification of Head and Neck Tumours and the 2017 World Health Organization Classification of Endocrine Organ Tumours. A new oropharynx section, separated from the oral cavity. Inclusion of unique newly identified molecular information in many tumor entities. Coverage of NUT carcinoma, HPV-associated adenoid cystic-like carcinoma, sinonasal renal cell-like adenocarcinoma, SMARCB1 (INI-1) deficient sinonasal carcinoma, biphenotypic sinonasal sarcoma, neuroendocrine carcinomas, oropharyngeal carcinoma, polycystic disease and sclerosing polycystic adenosis, secretory carcinoma, cribriform adenocarcinoma of the minor salivary glands, variants of myoepithelioma, clear cell carcinoma, and changes in gnathic cysts classification. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323479165Publication Date: 2018-02-01
Ocular and Visual Physiology by
This book meets the growing demand among ophthalmologists, optometrists and orthoptists, in training and in practice, as well as visual neuroscientists, to have a clear, succinct and well-written textbook to objectively cover the subject of ocular and visual physiology. Ocular and visual physiology is a core knowledge component for these disciplines, and yet is often difficult to understand. However, this book clearly conveys the simple elegance of the relationship between structure and function that is the hallmark of understanding the physiology of the eye and visual system. Ocular and Visual Physiology - Clinical Application is essential reading for any one hoping to have a clear understanding of the subject. Students will find it a great resource to pass their exams. Each of the chapters has been independently reviewed and edited by an expert in the field with a clinical or visual scientific academic background. The text is based on the latest publications in peer-reviewed journals that are closely referenced within the body of the text.
ISBN: 9789812878458Publication Date: 2015-11-20
Pathology of the Head and Neck by
This book provides a comprehensive description of the pathology of the head and neck region, concentrating especially on those pathologic entities that are unique to or characteristic of the head and neck. The new edition retains the ten chapters of the first edition, all updated and improved, and additionally contains seven entirely new chapters and a more detailed subject index. The number of illustrations has been substantially increased, and various lesions absent in the original edition have been included. Throughout, attention is paid to correlation of pathology with epidemiology, clinical features, pathogenesis, and molecular genetics. Differential diagnosis is addressed, and information is also provided on staging, prognosis, and therapy. The authors include foremost experts in the field, some of whom are senior members of the Working Group on Head and Neck Pathology of the European Society of Pathology.
ISBN: 9783662496701Publication Date: 2017-02-21
Evidence-Based Clinical Practice in Otolaryngology by
Get a quick, expert overview of the many key facets of today's otolaryngology practice with this concise, practical resource. Dr. Luke Rudmik and a leading team of experts in the field address high-interest clinical topics in this fast-changing field. Presents an evidence-based, clinical approach to leading topics in otolaryngology. Covers key topics such as management of vertigo; management of adult sensorineural hearing loss; reflux in sinusitis; balloon catheter dilation in rhinology; epistaxis; functional rhinoplasty; sublingual immunotherapy for allergic rhinitis; pediatric obstructive sleep apnea; pediatric tonsillectomy; evaluation and management of unilateral vocal fold paralysis; management of hoarseness; endoscopic skull base resection for malignancy; management of glottic cancer; management of well-differentiated thyroid cancer; and management of the clinical node-negative neck in early stage oral cavity squamous cell carcinoma. Consolidates today's available information and experience in this challenging area into one convenient resource.
ISBN: 9780323544603Publication Date: 2018-01-23
Functional Histoanatomy of the Human Larynx by
This book presents the anatomical and histological structure of the human larynx by demonstrating gross, histological, and electron microscopic photographs for all professionals interested in the human larynx. In the first part, sagittal, horizontal and coronal whole-organ serial sections of adult and newborn larynges are shown in color photographs. The whole-organ serial histological sections of the human larynx are very unique in the world. In the second part, the functional morphology of the human larynx is also shown in superb and breathtaking photographs. The specimens in this textbook have been assembled into a concise synopsis of laryngology commonly encountered in clinical practice. Functional Histoanatomy of the Human Larynx is intended to facilitate an in-depth understanding not only the structure of each component but also the special relationships between them, as well as the microstructure and functional morphology of the human larynx and of the vocal fold as a vibrating tissue. Lavishly illustrated and documented, this book offers a wealth of information on the functional morphology of the larynx.
ISBN: 9789811055850Publication Date: 2018-02-02
Guide to Diagnostic Tests, Seventh Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The essential guide to more than 450 of the most commonly performed diagnostic tests - updated with the latest molecular, genetic, and microbiological tests A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Guide to Diagnostic Tests, Seventh Edition is a concise guide to the selection and interpretation of more than 450 of the laboratory and microbiology tests most relevant to the general practice of medicine. This on-the-spot clinical companion also includes coverage of diagnostic imaging, electrocardiology, echocardiography, and the use of tests in differential diagnosis. Features: * Covers areas of internal medicine, pediatrics, surgery, neurology, and obstetrics and gynecology * Over 25 new or substantially revised laboratory tests * New and updated coverage of emerging and re-emerging pathogens and infectious agents,including the Zika and Ebola viruses * Updated material on molecular and genetic tests, including pharmacogenetics tests * An entire section of diagnostic algorithms * Full literature citations with PubMed identification (PMID) numbers included for each reference * Details costs and risks of various procedures and tests * Full section on electrocardiography and echocardiography If you've been looking for an authoritative, up-to-date, and easy-to-carry guide to the latest diagnostic testing procedures, your search ends here.
ISBN: 9781259640896Publication Date: 2017-03-14
Laposata's Laboratory Medicine Diagnosis of Disease in Clinical Laboratory Third Edition by
A complete full-color guide to medical test selection and test result interpretation Laboratory Medicine is an essential text for medical students and residents studying clinical pathology, medical technology students, and for practitioners working in a clinical setting. By selecting the appropriate tests and interpreting the results correctly, physicians using this book should be able to optimize patient outcomes and reduce the cost of achieving a diagnosis. This full-color guide features an easy-to-follow, consistent presentation for each disease discussed. Chapters begin with a brief description of the disorder followed by a discussion that includes tables detailing the laboratory evaluation of specific disorders, and coverage of diagnosis, baseline tests to exclude diagnostic possibilities, and clinical indications that warrant further screening and special testing. *Updated to reflect the most current information *Board review questions appear at the end of each chapter *Approximately 50 laboratory methods presented in easy-to-understand illustrations which include information on the expense and complexity of the assays *More than 200 tables and full-color algorithms encapsulate important information and facilitate understanding *Full-color blood-smear micrographs demonstrate common abnormal morphologies of red blood cells *Valuable learning aids in each chapter, including learning objectives, chapter outlines, and a general introduction *Extensive table of Clinical Laboratory Reference Values showing the conversions between US and SI units for each value *Coverage of genetic test options that are now commonly used in clinical practice
ISBN: 9781260116793Publication Date: 2018-12-25
HEENT Exam
Consult Bate's Visual Guide to Physical Examination for guidance on examining:
Head, Eyes, and Ears
Nose, Mouth, and Neck
Explore the Literature
Here are a few sample searches in Primo for this unit. Results are limited to ebooks published within the last 5 years.